We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great airport hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Dulles Airport Marriott to your Saves list
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Dulles
SAN RAMON
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great airport hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here the night before an early flight. Check in was quick and easy. Hotel was older, but room was well-updated. Was upgraded to a larger room. Even though you are right next to the airport I barely heard the planes. Shuttle runs every 15 minutes to the airport, making for a very easy morning ride.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAD_Marriott_GM, Director Of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Sandpiper999,

Simplicity and ease are what it is really all about for an airport hotel. We know that traveling can be quite unsettling and exhausting and we want to ensure that from the moment you arrive here to the minute we deliver you back to the airport, everything runs as smoothly as possible. Thank you so much for recognizing our commitment to this effort and for giving us a positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    152
    94
    39
    20
See reviews for
65
75
32
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Tustin, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at the Dulles Marriott for a wedding, as this was close to a variety of venues. The rooms are somewhat dated, and probably ready for a remodel, but the staff couldn't have been nicer. What the rooms lacked in finish, the staff made up for with charm. We spent three days there, and actually hung out in the common areas, as we were meeting people and having the occassional cocktail...the staff treated us very well and accomodated all of our requests.

Convenient to the airport. Would stay there again if traveling through DC.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dulles_Marriott_GM, Operations Manager at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Store_Finder,

We hope you had a wonderful time at your wedding and catching up with friends and family while you were in town. We do our best to maintain Marriott's standards of hospitality and our associates are truly committed to making each and every guest feel welcome and looked after. We are thrilled that you had this experience while you were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night after flying in from the UK. We had booked an accessible room as I am disabled. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was kitted out for people with disabilities, grab rails and walk in shower. The bed was very comfortable. Staff were polite, professional and efficient. The food was very tasty and provided good value for money, especially the buffet breakfast. The shuttle even dropped us off at the car rental place in the morning. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dulles_Marriott_GM, Operations Manager at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear DWT123,

We appreciate that you took the time to share your review of our hotel, particularly since you used one of our accessible rooms. We are very happy that everything in the accessible room worked well for you. And our shuttle drivers are more than happy to assist guests to make their transition back to the airport all that much easier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott Dulles for a flight the next day.
First I will say this is a very nice hotel. Full service.... friendly staff especially Stefanie at the front desk.The rooms are up to Marriott srandards I read that some guest did not think so. Here is my advice if you want to sleep in. This is a very busy hotel with lots of guest comming and going at all hours of the day and night.
Be sure you get a room at the end of the hallway to cut down on the amount of people waliking by your room. The airport noise was not noticable. It was the inside noise that was the bother.
Never the less I would highly rcomend this hotel for anyone needing a short trip to the airport the next day.....

William & Colleen
New York

Room Tip: Get a room at the end of the hallway....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dulles_Marriott_GM, Operations Manager at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Fglawihio,

It means a lot to us when a guest takes the time out of their busy travel schedule to post a review on our property. Thank you. We greatly appreciate the fact that you found this to be a very nice hotel up to Marriott standards, and we apologize if you found there to be a lot of noise from other guests. As an airport property, there can indeed be a lot of arrivals and departures at odd hours and we always hope that guests are considerate when in the hallways, but unfortunately this is not always the case. We appreciate your recommendations for other travelers and hope to see you again one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

As our first time to the usa, I was expecting a lot better in hotel standards, especially as this was part of a British airways holiday package. We even notified them that we would be celebrating our 25th anniversary,should. Not have wasted my breath. We did like the transport to & from the hotel to the airport for getting to other buses, but they were a let down when we arrived, we arranged to be picked up by their bus after making our own way to Dulles mall. 9pm arrived and no pick up,9:30pm and still no pick up,if it wasn't for a kind shop assistant ringing the hotel,we would still be stuck at the mall. Hotel staff tried to play dumb,when it was wrote in their book to pick us up.
Lobby was nice,with welcome drink,a surprise to see a Starbucks cafe in there as well,no mention of this.
Hotel rooms were very outdated,bed was lumpy and not very good for a bad back. Coffee maker was useless,husband nearly threw it out the window.
Meals were expensive,only ate here twice.
Staff could be more helpful towards international guests.
Overall yes we would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the lobby and make sure they are aware,they are picking you up from the mall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mei L, Director of Hotel Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Dreamcometrue2009,

Thank you for posting your review of our hotel. While it is never our intention to disappoint any guest, we are very sorry for the issues that you ran into during your stay and we will be sure to review the transportation arrangements with our staff. We also apologize for any issues that you had with the coffee maker, but with one quick phone call to our front desk, we are always more than happy to exchange it for any guest. Overall, we hope that you enjoyed your first trip to America and hope to welcome you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Marriott at Dulles is the worst in the system. Marriott prices but a poor facility and badly managed.
I was assigned a room with a very noisy air conditioning/heating system. The room was 66 degrees F when I checked in. The heat did not work. After shivering I called the front desk and ask for an engineer. The engineer never came. I called again and asked for blankets. The blankets never came. Finally, after two hours, I got up, repacked, and hauled my luggage to the front desk and asked for another room. The second room was OK but not the Marriott quality. The elevator needs maintenance. Bumpy with lots of sudden drops.
When I checked out I explained my two hours of agony as asked for room compensation. It was denied by a very arrogant front desk manager. So I paid the full fare.
Not sure what has happened to the Marriott quality and integrity. Usually it is good but not at the Marriott Dulles airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had a flight cancellation and we were required to stay at the Marriott Hotel on the Dulles Airport grounds. We routinely prefer Marriott properties but this facility is the exception to the rule. It is the only hotel on the airport grounds. This Marriott makes the Motel 6 look like luxury. We were assigned to a room in the basement that had a boarded up exterior door and an equally outdated bathroom. The room had a musty odor. The only positive comment I can make is that the room and bathroom were clean. Come on Marriott take some pride in your property and bulldoze this one and start from the dirt up.

Room Tip: Choose another property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Dulles Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Address: 45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Dulles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Dulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located among Dulles Airport hotels in Northern Virginia, the Washington Dulles Airport Marriott provides easy access to the Dulles Technology Corridor and offers complimentary shuttle service to all Dulles International Airport terminals. With 368 well-appointed rooms and picturesque grounds, this Dulles hotel is perfect for business, weekend getaways and leisure travel. Guests will enjoy a wide variety of first-class hotel services and lodging amenities, including a fitness center, indoor/outdoor pool and Aviate Bar and Grill, our on-site Dulles restaurant. Local area attractions include the National Air and Space Museum, Wolf Trap Center for Performing Arts, Reston Town Center Mall and Civil War battlefields. The 13,500 square feet of deluxe meeting and event space featured at this Dulles, VA hotel is perfect for weddings, social events and meetings. Depart from the ordinary and discover a Dulles Airport hotel destination providing unprecedented service for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Washington Dulles Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott Hotel Dulles
Dulles Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.