We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Airport Hotel Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Save Saved
You added Washington Dulles Airport Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Comfortable Day Rooms
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Dulles
Kalispell, Montana
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Airport Hotel Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Let's face it, people stay here due to its location and probably not any other reason. I think at least 80% of the folks staying here, maybe more, are flight crews or chronic business travelers. They are there do to the easy in and out access to the airport. There is a shuttle that runs about every 14 minutes for most of the day beginning at 3 or 3:30 AM to get folks to the airport in time for the early flights. The food was average but cost a lot = poor value. The front desk staff were short and curt with their customer service and I didn't look forward to interacting with them at all, coming or going. The view from our room was nice enough for an airport hotel as they do have a nice pond outside one side of the hotel but that doesn't do much for me or others I imagine. One of my pet peeves are when the housekeepers leave the shower curtain hooks undone (see picture). I view this as simply lazy!!! Take the extra 30 seconds to hook up the curtain so I don't have to re-hook the ones that have come undone before I take my shower. I also think this is indicative of the quality of the house keeping taking place in the rooms in general. Marriott should take a hint and implement a policy to properly hook their shower curtains. All in all I would stay here again for the convenience but only if it was a business trip where I was hard pressed for time in the morning to get to the airport. Otherwise, for a full-featured Marriott it's a poor one and I would stay away.

Travelbrainstorm[dot]com

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pond view if you enjoy a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear TravelBrainStorm,

We are glad to know you would declare our hotel the "Best Airport Hotel location" and that you found our extensive airport shuttle hours and frequency back and forth to the airport so convenient and helpful to your travel plans. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced with your shower curtain and housekeeping staff, it is never our intention to disappoint our guests in any way. We do appreciate your feedback regarding your room as it helps us to identify areas in our hotel that we need to focus on and you can rest assured that your feedback is being discussed with all relevant management. We hope to welcome you back one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    141
    85
    36
    18
See reviews for
60
69
30
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

It was a few years back but I thought I had written a review of this airport hotel. After crossing from west to east across the country I booked this hotel while swapping aircraft in Atlanta. This was our last night in the U.S.A and I have to say it was an inspired booking (this was the 1st time I had stayed in a Marriott hotel that then gave us the bug for staying in them.) Close to the airport but easy to get into the city via transfer back to airport then a bus in the heart of the city. Outstanding service, room, breakfast, pool and staff were exceptional. Not much more to say really
10/10 all day long . . . . .

Room Tip: Book in advance as the turn up price costs a lot more
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear ChrisKim22,

It is never too late to hear from our guests, especially when they rate the hotel a "10/10!" We are happy to hear that you had a great overnight stay with us before returning to the Unite Kingdom and that you found the service "outstanding" and our location so convenient. We hope we can welcome you back next time you visit the United States!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed here one night due to flight out of Dulles being cancelled. King room with lake view was a large, clean, and comfortable space. The lake view rooms are a good distance from the lobby but well worth the extra steps. Friendly and helpful staff. The fruit water in the lobby was a thoughtful touch. Shuttle to and from airport was a great help and ran every 15 minutes.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear NCinWV,

We are so happy that you had a great overnight stay with us. Traveling can be stressful and we are glad that our convenient shuttle service and a few "special touches" helped to make your stay more enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

In many ways this hotel is average but I had a beautiful view of grass, trees, and a lake. For me the great view ups the rating to a 4.

Other nice features of this hotel: The shuttle from the airport is great and the hotel is only about 5 minutes from the airport. The shuttle drivers are very helpful. The rooms are a good size and are clean and comfortable. The front desk staff are efficient and helpful.

On the minus side the place is a bit dated and the breakfast is not great. However, the breakfast was free so one cannot complain too much. I am really tired of scrambled eggs - would love some poached eggs. My biggest complaint is that the windows seemed to be hermetically sealed. Please let us open the windows. It would make such a difference It feels so claustrophobic not to be able to open a window. Maybe we can sign a form taking full responsibility if we fall out the window? Nowadays I often choose a hotel based on whether or not I can open the window of my room.

