We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good inbetween flights” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Save Saved
You added Washington Dulles Airport Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Comfortable Day Rooms
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Dulles
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good inbetween flights”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The Marriott is quite convenient, right at the airport, minutes from the terminal and with a frequent shuttle. I stayed overnight to connect early the next morning and found the staff friendly and helpful. The room is a traditional older Marriott room, but we good value for the money. And, the shuttle started early and ran reliably to get me back to the terminal.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear David M,

Thanks so much for your kind review of our property. More often than not, what you experienced is exactly why travelers stay at our hotel so we are so glad that we were able to be a reliable home away from home in between flights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    138
    84
    34
    17
See reviews for
59
68
29
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

My flight out of Dulles was canceled, and Dulles is not conveniently located to inexpensive hotels. I went to the luggage area to recover my suitcase, and there was a traveler's info counter with several staff. A gentleman there called the Dulles Marriott and got me a room for $95, which I greatly appreciated. The Marriott shuttle ran every 15 minutes, and within 40 minutes of learning my flight was canceled I was in my room. The hotel seems to have been squeezed into available space and has a network of long corridors - I had a long walk from the desk. The room was OK, nothing special. I did not use the other facilities. But I needed a place to hole up on a very, very cold winter night, and I was grateful to find this located at the airport.

Room Tip: Forget about view. A room near the entrance will make life simpler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director Of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Fringe_Gatherer,

Thank you for noting that we saved you on a cold winter's night at Dulles. It is our aim to provide safe and convenient shuttle transportation to and from our hotel and offer guests warm, comfortable accommodations either at the start or end of their trip, and clearly we succeeded during your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Nice Marriott with a reasonably priced park-n-fly option. The shuttle drivers were very nice and available past the published times.
The outdoor hotel closes very early but the inside pool has longer hours. The hot tub is no longer available.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director Of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear VirginiaFreeze,

We appreciate the time you took to post your review of our hotel and our Park N Fly option. It is very popular with travelers who seek an affordable option when heading out of town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Have stayed here many times over the years, rooms have been redone, and it was a snowy night, so many stranded travelers were trickling in all night long, and there were a few office parties that were really loud passing through the halls, but other than that, a standard Marriott stay with friendly service, and nice personnel

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director Of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Fooddr,

Thank you for being a loyal guest. We appreciate your continued patronage and also your positive comments about our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

we had a terrible experience leaving Cancun, flight delays, lost luggage, missed connections, hours in customs line-up and to top it all off we couldn't get another flight out until the morning. So we decided we would take a hotel room. The shuttle comes to pick you up at 2H at the parking level of the airport (right out from baggage claim). We arrived at around 1:00am and were greeted by the front desk agent. Got our keys and room quickly and before long ready for bed. The beds were heaven...like falling onto a marshmallow! The pillows equally as incredible! I just wanted to roll around in the bed like a little kid! It was exactely what I needed after a week in Cancun with rock hard beds and a crazy 12 hour travel day. The amenities provided by the hotel were great! The aromatherapy body wash, orange and tangerine rice bran soap...I wanted to have extra to take home! I would most definitely stay here again if ever in the area, and will for certain stay again with the brand just for the beds!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear BinMcKin,

We know traveling can be stressful and were happy to learn that our staff and the hotel made your overnight stay with us so pleasant. Making our guests feel welcome and comfortable is a goal that we strive for each day and it certainly sounds like you had a "heavenly" night's sleep at our Marriott! We are glad to know the hotel amenities helped to make a difference in your stay. We appreciate the fact that you took the time to share your experience with other TripAdvisor members and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I spent one night here, after arriving at Dulles late on a Sunday night. This is the closest hotel for an arriving passenger. There is a shuttle bus, but I already had a rental car, so the free parking is a plus as well. I was pleasantly surprised at how quiet my room was (tower 3, 3rd floor). The room was spacious and comfortable, typical for a full service Marriott. Breakfast at the exec lounge the next morning was fine.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Steve K,
We are very happy that your quick, one night stay was to your liking and that you were able to take advantage of the free parking and enjoy breakfast before you were on your way. We strive to make each guests stay a comfortable and enjoyable one. We hope you will stay again, next time you are visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Yes convenient for the airport, having arrived at 9pm from UK (just don't get me started about the antiquated disembarkation process from international flights at Dulles.........). Shuttle appeared in about 10 minutes of getting to kurbside ... smooth checkin, well appointed room ........but continual noises from the 'building' (not other guests) though out the night made it impossible to get a sound nights sleep. Gurgling from pipes, a crash every hour or so that sounded like someone hitting a metal plate....

Hotels that sell themselves on closeness to airport should also ensure breakfast is available from earlier than 6am, even a reduced service from 5am would help the harrassed traveller.

Oh yes, on packing up to leave noticed a used wine cork in middle of floor, so room cleanliness is a bit suspect

All in all not sure I would visit this Marriott again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director Of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Ashgreen,

We apologize for the experience that you had during your stay with us and that you were unable to get a restful sleep. While not a brand-new hotel, the noise disturbances that you experienced are not common and we will be investigating this situation immediately. It is never our intention to disappoint guests in any way and clearly there are a few issues where we fell short that we need to address immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Dulles Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Address: 45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Dulles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Dulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Airport Marriott 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located among Dulles Airport hotels in Northern Virginia, the Washington Dulles Airport Marriott provides easy access to the Dulles Technology Corridor and offers complimentary shuttle service to all Dulles International Airport terminals. With 368 well-appointed rooms and picturesque grounds, this Dulles hotel is perfect for business, weekend getaways and leisure travel. Guests will enjoy a wide variety of first-class hotel services and lodging amenities, including a fitness center, indoor/outdoor pool and Aviate Bar and Grill, our on-site Dulles restaurant. Local area attractions include the National Air and Space Museum, Wolf Trap Center for Performing Arts, Reston Town Center Mall and Civil War battlefields. The 13,500 square feet of deluxe meeting and event space featured at this Dulles, VA hotel is perfect for weddings, social events and meetings. Depart from the ordinary and discover a Dulles Airport hotel destination providing unprecedented service for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott and Venere so you can book your Washington Dulles Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott Hotel Dulles
Dulles Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.