We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Save Saved
You added Washington Dulles Airport Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Comfortable Day Rooms
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Dulles
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“As expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

This property is right out of the Marriott playbook: clean, appropriately furnished rooms, busy lobby, and fine service. Having read some prior reviews, I can say that all seem correct, yet they remain a matter of perception...the property IS a bit dated, but I don't think overly so. On the plus side were the immediate proximity to Dulles Airport, free parking (HUGE plus in DC/Northern Virginia), and friendly, expedient service. On the negative side, it's easy to get lost in the maze of hallways; seriously, I am a seasoned traveller with 100+ nights per year in hotels, and I got lost three times in the hallways. A tip: definitely request a room near one of the few elevators, or be prepared to walk hundreds of yards of hallway ( no exaggeration). Also, was disappointed as a Marriott Elite member not to receive the King bed I requested, and was guaranteed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    140
    82
    33
    16
See reviews for
58
65
29
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glenrothes, Scotland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a good choice if you need somewhere to stay after a late evening flight or before an early morning flight. There is a free shuttle bus to and from the airport every 15 minutes - the journey is only about 5 minutes. Our room was comfortable, clean and modern. Staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. We had an evening meal in the bar which was good, as was breakfast in the restaurant next day.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinton, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a GREAT stay here. We were flying out of IAD and we were able to keep our car at the Hotel and not have to worry about it. Security walked the parking lot so we felt very comfortable leaving our car here. With the price the airport charges for LTP, for a few dollars more we got a hotel stay and shuttled to and from the airport. We would have no problems staying here again. Yes, the hallways were long, but that is no big issue when you have a very clean hotel with friendly service and large rooms

Room Tip: Large clean rooms, Friendly shuttle service to and from airports,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was a great location for flying out of Dulles. The front desk was very friendly. The rooms were a little dated but clean & beds were very comfortable. We ate at the restaurant onsite & food was good but it was a little pricey. I definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reno
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here to be near Dulles, but upon checkin we noted insufficient front desk staff, no marriott platinum express line, free parking, but nicer lobby than the old rooms. Furnishings look 15 yrs old except for TV that did not work. The hallways are long and far from elevators. Room service. Free breakfast for platinum, but also w the room package at $98. Airport shuttle free. Staff was very responsive to my complaint. Skimpy on pillows, two per bed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Dated. Hotel personell and staff are all very nice. The hotel itself is old. They spent money on the lobby and Bar area but the rooms are 10 year old Marriott rooms. The only change from 10 years ago is that they threw in a small flat screen tv. I have been giving full service marriotts a try again after abandoning them for Courtyards and Residence inns and have been thoroughly dissapointed. Marriott has pretty clearly abandoned the full service Marriott properties I have stayed at the past 2 months. More of my buisness has gone to Other hotel brands that are fresher.

specific to this hotel the rugs are worn in the room, in the gym there are 3 treadmills two are broken and people wait in line to use the one that works. The one piece besides staff it has going for it is it is close to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Hosted a wonderful event there. Hotel ballroom was nice, so was the lobby. However one of my guests staying there had a roaches in their room. I was so disappointed (and embarrassed) Breakfast was pricey. If you have issues with walking, or the elderly, corridors are very long and far from the elevator. This hotel is mainly a transit hotel for travelers. The plus side of this hotel is the close proximity to the airport. The shuttle runs back and forth every 15 minutes. If you have to stay in this area, there are an abundance of other much nicer, updated and newer hotels (with shuttle service) and free complimentary breakfast.

Room Tip: If you are the elderly or have walking issues, don't book at this hotel, corridors are very very...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Washington Dulles Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Address: 45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Dulles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Dulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Airport Marriott 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Washington Dulles Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott Hotel Dulles
Dulles Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.