There seem to be no shops or restaurants in the area but I loved my walk around the lake. Overall I am glad that I stayed here and if I ever have to overnight at Dulles I will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear KerryBorn,

It makes us very pleased to hear that you were happy with your stay. We are glad you found the staff friendly and helpful and that the shuttle service was convenient for your travel schedule. We appreciate your comments about the hotel room windows and will take it into review to help ensure that our guests have an enjoyable, comfortable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Excellent airport location. Shuttle runs every 15 minutes. For those using the 5A bus to DC, there is a stop in front of the hotel. The facility is a but dated in places, but well maintained. The concierge lounge for breakfast (for elites) is in the main area, which is unusual (but not a problem).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear sjtol,

It makes us happy to hear that our "excellent airport location" was part of an enjoyable stay with us and that the shuttle service was convenient and helpful to you. We appreciate the fact that you took the time to share your experience with other TripAdvisor members and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We've been staying off and on at the Dulles Marriott for years, but a recent visit brought only disappointment. The hotel no longer has the following: business center, shop/news stand, a dining room. Instead, everything is squeezed into the lobby -- a couple computers, some shelves with snacks, and the bar now expanded to serve food. Speaking of which, the service was terrible. It took 10 minutes to get noticed by a waitress and another 30 to get the food, which was only mediocre. We used to recommend this hotel, but not any more. There are lots of hotels near the airport, including members of the Marriott family, which do a better job. Unless you need to be right at Dulles, give this hotel a pass.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, you might want to request a room in one of the wings nearer the lobby. Oth...
See more room tips
Green Features: Nothing that lots of other hotels of this caliber don't do.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear RuNanS,

We are truly sorry that you did not have a very positive experience at our hotel. We do want to make it clear; however, that our hotel does indeed have a restaurant, business center, and place to buy a newspaper. These are all Marriott brand standard facilities and services. We renovated our lobby a few years ago and changed the layout of where these places are located, so perhaps that was confusing to you. If there was something that you or any guest cannot locate, we hope that you would always feel comfortable in asking the front desk to provide assistance and direction. With regard to your slow service experience, that is not typical of our property and we are escalating this review to the Food and Beverage Manager as we want to ensure this does not happen again. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us as we do value this as an opportunity for us to always strive to enhance our services and facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shippensburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Marriott's never disappoint me. Very nice hotel with a great location to Dulles Airport. Shuttle to and from the airport from the hotel is easy and offers much convenience! Great value at $89 a night with the shuttle.

However, one of my favorite aspects of a Marriott are the beds. So much so my husband bought me a pillow top for our bed at home off the Marriott website. The beds here we're small and the covers didn't reach the sides. And it was the first time I was uncomfortable in a Marriott bed. Fix that, and it's a great place!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Kristy23ship,

It makes us happy to hear that we did not disappoint while you stayed with us recently. We are glad you feel our hotel offers a "great value" and that our shuttle service was convenient and made it easy to travel to and from the airport. We look forward to welcoming you back again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Dulles Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Address: 45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Dulles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Dulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Airport Marriott 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located among Dulles Airport hotels in Northern Virginia, the Washington Dulles Airport Marriott provides easy access to the Dulles Technology Corridor and offers complimentary shuttle service to all Dulles International Airport terminals. With 368 well-appointed rooms and picturesque grounds, this Dulles hotel is perfect for business, weekend getaways and leisure travel. Guests will enjoy a wide variety of first-class hotel services and lodging amenities, including a fitness center, indoor/outdoor pool and Aviate Bar and Grill, our on-site Dulles restaurant. Local area attractions include the National Air and Space Museum, Wolf Trap Center for Performing Arts, Reston Town Center Mall and Civil War battlefields. The 13,500 square feet of deluxe meeting and event space featured at this Dulles, VA hotel is perfect for weddings, social events and meetings. Depart from the ordinary and discover a Dulles Airport hotel destination providing unprecedented service for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Washington Dulles Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott Hotel Dulles
Dulles Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;