We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need windows that can be opened” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Dulles Airport Marriott to your Saves list
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Dulles
Washington State
Level Contributor
80 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Need windows that can be opened”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

In many ways this hotel is average but I had a beautiful view of grass, trees, and a lake. For me the great view ups the rating to a 4.

Other nice features of this hotel: The shuttle from the airport is great and the hotel is only about 5 minutes from the airport. The shuttle drivers are very helpful. The rooms are a good size and are clean and comfortable. The front desk staff are efficient and helpful.

On the minus side the place is a bit dated and the breakfast is not great. However, the breakfast was free so one cannot complain too much. I am really tired of scrambled eggs - would love some poached eggs. My biggest complaint is that the windows seemed to be hermetically sealed. Please let us open the windows. It would make such a difference It feels so claustrophobic not to be able to open a window. Maybe we can sign a form taking full responsibility if we fall out the window? Nowadays I often choose a hotel based on whether or not I can open the window of my room.

There seem to be no shops or restaurants in the area but I loved my walk around the lake. Overall I am glad that I stayed here and if I ever have to overnight at Dulles I will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear KerryBorn,

It makes us very pleased to hear that you were happy with your stay. We are glad you found the staff friendly and helpful and that the shuttle service was convenient for your travel schedule. We appreciate your comments about the hotel room windows and will take it into review to help ensure that our guests have an enjoyable, comfortable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    181
    109
    42
    25
See reviews for
76
90
38
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Excellent airport location. Shuttle runs every 15 minutes. For those using the 5A bus to DC, there is a stop in front of the hotel. The facility is a but dated in places, but well maintained. The concierge lounge for breakfast (for elites) is in the main area, which is unusual (but not a problem).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear sjtol,

It makes us happy to hear that our "excellent airport location" was part of an enjoyable stay with us and that the shuttle service was convenient and helpful to you. We appreciate the fact that you took the time to share your experience with other TripAdvisor members and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
261 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We've been staying off and on at the Dulles Marriott for years, but a recent visit brought only disappointment. The hotel no longer has the following: business center, shop/news stand, a dining room. Instead, everything is squeezed into the lobby -- a couple computers, some shelves with snacks, and the bar now expanded to serve food. Speaking of which, the service was terrible. It took 10 minutes to get noticed by a waitress and another 30 to get the food, which was only mediocre. We used to recommend this hotel, but not any more. There are lots of hotels near the airport, including members of the Marriott family, which do a better job. Unless you need to be right at Dulles, give this hotel a pass.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, you might want to request a room in one of the wings nearer the lobby. Oth...
See more room tips
Green Features: Nothing that lots of other hotels of this caliber don't do.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear RuNanS,

We are truly sorry that you did not have a very positive experience at our hotel. We do want to make it clear; however, that our hotel does indeed have a restaurant, business center, and place to buy a newspaper. These are all Marriott brand standard facilities and services. We renovated our lobby a few years ago and changed the layout of where these places are located, so perhaps that was confusing to you. If there was something that you or any guest cannot locate, we hope that you would always feel comfortable in asking the front desk to provide assistance and direction. With regard to your slow service experience, that is not typical of our property and we are escalating this review to the Food and Beverage Manager as we want to ensure this does not happen again. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us as we do value this as an opportunity for us to always strive to enhance our services and facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shippensburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Marriott's never disappoint me. Very nice hotel with a great location to Dulles Airport. Shuttle to and from the airport from the hotel is easy and offers much convenience! Great value at $89 a night with the shuttle.

However, one of my favorite aspects of a Marriott are the beds. So much so my husband bought me a pillow top for our bed at home off the Marriott website. The beds here we're small and the covers didn't reach the sides. And it was the first time I was uncomfortable in a Marriott bed. Fix that, and it's a great place!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Kristy23ship,

It makes us happy to hear that we did not disappoint while you stayed with us recently. We are glad you feel our hotel offers a "great value" and that our shuttle service was convenient and made it easy to travel to and from the airport. We look forward to welcoming you back again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Marriot Dulles Hotel. Everything was just so perfect...convenient, clean, kind staff, delicious food and a fantastic bed! What more could one ask for, especially after a long trip? Well done, Marriott staff!

Room Tip: Rooms near the lake have a wonderful, peaceful view.
See more room tips
Green Features: The new shower heads produced controlled water flow with just the right amount pressure.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear ARG1440,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and commenting that you felt it was an "outstanding value." We are so happy you found everything "perfect" and that you felt our location convenient and our staff kind. We look forward to welcoming you back again one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed here for a very quick business trip (2-nights). Everything pretty much ho-hum. Was hoping for a few more amenities. This is very close to the airport but it was built to mute plane noise, so I only heard the larger jet noise. However, walls are thin to hallway and lots of noise. Bed was comfortable. NO BREAKFAST INCLUDED. All food was very expensive. Originally, web site for hotel did not list an airport shuttle. They do run one and the folks on the bus are nice. Watch out: another Marriott has a shuttle too. Don't get on the wrong shuttle.

Room Tip: Get up in a higher room away from pool hallway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Dave K,

Thank you for sharing your review of your two night stay at our hotel. Glad to know you were able to take advantage of our shuttle service and that you found your driver so friendly. We hope to welcome you back again some day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

After doing business in 4 states in 4 days; all we wanted was a clean (No) and quiet (No) room, a hot shower (Yes but in a dirty shower) and if it was a good day; maybe a nice experience at this Dulles Airport Marriott (Definitely not). The room was not clean (see photos) and was old with low ceilings and a tiny tiny bathroom. Quiet it was not, even after my advance request for a non-connecting room and after Rolando at the front desk assured me this was not a connecting room - it had not one but two connecting rooms! The kicker came when I called downstairs to say there were connecting rooms on both sides and a woman named Teresa was about as rude as anyone at a Marriott has ever been. She even called me back to let me know that was not what her computer showed! I invited her to come see the doors connecting to rooms on either side and when she would not - I took the pictures here. Just too many other hotels that want our frequent traveler business and this hotel will not be a repeat for us. We are Gold Elite and sad to say that meant nothing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear BuddyDoogie,

Clearly, we did not live up to your expectations regarding Marriott's high standards of hospitality at our hotel and for that we do apologize. In regards to your room accommodations, we do try to ensure that the room is clean and that any possible service requests are responded to immediately. We fell down in this regard during your stay and we will be discussing this review with our housekeeping department and front desk staff to ensure that this does not happen again. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the issues that you experienced and we are going to work hard to ensure that the ones within our control do not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dulles
1.1 mi away
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Dulles at Dulles International Airport
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport
5.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Dulles Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Dulles Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Address: 45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Dulles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Dulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located among Dulles Airport hotels in Northern Virginia, the Washington Dulles Airport Marriott provides easy access to the Dulles Technology Corridor and offers complimentary shuttle service to all Dulles International Airport terminals. With 368 well-appointed rooms and picturesque grounds, this Dulles hotel is perfect for business, weekend getaways and leisure travel. Guests will enjoy a wide variety of first-class hotel services and lodging amenities, including a fitness center, indoor/outdoor pool and Aviate Bar and Grill, our on-site Dulles restaurant. Local area attractions include the National Air and Space Museum, Wolf Trap Center for Performing Arts, Reston Town Center Mall and Civil War battlefields. The 13,500 square feet of deluxe meeting and event space featured at this Dulles, VA hotel is perfect for weddings, social events and meetings. Depart from the ordinary and discover a Dulles Airport hotel destination providing unprecedented service for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Washington Dulles Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott Hotel Dulles
Dulles Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.