We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a day” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Save Saved
You added Washington Dulles Airport Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Comfortable Day Rooms
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Dulles
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“OK for a day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Spent 3 nights here on a business trip. Hotel is very close to airport. Took the Hotel shuttle from the airport which arrived quickly and was a short journey.

Check in fast and efficient. Overall staff were very good, bar staff very helpful and friendly.

Room was tired and in a need of updating. Aircon fluctuated in efficiency and effectiveness plus was noisy. When added to the uncomfortable mattress did add up to a good nights sleep. Room was quiet (apart from aircon) and clean, bathroom was tired.

Breakfast was very good and the staff very attentive, making sure we had coffee to go etc, top marks.

Overall excellent staff, good location let down by a tired room. For a single night it would be acceptable, but avoid any longer if you want good nights sleep....

For a single night this would have been a good

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAD_Marriott_GM, Director Of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear John L

We appreciate the time you took to post your review. It is never our intention to disappoint a guest in any way and we are very sorry that you had some issues during your stay. We do try our best to maintain Marriott's high standards and we apologize if we fell short during your stay. Our associates work hard to try and ensure each guest is as comfortable as possible and we are sorry if we did not succeed in every way during your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    139
    84
    35
    17
See reviews for
59
69
29
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Sweden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I use this hotel with some frequency. I am often very satisfied. This time less so. Long story short, after an extremely frustrating and drawn out day of travel, I simply checked in, crawled into bed, and crashed. The next morning I woke up to find that the room was surprisingly not particularly clean. There was food on the floor, someone had written on the bed linens with ball-point pen, the coffee maker still had remnants of coffee in it, and the toilet refused to flush properly. The room itself was quiet and the shower was fine; the towels were all in place as were shampoos e t c. The staff were efficient and professional as always. So the entire situation with a half-serviced room at full rate was really quite puzzling to me -- this had never happened to me before here. And of course, having already slept the night, I couldn't prove that I myself was not responsible.

Room Tip: Do a quick walk-through before crawling into bed and falling asleep to ensure the room has been serv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAD_Marriott_GM, Director Of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear finicky_traveller_66,

It is never our intention to disappoint any guest and we sincerely apologize for any housekeeping issues that you may have experienced. As you have stated, you are a frequent guest and are often very satisfied, so this was clearly an isolated incident. We take these matters very seriously and are already addressing it with our housekeeping staff to determine where there was a breakdown in service in that the room was not completely finished. We hope we have the opportunity to be of service to you again on a future trip to DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Conflicting flight schedules necessitated an overnight stay at the airport. As Dulles is so far outside Washington it made no sense to travel in and out when there was less than 20 hours between flights. I paid $250 for what was a really ordinary room with no wifi or breakfast. I was travelling alone and was given a room a long walk from reception and was not offered any help with my bags. The room was reasonably clean but the air-con was so noisy that I was woken several times through the night. The staff were nice and commiserated with me about how expensive the snacks in the lobby were. Airport hotels have their customers over a barrel as there is nowhere else to go. I think the hotel is overpriced and I probably would have been more accepting of its shortcomings if I had not been charged so much.

Room Tip: Go to the Sheraton
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAD_Marriott_GM, Director Of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Rosie1504,

We appreciate your honest feedback about your experience at our hotel. While it is never our intention to disappoint any guest in any way, please note that all full-service Marriott hotels like the Washington Dulles Airport Marriott do not include WiFi and breakfast in our rates as other select-service or limited service hotels do. Our prices are competitive with other properties that offer the same location, facilities, services, and amenities. We apologize if you did not have a quiet stay or if you feel that you did not get value for your dollar. And as a result of your review, we are going to be reviewing policies with our front desk staff to ensure that all guests are always offered assistance with their bags.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN RAMON
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here the night before an early flight. Check in was quick and easy. Hotel was older, but room was well-updated. Was upgraded to a larger room. Even though you are right next to the airport I barely heard the planes. Shuttle runs every 15 minutes to the airport, making for a very easy morning ride.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAD_Marriott_GM, Director Of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Sandpiper999,

