We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As always since I visited this hotel first in the mid-1970's, this is an excellent airport hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Dulles Airport Marriott to your Saves list
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Dulles
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“As always since I visited this hotel first in the mid-1970's, this is an excellent airport hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel has all the qualities of a great airport hotel: quiet, van ride 5-10 minutes, extremely efficient and courteous hotel staff, caters to guests who are stressed and "in a rush" either to check-in or get a quick bite to eat or drink or have lunch or dinner and stay connected (lots of outlets) in a wide-open multipurpose environment adjacent to the front desk. In my experience no airport motel does a better job catering to guests running late and in a rush either to get to the hotel or to Washington DC (Washington Flyer (cab) or Uber. The hotel is business friendly, family friendly and kid friendly. Although designed in the 1960's I don't regard it as an "old" hotel given the upgrades to the hotel over the years. What I like is that its exterior and layout have changed very little in that its low (3 stories) and spread out which gives guests a choice of having a room that is in the midst of things or removed. I like looking east over the pond. In all cases I've noticed that every room is quiet with all the amenities including free WiFi. Also room rates are very reasonable.

Room Tip: 2nd Floor looking east pond view
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel is focused on environmentally-friendly practices
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Ross J,

We love hearing that you have been staying at our hotel since the mid 1970's and that through the years the hotel continues to have all the qualities of a great airport hotel, "quiet, airport van ride 5-10 minutes, extremely efficient and courteous hotel staff, caters to guests who are stressed and "in a rush" either to check-in or get a quick bite to eat or drink or have lunch or dinner and stay connected (lots of outlets) in a wide-open multipurpose environment adjacent to the front desk." Thank you for sharing that you feel no airport hotel does a better job catering to guests running late and in a rush, and that the hotel is business friendly, family friendly and kid friendly. We are glad you have appreciated the upgrades to the hotel over the years, and that our design gives guests a choice of having a room that is in the midst of things or removed. We are happy you have always been pleased with your quiet room and all the amenities, at a reasonable price. We really appreciate that you took the time to review our airport hotel and we will look forward to continuing to welcome you each time you visit the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    181
    109
    42
    25
See reviews for
76
90
38
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

If you don't mind staying far out of DC, this place has great grounds and main areas. Rooms are dated but very clean. Had a really great workout facility and conference facilities. Also, was very close and convenient to the airport. Transportation to travel to downtown DC was not very convenient. Best way to do it was take the hotel shuttle back to the airport, then catch the Metro bus to a metro station, to take the metro into downtown. It was a good 45 minute trip, one way. Also, there are no restaurants or anything close to this hotel and the hotel restaurant/bar was very expensive.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear CH606,

We are happy to know that you were pleased with your choice of hotels while staying in the Washington DC area and that you liked our great grounds and main areas. We are glad you were pleased with your room accommodations and that you really liked our fitness room and conference facilities. Thank you for sharing that we are very close and convenient to the airport for not only your flights, but also to be able to take the Metro system into the city area. We look forward to welcoming you back again when you travel to the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbrae, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Clean, easy and remarkably quiet, with a view overlooking flowing green grass and a pond in the background. Not what you expect from an airport hotel! Check out ready in am with no hassles or delays. Shuttle to airport timely and efficient. Breakfast buffet better than most. Great airport hotel.

Room Tip: Backside and it helps to be a Gold member. ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Yngvar H,

We are happy to know that our clean, easy and remarkably quiet airport hotel, surprised you and was not what you expected from an airport hotel! Thank you for sharing that you were very pleased with everything at our hotel and that in the morning, after a delicious breakfast from our buffet, your checkout was hassle free and that our shuttle to the airport was timely and efficient. We are glad you were very happy with your choice of hotels and hope to welcome you back again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The exterior of the hotel has a very old school look and feel, but the interior has been upgraded very nicely. The hotel is at the airport but the rooms are very quite. The location is convenient to the quaint area towns to the north. The staff is helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Lee972,

We are very happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay at our newly upgraded hotel. Thank you for sharing that we are close to the airport, but that the rooms were very quite. Our location is not only convenient to get back and forth to the airport, but also a good starting point to visit the area around us. We hope our helpful and friendly staff, can welcome you back again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Shuttle picks you up at baggage claim and only takes 5 minutes to get to hotel site. The shuttle driver was friendly and welcoming , offered cold bottled water and assisted with my bag. Check in was quick/friendly. The hotel is remolding- a bit noisy in the afternoon, but after 5 peaceful. When I called front desk to question construction noise, I was offered a room change but assured that the noise would be gone and no construction on Saturday. Impressed that the pool had towels available and a lifeguard on duty.He offered suggestions for things to do and places to eat near by. The room was clean and bed was very comfortable. Complimentary bottled water was an added touch in the room as well. I had to ask for additional towels. There was only one washcloth and two towels when I arrived. Additional towels were delivered as soon as I requested them. Had a late lunch in hotel restaurant, food was very good, wait staff was awesome but bill was a bit pricey. Only real issue was the hotel website said shuttle was available to shops & dinning- it failed to mention this is only on certain days /times. We took taxi to PF Changs and it was $25 one way and only 3.5 miles down the road . I was there for an all day meeting on property site . The hotel provided both breakfast and lunch as well as snacks. I must say- I travel a lot for work and the hotel catered food for our meeting was excellent, fresh and well prepared. The staff was very attentive to restocking the beverages, keeping fresh ice in the meeting room and cleaning up the used glasses and dishes during breaks. During my stay, there were two groups of girls softball and soccer in for a tournament. The noise by the pool and in halls at night was kept to a minimum by the hotel security. I appreciated that due to early morning flight schedule. Over all I enjoyed my stay, great location at the airport, good food, comfy bed but be prepared if you want to go shopping or out to eat off property site to pay $$ for taxi. Oh - one more thing, the property also has Pepsi and I'm a Coke drinker-- lol consider yourself informed :-}

