We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful lobby, disastrous guestroom” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Dulles Airport Marriott to your Saves list
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Dulles
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 helpful vote
“Beautiful lobby, disastrous guestroom”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I had high hopes for this hotel, being a Marriott and having wonderful photos online. Unfortunately, it fell short. The lobby and restaurant were beautiful. The room, however, was extremely old, dated and worn. I don't think it was actually dirty, it was just so old and gross that I felt dirty! The location is the best though, right in the parking lot of the airport. So, if you can look past the scary rooms, the stay won't be so bad!

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Britt H,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy to know our close proximity to the airport worked well for you and that you were very pleased with our lobby area and restaurant on-site. We do apologize that you were not pleased with your room accommodations or the condition of the room. We take these comments to heart and will review with our management and housekeeping team to see how we can better improve our next guest's stay with us. We hope one day, we can welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    172
    107
    42
    24
See reviews for
73
88
36
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
302 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Plane from PHL was delayed 3 hours due to weather. Called 3 hotels near IAD but only one with rooms was the IAD Marriott which was fine as it is closest to terminal and provides frequent shuttle service. Got in at 12:30AM and was in hotel by 1AM. Reception was quick and upgraded us to full suitewhich was wonderful---unfortunately we couldn't really appreciate it as it was so late and we had to leave at 6AM. The bed was terrific and only minimal noise for about 1/2 hour----they had a very large convention there of young people (20-30 year olds who were loud, and a little rambunctiousbut it quieted down around 1:30). Shuttle service was right on time and attendant was very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear jaybeeFL,

We are thrilled to know we were able to accommodate you so quickly when you had an unexpected delay at the airport. Thank you for sharing that our staff took great care of you, even providing you with an upgrade to a suite room! We are glad that our shuttle service was able to get you back to the airport in a timely manner and on your way! We appreciate that you took the time to write a review and hope that we can welcome you back for a longer stay next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed only one night, checking in after dinner and leaving at 4:15 am.

The room was immaculate. The bed was beyond comfortable and the bus was waiting for me after my request at the front desk when I checked in.

Would definitely recommend and will stay again.

Stayed June 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear CBMike,

We are so happy to hear your quick stay was a wonderful one! Thank you for sharing that our comfortable beds provided you with a great night's sleep and that your room was immaculate. We are also glad to know your scheduled transportation was waiting for you in the early morning to get you quickly on your way! We hope when you come back to the area, we can welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The highest praise I can give for this hotel is their thoughtfulness on soundproofing. There is no airport noise, very little hallway noise, and only minimal bathroom noise within the room. That being said, the rooms and bathrooms are a little small. I've stayed in smaller, but it would be nice if these rooms were slightly larger if more than one person is staying.

The lobby is upscale and modern. It feels almost like a Vegas hotel with all the buzz as you walk in. The rooms don't have the same modern feel, but they are clean and do not show significant signs of wear.

One really annoying aspect of the stay was the television channels. On a repeated basis, the tv channels would lose signal and we would have to call the front desk to try to figure it out. They never could tell us why the channels went out and couldn't figure out how to get them to come back on. They would occasionally come back on their own, but not always. Rather irritating when you want to watch the news getting ready in the morning or something light to wind down before going to bed.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear LocalFoodieFan,

We appreciate your highest praise on the soundproofing of our hotel and how quiet your stay was with us! We are glad that despite our very close proximity to the airport, you were not bothered at all by airplane noise! We are glad you liked our hotel overall!

We do apologize for the issues you had with our television cable. We have taken note of this to see if it was an isolated problem or if other guests experienced the same issues. We never like to think a guest walked away disappointed after a stay with us.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we hope we can welcome you back one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

The bathroom ceiling was coming down. The front desk was service was poor. LONG walk to the rooms. Parking was ridiculous circled the huge lot 3 times to find. The pool was the only aspect of the hotel that was above average. I stayed in room 2140

Room Tip: LONG walk to the rooms! Ask for a room close to an exit
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Dear gtboss,

We appreciate that you cared enough, to take time to review your recent stay with us and were disappointed to learn your room and service was not up to the Marriott hospitality and quality our guests have come to expect. Thank you for sharing the room number that you stayed in, as we have taken note for our maintenance crew to go in and make the necessary repairs needed to ensure our next guest does not encounter the same issues.

We value you as a Marriott guest and we do hope at some point, we can welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

Stayed here the night before I caught a flight out of Dulles. When I arrived I immediately got a spider bite which very quickly blew up on my arm. I called down to the front desk to ask what they had in a first aid kit. That was almost comical. The maintenance man finally arrived with a tiny, used tube of bite ointment. I then had to ask for a new room. The first answer was that there were none but then when they realized what happened they magically found a new room for me. By the time I got to my final destination my bite was infected and the hotel out of the country took very good care of me.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Dear Legal22,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your recent overnight stay with us. We apologize for the unusual event that occurred and can assure you this is not a typical review we respond to here at the hotel. We would have hoped first aid could have been administered sooner, but we are glad to know that you were taken care of and moved to another room, and that you are feeling well now. We take pride in making sure our guests are well taken care of and we apologize if this was not the case when you stayed with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

From the moment we arrived at this hotel everything was perfect. We were upgraded to a suite looking over the lake and promptly a bottle of sparkling wine and chocolate strawberries was sent up to our room.

The staff were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them.

Food and room service was excellent.

Transportation good and easily assess for getting into Washington.

A great start to our trip.

Room Tip: All rooms nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Dear Elaine L,

We love to hear from the moment you arrived at our hotel you were greeted with friendly, welcoming service and it was just the start of a perfect Honeymoon stay with us. Thank you for sharing that our staff took great care of you, upgrading you to a suite overlooking the lake and that a surprise bottle of sparkling wine and chocolate strawberries was sent up to our room, for your special celebration. We are glad you enjoyed your meals and room service at the hotel and that our location made it easy to access the Washington DC area.

We appreciate that you chose our hotel for you honeymoon and that we helped make some great memories for you. Congratulations to you both and we hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Washington Dulles Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Address: 45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Dulles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Dulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located among Dulles Airport hotels in Northern Virginia, the Washington Dulles Airport Marriott provides easy access to the Dulles Technology Corridor and offers complimentary shuttle service to all Dulles International Airport terminals. With 368 well-appointed rooms and picturesque grounds, this Dulles hotel is perfect for business, weekend getaways and leisure travel. Guests will enjoy a wide variety of first-class hotel services and lodging amenities, including a fitness center, indoor/outdoor pool and Aviate Bar and Grill, our on-site Dulles restaurant. Local area attractions include the National Air and Space Museum, Wolf Trap Center for Performing Arts, Reston Town Center Mall and Civil War battlefields. The 13,500 square feet of deluxe meeting and event space featured at this Dulles, VA hotel is perfect for weddings, social events and meetings. Depart from the ordinary and discover a Dulles Airport hotel destination providing unprecedented service for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Washington Dulles Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott Hotel Dulles
Dulles Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.