Simplicity and ease are what it is really all about for an airport hotel. We know that traveling can be quite unsettling and exhausting and we want to ensure that from the moment you arrive here to the minute we deliver you back to the airport, everything runs as smoothly as possible. Thank you so much for recognizing our commitment to this effort and for giving us a positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tustin, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at the Dulles Marriott for a wedding, as this was close to a variety of venues. The rooms are somewhat dated, and probably ready for a remodel, but the staff couldn't have been nicer. What the rooms lacked in finish, the staff made up for with charm. We spent three days there, and actually hung out in the common areas, as we were meeting people and having the occassional cocktail...the staff treated us very well and accomodated all of our requests.

Convenient to the airport. Would stay there again if traveling through DC.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dulles_Marriott_GM, Operations Manager at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Store_Finder,

We hope you had a wonderful time at your wedding and catching up with friends and family while you were in town. We do our best to maintain Marriott's standards of hospitality and our associates are truly committed to making each and every guest feel welcome and looked after. We are thrilled that you had this experience while you were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night after flying in from the UK. We had booked an accessible room as I am disabled. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was kitted out for people with disabilities, grab rails and walk in shower. The bed was very comfortable. Staff were polite, professional and efficient. The food was very tasty and provided good value for money, especially the buffet breakfast. The shuttle even dropped us off at the car rental place in the morning. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dulles_Marriott_GM, Operations Manager at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear DWT123,

We appreciate that you took the time to share your review of our hotel, particularly since you used one of our accessible rooms. We are very happy that everything in the accessible room worked well for you. And our shuttle drivers are more than happy to assist guests to make their transition back to the airport all that much easier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott Dulles for a flight the next day.
First I will say this is a very nice hotel. Full service.... friendly staff especially Stefanie at the front desk.The rooms are up to Marriott srandards I read that some guest did not think so. Here is my advice if you want to sleep in. This is a very busy hotel with lots of guest comming and going at all hours of the day and night.
Be sure you get a room at the end of the hallway to cut down on the amount of people waliking by your room. The airport noise was not noticable. It was the inside noise that was the bother.
Never the less I would highly rcomend this hotel for anyone needing a short trip to the airport the next day.....

William & Colleen
New York

Room Tip: Get a room at the end of the hallway....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dulles_Marriott_GM, Operations Manager at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Fglawihio,

It means a lot to us when a guest takes the time out of their busy travel schedule to post a review on our property. Thank you. We greatly appreciate the fact that you found this to be a very nice hotel up to Marriott standards, and we apologize if you found there to be a lot of noise from other guests. As an airport property, there can indeed be a lot of arrivals and departures at odd hours and we always hope that guests are considerate when in the hallways, but unfortunately this is not always the case. We appreciate your recommendations for other travelers and hope to see you again one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Dulles Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Address: 45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Dulles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Dulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Airport Marriott 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located among Dulles Airport hotels in Northern Virginia, the Washington Dulles Airport Marriott provides easy access to the Dulles Technology Corridor and offers complimentary shuttle service to all Dulles International Airport terminals. With 368 well-appointed rooms and picturesque grounds, this Dulles hotel is perfect for business, weekend getaways and leisure travel. Guests will enjoy a wide variety of first-class hotel services and lodging amenities, including a fitness center, indoor/outdoor pool and Aviate Bar and Grill, our on-site Dulles restaurant. Local area attractions include the National Air and Space Museum, Wolf Trap Center for Performing Arts, Reston Town Center Mall and Civil War battlefields. The 13,500 square feet of deluxe meeting and event space featured at this Dulles, VA hotel is perfect for weddings, social events and meetings. Depart from the ordinary and discover a Dulles Airport hotel destination providing unprecedented service for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott and Venere so you can book your Washington Dulles Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott Hotel Dulles
Dulles Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.