Room Tip: Request room away from construction and renovation. During the day it was bit noisy, but after 5 it...
See more room tips
Green Features: Had to ask for additional towels. Only had one washrag and two towels. Staff brought them as soon as I requested them. I'm all for being eco friendly, but have enough towels for number of people in the room.
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Leisa A,

Thank you for sharing your review after your stay with us. We are happy to know that our convenient location and shuttle service to and from the airport made your traveling easier. We are happy you were warmly greeted by our staff and that the friendly, helpful, attentive service continued throughout your stay including at our pool and restaurant. It makes us happy to know your room accommodations were comfortable and quiet and that your on-site meetings went well and that you were pleased with the meals and meeting accommodations.

As we continue to make improvements to the hotel, we are glad to know that our construction noises did not effect you in any way. We try to start and finish our daily work in the 9-5 time frame, when most guests are away from the hotel and avoid interrupting sleep time!

We are pleased to know you had an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back when you return to the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from a very nice stay at the Washington Dulles Airport Marriott. We stayed near the airport for the price even though we were not flying in or out of Dulles. The hotel is very popular with pilots and flight crew between flights, they were everywhere! Not bad, even gave an air of excitement in the lobby. The only negatives that I can say about the hotel is the rooms are a LONG walk from the lobby. If you have mobility issues then maybe this hotel is not the right one for you. The beds and linens were wonderful, very comfortable. The room was a nice size and the bathroom was very clean with nice amenities. There was a nice indoor and also an outdoor pool, a restaurant (did not use) and a sports court. My very favorite thing about staying at the airport was that you get to bypass most of the Reston area traffic since the airport has its own dedicated road which was VERY nice. I would recommend and also return to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the lobby to save a long walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear tmtip,

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and will look forward to returning next time you visit the area! Thank you for sharing that you were very pleased with your comfortable room accommodations and that the beds and linens were wonderful. We are glad you found the room was a nice size and the bathroom was very clean with nice amenities, and that you liked our indoor and also outdoor pool! It is good to know you found our location and access road helped to avoid traffic areas, and we appreciate that you shared your room tip, closer to the lobby if a guest might have issues getting around. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived after dark. The hotel is a large property with 3 buildings. There were limited lights and no easy to see signs of where the buildings were. Front desk was zero help so drive around parking lot ( which was filled with construction equipment to add to the fun) we finally guessed which building our room was. Room was well worn and tired. Next morning went to front desk to check out & get directions to Mt Vernon. Again front desk was rude & provided zero help. Too busy getting all the rooms set up for flight crew coming in for the day. Pointed to a box to drop room key in and ignored my request for directions. Only plus was the restaurant staff. Very friendly and nice. One guy even got us bottled water as the pitcher of water was empty.

Stayed July 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Go4Adventure,

We value the opinions and feedback of each and every guest who come to our hotel, and we are sorry if you were not pleased with your recent stay with us. We strive each day to extend the Marriott hospitality we are known for, and apologize if you did not receive friendly, helpful service while here with us. We have taken note of your comments to use as a training tool so we can enhance our customer service for future guests.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel and we do hope you will give us another try next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dulles
1.1 mi away
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Dulles at Dulles International Airport
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport
5.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Dulles Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Dulles Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Address: 45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Dulles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Dulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located among Dulles Airport hotels in Northern Virginia, the Washington Dulles Airport Marriott provides easy access to the Dulles Technology Corridor and offers complimentary shuttle service to all Dulles International Airport terminals. With 368 well-appointed rooms and picturesque grounds, this Dulles hotel is perfect for business, weekend getaways and leisure travel. Guests will enjoy a wide variety of first-class hotel services and lodging amenities, including a fitness center, indoor/outdoor pool and Aviate Bar and Grill, our on-site Dulles restaurant. Local area attractions include the National Air and Space Museum, Wolf Trap Center for Performing Arts, Reston Town Center Mall and Civil War battlefields. The 13,500 square feet of deluxe meeting and event space featured at this Dulles, VA hotel is perfect for weddings, social events and meetings. Depart from the ordinary and discover a Dulles Airport hotel destination providing unprecedented service for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Washington Dulles Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott Hotel Dulles
Dulles Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.