We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Marriott I ever stayed in” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Washington Dulles Airport Marriott to your Saves list
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Comfortable Day Rooms
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Dulles
Houston, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Worst Marriott I ever stayed in”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Whole check in process was absurd. The girl could not have been stupider. She couldn't comprehend what I was talking about when I asked directions to Alamo so I could return my car. Kept saying to take their shuttle. Ended up with a basement room. Had to drag my bag up a flight of stairs after getting off the elevator. Asked for different room and she said she would meet me at new room with keys. Never happened. Had to haul all my luggage back to desk. Oh and did I mention that I am a Platinum member with Marrriott?

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Cornello,

We appreciate the time you took to share your recent experiences at our hotel. While it is never our intention to disappoint a guest in any way, clearly we did not maintain Marriott's high standards of hospitality. We have taken note of your comments on our front desk staff and will review with them to ensure we address these issues stated and ensure a future guest does not experience these same miscommunication issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    144
    88
    38
    20
See reviews for
62
72
31
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
virginia beach
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Checked in late after a long drive. Our room is on the lower level. It is small and dated. I had to remake the bed because the padding and feather bed cover was wrinkled and disheveled under the fitted sheet. Unfortunately, that gave me an up close and personal look at the mattress. The mattress has to be the oldest, cheapest and most overused mattress I've ever seen. If it wasn't so late and I didn't have to contend with a sleeping 10 year old, I'd be out of here. We are Marriott members, but no red carpet for us as had been mentioned by some of the reviewers.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, General Manager at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear smooant,

Every guest who walks through our doors is a very valued customer and we apologize if you had a less than stellar experience at our hotel. This is not exemplary of Marriott's high standards of hospitality and we are very sorry that you did not have the stay you have come to expect from Marriott.

We will indeed be replacing all of our mattresses shortly throughout the hotel so we hope that you will return on your next visit through Dulles to give us an opportunity to show you what an excellent Marriott stay is all about.

We do appreciate that you cared enough to share your review because we do read and appreciate each and every comment from our guests -- both good and bad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent the night here a few weeks ago prior to a trip overseas. Since we got there late & the flight was early the next morning, all that we really did was sleep & catch the shuttle. The location is literally five minutes from the airport & the free shuttle service ran regularly & check in was efficiently handled. The downside that we experienced was that the HAC system was extremely loud & did interfere with sleep.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Robert W,

Thank you for sharing that your quick, overnight stay was easy and convenient. We are happy to hear that our close proximity to the airport, the airport shuttle and the easy, quick check-in all helped to make your stay stress free! We hope we can welcome you back next time you travel to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

En route to a recent conference, I needed a convenient place to stay near Dulles before heading into the heart of DC. The Dulles Airport Marriott was the perfect choice for an overnighter. The hotel has a free airport shuttle that is fast and picks up every 10-15 minutes. The ride to the hotel is short- just a few minutes. Check-in was hassle-free, as was the express check out. The room was clean and modern and had all the amenities you would need for the busy business traveler- coffee/tea service, great bath amenities (with a very nice sandalwood-y scent). Wifi is available for a fee, although a bit spotty where I was on the first floor in the corner room. Overall, a nice place to stay if you are looking to stay near Dulles.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear lotusandthebee,

Thank you for letting us know you felt our hotel was a "the perfect choice for an overnighter!" We are happy to know that from our airport shuttle, your hassle free check-in and check-out and your room accommodations you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are glad we could take a little stress our of your travel and provide a relaxing overnight stay for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family stayed at this hotel while passing through Washington on our way to St. Louis. I booked this hotel based on past experiences with Marriott and I have to say they didn't disappoint. Everything you know and love about Marriott quality is matched here. Staff was friendly and helpful and even respected our privacy after we flew 15 hours and fell asleep before I could complete something they asked me to do.

Would recommend this hotel to anybody that wants to stay near the airport (literally 2 minutes from the main terminal) and have a high quality, clean room with excellent service.

Room Tip: If you are a Marriott Rewards member, the wifi is free, otherwise it was $12.95 per day. Lake facin...
See more room tips
Green Features: Hotel is focused on saving energy and encourages the re-use of towels and linens.
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear sdemiere,

Thank you for letting us know that you found our hotel was a great place to stay when you needed a rest from flying and that we provided the Marriott hospitality and quality you have come to expect. We are happy to hear that our staff was so friendly and welcoming and that your room accommodations were to your liking and offered you a good night sleep. Our close proximity to the airport is always a positive for our guests and we are glad that we could provide a break from the stress of travel to give you a relaxing stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Love the Dulles Airport Marriott - I've stayed at this property numerous times. The building is old but well maintained. The lobby was totally remodeled not all that long ago which has really increased the bar business and the atmosphere. The check in area is all new as well. They also roll out the red carpet for Gold and Platinum members. The Concierge Lounge is only closed Friday and Saturday evenings. It is open every morning seven days a week.

I was in a room with a king bed. The bedding at Full Service Marriott properties are out of this world comfortable. I refer to them as Marriott Comfy King or MCK - I have several friends that know what I mean when I text - Love my MCK!

This property is conveniently located to the airport, Route 28, and Route 267. The nice thing is that when traveling to and from the Marriott you have access to the non toll lanes which parallel the Dulles Toll Road. The big advantage of the airport lanes is they are much less traveled the toll lanes back up significantly more than the toll lanes.

Blue Skies - Travel Well - Thanks For Reading...

If you have found this review helpful - Please mark this review as helpful.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms behind the check in desk - room numbers 14xx, 24xx, 34xx.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear mark e,

Thank you for sharing with other TripAdvisor members why you like to stay out our hotel. As a loyal Marriott guest, we are pleased to hear that you feel we "roll out the red carpet" for you and that you were able to enjoy the Concierge Lounge for some of your meals, especially breakfast daily.
We have been busy renovating the past few months and we are glad our improvements enhanced your stay with us. A good night sleep is always important and we are pleased our "Marriott Comfy King or the MCK" did not disappoint!
We look forward to welcoming you back next time you travel to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel provided airport transfer service every 15 mins which is very comfortable. Unfortunately, there is no such place to eat or do within walking distance. The only food you can eat is within hotel or in the airport which is only 2 small cafe. Room is nice and staff is welcome. Oh ! Wifi is free only in lobby area.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear glenfiddich 1985,

Thank you for sharing with us that you had an enjoyable stay with us recently. We are pleased to hear that you felt our staff was very welcoming, your room accommodations were to your liking and that our airport shuttle service was convenient and helpful to you.
We hope when you travel to the area again, we can welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Dulles Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Address: 45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Dulles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Dulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located among Dulles Airport hotels in Northern Virginia, the Washington Dulles Airport Marriott provides easy access to the Dulles Technology Corridor and offers complimentary shuttle service to all Dulles International Airport terminals. With 368 well-appointed rooms and picturesque grounds, this Dulles hotel is perfect for business, weekend getaways and leisure travel. Guests will enjoy a wide variety of first-class hotel services and lodging amenities, including a fitness center, indoor/outdoor pool and Aviate Bar and Grill, our on-site Dulles restaurant. Local area attractions include the National Air and Space Museum, Wolf Trap Center for Performing Arts, Reston Town Center Mall and Civil War battlefields. The 13,500 square feet of deluxe meeting and event space featured at this Dulles, VA hotel is perfect for weddings, social events and meetings. Depart from the ordinary and discover a Dulles Airport hotel destination providing unprecedented service for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Washington Dulles Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott Hotel Dulles
Dulles Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.