We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Save Saved
You added Washington Dulles Airport Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Comfortable Day Rooms
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Dulles
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night at the end of a two week business trip on the 29th of January. Check in was fast and easy. As a gold member they upgraded me to suite always a good start. As with most full marriotts they rooms are dark and the furniture a little old fashioned and tired looking but comfortable. Nice living / dining and bedroom but toilet is small. The bar area and lounge are modern in comparison to the rooms and looked to have been upgraded fairly recently. The staff in this area were friendly and very efficient. The food was very average and expensive. The room service pizza was good but 23 dollars, I should have ordered Domminos. Concierge lounge was good. Within walking distance of the airport.
Overall an average hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director Of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Andrew R,

As a clear road warrior who logs a lot of miles, we appreciate the time you took to post your review of our hotel. Thanks so much for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    140
    82
    33
    15
See reviews for
58
63
28
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

As you drive out of the airport you may see the marriott sign and think "oh what a dinky dink little hotel". But as you pull up to it, notice an inviting front entryway, open air lobby/lobby bar and restaurant and the building completely surrounding a quiet, peaceful courtyard with indoor/outdoor pool and fitness centers.
Service was excellent! Front desk staff extremely helpful.

I got in around 10pm and sat in the lobby bar area. Famished, I tried the petit filet mignon. It rivaled steaks I've had at fine steakhouses across the country. And at $27 a bargain.

Room was clean spacious and comfortable. Only downside - elevator was broken and I had a bunch of luggage. Only one flight up, but hey.

If you're looking to stay in the Dulles area, this is the hotel to do it at.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director Of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Ed L,

We greatly appreciate your review of our hotel and are very sorry about the broken elevator. We would have been happy to assist in bringing your bags up to your room for you. Thank you very much for the kind words about the hotel and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your meal. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We missed a connecting flight due to weather, the airline gave us a discount coupon to use at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott. We had no luggage and needed hairbrush, shower cap, razor, toothbrushes, etc., hotel only had razor and toothbrushes. Room was WAY away from lobby. Room floor had used swizzle stick and other stuff on it. Bed was comfortable. Hotel shuttle was prompt and convenient. Okay place in a pinch.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director Of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Joyce M,

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review. We're very sorry that we weren't able to provide all of the toiletries that you were in need of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed at this hotel the other night and found the hotel to be very nice. I loved the bed! My wife loved the bathroom and we both enjoyed the workout facility. The staff appeared to be very well trained and educated about their jobs and were very helpful. I would stay at this hotel again, without a doubt. What I didn't like was the restaurant.

The restaurant in this hotel served us awful food. The service in the restaurant was excellent, the food was horrible. Both of us commented that we had not encountered worse food than this place. The hotel needs to take some action with the culinary staff, or lack thereof.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director Of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear 678855,

We appreciate your kind review of our property. While it is never our intention to disappoint a guest in any way, clearly we did not meet your expectations with regard to our restaurant cuisine and for that we are truly sorry. We take every review very seriously and will be sharing your feedback with the appropriate managers during our next department meeting. Please know that it is not acceptable for a guest to leave with such a negative impression. We thank you for sharing your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The Marriott is quite convenient, right at the airport, minutes from the terminal and with a frequent shuttle. I stayed overnight to connect early the next morning and found the staff friendly and helpful. The room is a traditional older Marriott room, but we good value for the money. And, the shuttle started early and ran reliably to get me back to the terminal.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear David M,

Thanks so much for your kind review of our property. More often than not, what you experienced is exactly why travelers stay at our hotel so we are so glad that we were able to be a reliable home away from home in between flights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

My flight out of Dulles was canceled, and Dulles is not conveniently located to inexpensive hotels. I went to the luggage area to recover my suitcase, and there was a traveler's info counter with several staff. A gentleman there called the Dulles Marriott and got me a room for $95, which I greatly appreciated. The Marriott shuttle ran every 15 minutes, and within 40 minutes of learning my flight was canceled I was in my room. The hotel seems to have been squeezed into available space and has a network of long corridors - I had a long walk from the desk. The room was OK, nothing special. I did not use the other facilities. But I needed a place to hole up on a very, very cold winter night, and I was grateful to find this located at the airport.

Room Tip: Forget about view. A room near the entrance will make life simpler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director Of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Fringe_Gatherer,

Thank you for noting that we saved you on a cold winter's night at Dulles. It is our aim to provide safe and convenient shuttle transportation to and from our hotel and offer guests warm, comfortable accommodations either at the start or end of their trip, and clearly we succeeded during your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Nice Marriott with a reasonably priced park-n-fly option. The shuttle drivers were very nice and available past the published times.
The outdoor hotel closes very early but the inside pool has longer hours. The hot tub is no longer available.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director Of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear VirginiaFreeze,

We appreciate the time you took to post your review of our hotel and our Park N Fly option. It is very popular with travelers who seek an affordable option when heading out of town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Washington Dulles Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Address: 45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Dulles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Dulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Airport Marriott 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Washington Dulles Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott Hotel Dulles
Dulles Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.