We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with convenient location next to Dulles” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Save Saved
You added Washington Dulles Airport Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Comfortable Day Rooms
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Dulles
North West
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good hotel with convenient location next to Dulles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed at the Marriott Dulles in July for one night after a flight. The reception area was large with plenty of meeting and public spaces. As a Marriott Rewards Gold holder I used the executive lounge which was well stocked in the evening and at breakfast. My room was smart and functional but I agree with other comments here regarding a facelift as parts of the room and particulary the bathroom were a little tired. I did not have any trouble sleeping and found the hotel to be calm & quiet, it was close to the car rental depots and there was plenty of parking. Not a 5* experience but certainly functional and convenient, if you are staying for a night or 2 it will be fine but there are better (and cheaper) options for extended stays closeby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    140
    82
    33
    15
See reviews for
58
63
28
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The location at Dulles Airport is great for business or if you want to tour the city. All the staff are extremely friendly and courteous at all times. The lobby/reception area is beautiful, and has an excellent bar and restaurant with reasonable prices and good food. The rooms are typical Marriott, comfortable and predictable, but in the case of my room, there was some wear and tear. The bathtub needed resurfacing, there were some stains on the carpets, just generally a little worn down. If the rooms matched the lobby this would be a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very helpful and professional personnel, quiet room and although close to airport, no outside and even air conditioner noise. Clean and pleasant room, well equipped, provided comfort and a peaceful good night rest.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night due to its proximity to Dulles. It was the most uncomfortable night I've spent in an airport hotel.

Unlike other airport hotels where I've stayed, this one had inadequate soundproofing. Not only was there loud jet noise, there was actual vibration. Both made sleep difficult.

The hotel provided tiny pillows (smaller than a standard pillow but larger than a throw pillow). The pillows provided insufficient head/neck support and added to the difficulty of getting some much-needed rest after a long day of travel.

The phone in our room rang multiple times between 2 and 5 am, making sound sleep impossible. In fairness, I'm not sure if this was due to a system malfunction or misdials, but it made a miserable night more so. We finally unplugged the phone to silence it.

The restaurant was closed when we arrived 10:00 pm, famished (despite being located at an international airport, I guess Marriott assumes all arriving travelers are on DC time). The only on-site dining option was the bar area, which was incredibly loud due to the blaring of multiple TVs. The food quality was poor.

Bottom line: if I again found myself needing overnight accommodation near Dulles, I'd look elsewhere.


  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Laird, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

For a Marriott property, this hotel was OK, but nothing great. My family always chooses Marriott hotels because they keep to a high standard of clean rooms, good food, and great service. The location of this hotel made it easy to find, and it was very close to the airport. That really helped us in getting to the airport for our 6:00 a.m. flight the next morning. Our only real complaint was about the double beds in the rooms; not good when you have a family with three kids, and the length of time it took the hotel to get the requested rollaway bed to us (almost 2 hours). We had requested the rollaway well in advance of our stay. The hotel could use a décor update. Otherwise, this is a really convenient place to stay if you want to be very close to the airport.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the lounge area if you want to get good sleep. Traffic in and out all nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, PA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at the Washington Dulles Airport Marriott on Tuesday, August 6 so we could leave early the next morning. The only complaint we had was that we stayed in what we think was room 110 which was very close to the workout room and the Human Resources office where people were slamming doors and talking loudly much of the night and early morning. We thought they were probably reporting for work and greeting each other. So, we will ask to be away from that area next time. But, the shuttle was efficient and consistently runs from the hotel to the airport, with very polite drivers. The room was clean and the total for that plus parking for twelve days was a little over 200 dollars, which we felt was fair. We will stay again.

Room Tip: Ask to stay away from the door to the pool and Human Resources if you like quiet when trying to slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed for one night prior to flight home. Hotel is really well located and easy to find. The reception staff were very helpful and the room was really nice and large with all the facilities. It was very clean and well maintained. It was a fair walk at the other end of the square block. The breakfast next morning was nice and cost effective to have the continental breakfast rather than seperate items. Serving staff were very good and couldn't do enough to help. The grounds of the hotel are nice and the the pool areas looked very good. My only complaint is that Wi-Fi should be free across the hotel not just in the lobby area - even cheap hotels can manage that,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Washington Dulles Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Address: 45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Dulles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Dulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Airport Marriott 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Washington Dulles Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott Hotel Dulles
Dulles Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.