We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“repeat review, less satisfied” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 8 more sites!
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Comfortable Day Rooms
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Dulles
Lund, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“repeat review, less satisfied”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I use this hotel with some frequency. I am often very satisfied. This time less so. Long story short, after an extremely frustrating and drawn out day of travel, I simply checked in, crawled into bed, and crashed. The next morning I woke up to find that the room was surprisingly not particularly clean. There was food on the floor, someone had written on the bed linens with ball-point pen, the coffee maker still had remnants of coffee in it, and the toilet refused to flush properly. The room itself was quiet and the shower was fine; the towels were all in place as were shampoos e t c. The staff were efficient and professional as always. So the entire situation with a half-serviced room at full rate was really quite puzzling to me -- this had never happened to me before here. And of course, having already slept the night, I couldn't prove that I myself was not responsible.

Room Tip: Do a quick walk-through before crawling into bed and falling asleep to ensure the room has been serv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAD_Marriott_GM, Director Of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear finicky_traveller_66,

It is never our intention to disappoint any guest and we sincerely apologize for any housekeeping issues that you may have experienced. As you have stated, you are a frequent guest and are often very satisfied, so this was clearly an isolated incident. We take these matters very seriously and are already addressing it with our housekeeping staff to determine where there was a breakdown in service in that the room was not completely finished. We hope we have the opportunity to be of service to you again on a future trip to DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    125
    76
    31
    13
See reviews for
50
61
26
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Conflicting flight schedules necessitated an overnight stay at the airport. As Dulles is so far outside Washington it made no sense to travel in and out when there was less than 20 hours between flights. I paid $250 for what was a really ordinary room with no wifi or breakfast. I was travelling alone and was given a room a long walk from reception and was not offered any help with my bags. The room was reasonably clean but the air-con was so noisy that I was woken several times through the night. The staff were nice and commiserated with me about how expensive the snacks in the lobby were. Airport hotels have their customers over a barrel as there is nowhere else to go. I think the hotel is overpriced and I probably would have been more accepting of its shortcomings if I had not been charged so much.

Room Tip: Go to the Sheraton
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAD_Marriott_GM, Director Of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Rosie1504,

We appreciate your honest feedback about your experience at our hotel. While it is never our intention to disappoint any guest in any way, please note that all full-service Marriott hotels like the Washington Dulles Airport Marriott do not include WiFi and breakfast in our rates as other select-service or limited service hotels do. Our prices are competitive with other properties that offer the same location, facilities, services, and amenities. We apologize if you did not have a quiet stay or if you feel that you did not get value for your dollar. And as a result of your review, we are going to be reviewing policies with our front desk staff to ensure that all guests are always offered assistance with their bags.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN RAMON
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here the night before an early flight. Check in was quick and easy. Hotel was older, but room was well-updated. Was upgraded to a larger room. Even though you are right next to the airport I barely heard the planes. Shuttle runs every 15 minutes to the airport, making for a very easy morning ride.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAD_Marriott_GM, Director Of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Sandpiper999,

Simplicity and ease are what it is really all about for an airport hotel. We know that traveling can be quite unsettling and exhausting and we want to ensure that from the moment you arrive here to the minute we deliver you back to the airport, everything runs as smoothly as possible. Thank you so much for recognizing our commitment to this effort and for giving us a positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tustin, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at the Dulles Marriott for a wedding, as this was close to a variety of venues. The rooms are somewhat dated, and probably ready for a remodel, but the staff couldn't have been nicer. What the rooms lacked in finish, the staff made up for with charm. We spent three days there, and actually hung out in the common areas, as we were meeting people and having the occassional cocktail...the staff treated us very well and accomodated all of our requests.

Convenient to the airport. Would stay there again if traveling through DC.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dulles_Marriott_GM, Operations Manager at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Store_Finder,

We hope you had a wonderful time at your wedding and catching up with friends and family while you were in town. We do our best to maintain Marriott's standards of hospitality and our associates are truly committed to making each and every guest feel welcome and looked after. We are thrilled that you had this experience while you were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night after flying in from the UK. We had booked an accessible room as I am disabled. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was kitted out for people with disabilities, grab rails and walk in shower. The bed was very comfortable. Staff were polite, professional and efficient. The food was very tasty and provided good value for money, especially the buffet breakfast. The shuttle even dropped us off at the car rental place in the morning. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dulles_Marriott_GM, Operations Manager at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear DWT123,

We appreciate that you took the time to share your review of our hotel, particularly since you used one of our accessible rooms. We are very happy that everything in the accessible room worked well for you. And our shuttle drivers are more than happy to assist guests to make their transition back to the airport all that much easier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott Dulles for a flight the next day.
First I will say this is a very nice hotel. Full service.... friendly staff especially Stefanie at the front desk.The rooms are up to Marriott srandards I read that some guest did not think so. Here is my advice if you want to sleep in. This is a very busy hotel with lots of guest comming and going at all hours of the day and night.
Be sure you get a room at the end of the hallway to cut down on the amount of people waliking by your room. The airport noise was not noticable. It was the inside noise that was the bother.
Never the less I would highly rcomend this hotel for anyone needing a short trip to the airport the next day.....

William & Colleen
New York

Room Tip: Get a room at the end of the hallway....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dulles_Marriott_GM, Operations Manager at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Fglawihio,

It means a lot to us when a guest takes the time out of their busy travel schedule to post a review on our property. Thank you. We greatly appreciate the fact that you found this to be a very nice hotel up to Marriott standards, and we apologize if you found there to be a lot of noise from other guests. As an airport property, there can indeed be a lot of arrivals and departures at odd hours and we always hope that guests are considerate when in the hallways, but unfortunately this is not always the case. We appreciate your recommendations for other travelers and hope to see you again one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

As our first time to the usa, I was expecting a lot better in hotel standards, especially as this was part of a British airways holiday package. We even notified them that we would be celebrating our 25th anniversary,should. Not have wasted my breath. We did like the transport to & from the hotel to the airport for getting to other buses, but they were a let down when we arrived, we arranged to be picked up by their bus after making our own way to Dulles mall. 9pm arrived and no pick up,9:30pm and still no pick up,if it wasn't for a kind shop assistant ringing the hotel,we would still be stuck at the mall. Hotel staff tried to play dumb,when it was wrote in their book to pick us up.
Lobby was nice,with welcome drink,a surprise to see a Starbucks cafe in there as well,no mention of this.
Hotel rooms were very outdated,bed was lumpy and not very good for a bad back. Coffee maker was useless,husband nearly threw it out the window.
Meals were expensive,only ate here twice.
Staff could be more helpful towards international guests.
Overall yes we would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the lobby and make sure they are aware,they are picking you up from the mall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mei L, Director of Hotel Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Dreamcometrue2009,

Thank you for posting your review of our hotel. While it is never our intention to disappoint any guest, we are very sorry for the issues that you ran into during your stay and we will be sure to review the transportation arrangements with our staff. We also apologize for any issues that you had with the coffee maker, but with one quick phone call to our front desk, we are always more than happy to exchange it for any guest. Overall, we hope that you enjoyed your first trip to America and hope to welcome you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Washington Dulles Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott Hotel
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott Hotel Dulles
Marriott Dulles
Dulles Marriott
Address: 45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Dulles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Dulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Airport Marriott 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Washington Dulles Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Washington Dulles Airport Marriott to your Saves list