We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Washington Dulles Airport Marriott to your Saves list
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Comfortable Day Rooms
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Dulles
Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

Building may appear dated, but staff and interior are wonderful. Friendly front desk clerk. Room was freshly redone and clean. Large bathroom compared with some of the Marriotts in downtown DC. Great views of the planes out your window as the hotel is on the airport property. Restaurants & Air and Space museum are minutes away. We definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    145
    89
    38
    20
See reviews for
62
72
32
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

I stayed at this hotel while visting some wineries in Northern Virginia. I had a beautiful spacious room with large flat screen television. The bed was cozy, the staff friendly and noise minimal. I had worried being at the Airport there might be plane noise but it was not the case (at least not in my room). The hotel offered a shuttle to many local malls and shopping centers. The hotel had a bar, restaurant and Starbucks with gift shop. The front desk staff was great at both check in and check out. The layout of the hotel was kinda odd but nothing too crazy.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lawn, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

We stayed one weekend night here after spending the afternoon at the Udvar-Hazy Center of the National Air and Space museum. They were offering a great weekend rate which included breakfast and we were able to get the room for $86 including tax. The room had two double beds, HD TV, and WIfi. They have an indoor and outdoor pool which were both clean and patrolled by a staff member. There is also a fitness room which we didnt use. We didnt eat at the hotel for dinner but we did for breakfast which was a buffet, although you could also order off a menu.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2009

We stayed at the Marriott recently, and it was perfect for winding down after a long day of traveling. The people were great -- someone at the front desk even called to ask how our room service was and whether we needed a wake up call. There is a nice fitness center, pool, and restaurant area. The rooms leave a little to be desired, especially the bathrooms where the ceiling was very low. I was also a little disappointed that they charged for internet access. The location is perfect and free shuttle service is offered.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

We got the park and fly package the night before we left on a overseas trip. About $130 included Saturday night and parking for almost three weeks. When we returned we used Marriott points since the cheapest rate they had during the week was $240. The van to and from Dulles was prompt and the driver helpful. Everything at the hotel was, well, vintage Marriott: Comfortable clean room, cheerful helpful staff, no hassles and no surprises.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

We stayed there for 3 nights with a AAA rate of $62 a night & felt this was a great price. You have to stay a minimum of 3 nights to get this rate. The hotel rooms have been recently renovated so there was a flat screen large HDTV. The bedding was new however the sheets were too small for the bed & would not stay on. Every morning we woke up the sheets had come off the bed & we found this very annoying. We kept leaving notes for the maid to fix this but they never did. They just kept putting the same small sheets on the bed.

This is a very large hotel & very spread out. It is also catering to the business traveler or to conventions not tourists.

The food in the hotel is very expensive- $17 per person excluding tax, tips & drinks for breakfast. We went to a nearby diner about 10- 15 minutes away by car & spent $20 for the both of us. The hotel is very close to the airport so if that is your destination it's in a good location.

Wi-fi is a steep $13 a night for in room service- that is way too expensive- it should be free as most other hotels are these days. Only the full service Marriott's seem to charge this ridiculous price. We were told you even had to pay for it in the lobby but we did not check this out. They do have a business center with 2 free computers but these were very busy.

The pool & jacuzzi were nice except the jacuzzi water temperature was only 92- it should be over 100. I imagine they keep it low due to the kids using it. There was a lot of kids over the weekend making a lot of noise in the halls. I don't think the room doors are well insulated from hallway noise.

The concierge lounge was recently redone but we noticed the food is not quite what it used to be- cheaper food nowadays. They did not have any restaurant menus for nearby restaurants & they should. They also did not even have a menu for their own restaurant!

There is nothing within walking distance to this hotel. They do have a free courtesy bus to go to airports, local restaurants, & the nearby space museum which was the reason for our visit. We think the nearby Marriott Suites is a better choice as there are nearby restaurants. We did not want to keep waiting for the shuttle which runs on a schedule, not on demand. We found ourselves having to drive to nearby restaurants that were about 15 minutes away- not as close as they indicate on their website.

We had a refrigerator in our room & enjoyed having it. We did not have to pay extra for this.

The nearby Air & space museum was excellent- plan to spend about 5 hours to really see the place. We had an excellent docent tour that was supposed to be 1.5 hours but the guide was fantastic- answered everyone's questions & the tour lasted 3 hours so plan accordingly. The free shuttle bus eliminated the need to park our car there as the parking fee is now a steep $15. Get a hotel nearby & they will probably have a free shuttle to it. Manassas National park is less than 30 minutes away & we highly recommend seeing this but you need a car to get there.

To get into DC you can take a bus that leaves in front of the hotel- make sure to get the schedule OR drive 25 minutes to the Vienna metro & take the metro into DC.

Lastly the nearby Marriott Suites does have a free shuttle & this would have taken us to the museum. I called them & they gave incorrectly told me they did not have a shuttle to go to the museum so that is why we stayed at this Marriott. Some of the hotel employees also told us the Marriott suites were better.

All in all I would definitely go back but would stay at the Marriott Suites this time.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

This is the best Marriott that I have stayed in becsause of it 's very accommodating staff. They went out of their way to be helpful and to help us in every way possible. The hotel is typical Marriott- clean and efficient and very close to the airport. for qa chain hotel it is very well run. we would stay here again

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Dulles Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Address: 45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Dulles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Dulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located among Dulles Airport hotels in Northern Virginia, the Washington Dulles Airport Marriott provides easy access to the Dulles Technology Corridor and offers complimentary shuttle service to all Dulles International Airport terminals. With 368 well-appointed rooms and picturesque grounds, this Dulles hotel is perfect for business, weekend getaways and leisure travel. Guests will enjoy a wide variety of first-class hotel services and lodging amenities, including a fitness center, indoor/outdoor pool and Aviate Bar and Grill, our on-site Dulles restaurant. Local area attractions include the National Air and Space Museum, Wolf Trap Center for Performing Arts, Reston Town Center Mall and Civil War battlefields. The 13,500 square feet of deluxe meeting and event space featured at this Dulles, VA hotel is perfect for weddings, social events and meetings. Depart from the ordinary and discover a Dulles Airport hotel destination providing unprecedented service for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your Washington Dulles Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott Hotel Dulles
Dulles Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.