We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful place almost close enough to walk to from the terminal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Save Saved
You added Washington Dulles Airport Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Comfortable Day Rooms
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Dulles
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A peaceful place almost close enough to walk to from the terminal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

As you drive out of the airport you may see the marriott sign and think "oh what a dinky dink little hotel". But as you pull up to it, notice an inviting front entryway, open air lobby/lobby bar and restaurant and the building completely surrounding a quiet, peaceful courtyard with indoor/outdoor pool and fitness centers.
Service was excellent! Front desk staff extremely helpful.

I got in around 10pm and sat in the lobby bar area. Famished, I tried the petit filet mignon. It rivaled steaks I've had at fine steakhouses across the country. And at $27 a bargain.

Room was clean spacious and comfortable. Only downside - elevator was broken and I had a bunch of luggage. Only one flight up, but hey.

If you're looking to stay in the Dulles area, this is the hotel to do it at.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director Of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Ed L,

We greatly appreciate your review of our hotel and are very sorry about the broken elevator. We would have been happy to assist in bringing your bags up to your room for you. Thank you very much for the kind words about the hotel and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your meal. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    138
    84
    34
    17
See reviews for
59
68
29
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
El Cajon, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We missed a connecting flight due to weather, the airline gave us a discount coupon to use at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott. We had no luggage and needed hairbrush, shower cap, razor, toothbrushes, etc., hotel only had razor and toothbrushes. Room was WAY away from lobby. Room floor had used swizzle stick and other stuff on it. Bed was comfortable. Hotel shuttle was prompt and convenient. Okay place in a pinch.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director Of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Joyce M,

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review. We're very sorry that we weren't able to provide all of the toiletries that you were in need of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed at this hotel the other night and found the hotel to be very nice. I loved the bed! My wife loved the bathroom and we both enjoyed the workout facility. The staff appeared to be very well trained and educated about their jobs and were very helpful. I would stay at this hotel again, without a doubt. What I didn't like was the restaurant.

The restaurant in this hotel served us awful food. The service in the restaurant was excellent, the food was horrible. Both of us commented that we had not encountered worse food than this place. The hotel needs to take some action with the culinary staff, or lack thereof.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director Of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear 678855,

We appreciate your kind review of our property. While it is never our intention to disappoint a guest in any way, clearly we did not meet your expectations with regard to our restaurant cuisine and for that we are truly sorry. We take every review very seriously and will be sharing your feedback with the appropriate managers during our next department meeting. Please know that it is not acceptable for a guest to leave with such a negative impression. We thank you for sharing your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The Marriott is quite convenient, right at the airport, minutes from the terminal and with a frequent shuttle. I stayed overnight to connect early the next morning and found the staff friendly and helpful. The room is a traditional older Marriott room, but we good value for the money. And, the shuttle started early and ran reliably to get me back to the terminal.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear David M,

Thanks so much for your kind review of our property. More often than not, what you experienced is exactly why travelers stay at our hotel so we are so glad that we were able to be a reliable home away from home in between flights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

My flight out of Dulles was canceled, and Dulles is not conveniently located to inexpensive hotels. I went to the luggage area to recover my suitcase, and there was a traveler's info counter with several staff. A gentleman there called the Dulles Marriott and got me a room for $95, which I greatly appreciated. The Marriott shuttle ran every 15 minutes, and within 40 minutes of learning my flight was canceled I was in my room. The hotel seems to have been squeezed into available space and has a network of long corridors - I had a long walk from the desk. The room was OK, nothing special. I did not use the other facilities. But I needed a place to hole up on a very, very cold winter night, and I was grateful to find this located at the airport.

Room Tip: Forget about view. A room near the entrance will make life simpler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director Of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Fringe_Gatherer,

Thank you for noting that we saved you on a cold winter's night at Dulles. It is our aim to provide safe and convenient shuttle transportation to and from our hotel and offer guests warm, comfortable accommodations either at the start or end of their trip, and clearly we succeeded during your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Nice Marriott with a reasonably priced park-n-fly option. The shuttle drivers were very nice and available past the published times.
The outdoor hotel closes very early but the inside pool has longer hours. The hot tub is no longer available.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director Of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear VirginiaFreeze,

We appreciate the time you took to post your review of our hotel and our Park N Fly option. It is very popular with travelers who seek an affordable option when heading out of town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Have stayed here many times over the years, rooms have been redone, and it was a snowy night, so many stranded travelers were trickling in all night long, and there were a few office parties that were really loud passing through the halls, but other than that, a standard Marriott stay with friendly service, and nice personnel

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director Of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Fooddr,

Thank you for being a loyal guest. We appreciate your continued patronage and also your positive comments about our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Dulles Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Address: 45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Dulles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Dulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Airport Marriott 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located among Dulles Airport hotels in Northern Virginia, the Washington Dulles Airport Marriott provides easy access to the Dulles Technology Corridor and offers complimentary shuttle service to all Dulles International Airport terminals. With 368 well-appointed rooms and picturesque grounds, this Dulles hotel is perfect for business, weekend getaways and leisure travel. Guests will enjoy a wide variety of first-class hotel services and lodging amenities, including a fitness center, indoor/outdoor pool and Aviate Bar and Grill, our on-site Dulles restaurant. Local area attractions include the National Air and Space Museum, Wolf Trap Center for Performing Arts, Reston Town Center Mall and Civil War battlefields. The 13,500 square feet of deluxe meeting and event space featured at this Dulles, VA hotel is perfect for weddings, social events and meetings. Depart from the ordinary and discover a Dulles Airport hotel destination providing unprecedented service for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Washington Dulles Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott Hotel Dulles
Dulles Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.