We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a makeover but close to airport” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Dulles Airport Marriott to your Saves list
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%!
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dulles
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
166 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Needs a makeover but close to airport”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night recently and it is very convenient to Dulles Airport. The front lobby/bar area looked new and nice, but our room seemed tired and dated. Old worn looking furniture. Also the layout of this hotel is weird, kind of sprawling and confusing. The room was clean enough, and the shampoo and body wash were very nice, but overall this Marriott in my opinion does not live up to the Marriott standard. However, I would not hesitate to stay here again due to the close proximity to Dulles Airport.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tamstrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The wi-fi here is spotty. It would only work in certain parts of my room. I was a marriott elite member so I didn't have to pay for it, but otherwise I would have asked for my money back.

The restaurant "Aviate" inside the hotel was pretty expensive, and although the food menu descriptions looked appealing, the actual food was just so-so for the price. Didn't like the Calamari. The "Heirloom Tomato Salad" was average at best. Breakfast seemed pretty average also. If I had it to do over again, I would go offsite for food.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room close to the center of hotel. Maybe wi-fi would work better if centrally loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mr.gringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

the rooms are not bad, basically what you would expect from a chain hotel. They were clean beds are comfortable TV said NFL Network, all in all pretty nice.however, this place will literally nickel and dime you for everything. Internet is 13 dollars a day, a movie is $18, breakfast is not complimentary unless you book a more expensive room.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJH1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here many times only because its next to the airport . The hotel has been added on to over the years and now sprawls up and down in a confusing spiral. The restaurant is mediocre and overpriced. The concierge lounge is only ok with nothing special offered most likely due to the huge amount of traffic it gets. The fitness center is big enough but disappointing when you realize the TVs don't work on half of the treadmills and there are no window screens to block the heat from the sun. Also,only 12 channels are offered on the TVs and none of them local . Rooms have old furniture and my comforter cover had a hole. The carpet is worn and the bathroom teensy tiny.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Punkin2605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed here Memorial Day weekend. About 2 minutes by shuttle from the airport so good after a long flight from London.
Check in was quick and it was nice that they recognised my Marriott rewards status.
The bar was a nice place to have a couple of beers in the evening and the lady (La) collecting and serving the orders was very polite and attentive, I think she was the only one there so she did a great job!
We had the breakfast inclusive package for an extra $20 a night, as it turned out a good decision as when you get breakfast they still give you a check and then take it off your hotel bill again and then it was $39.80 for 2!!
All round very convenient for the airport and if you want to go downtown just take the shuttle to the airport and then the Washington Flyer to the metro.
Very friendly employees always a hello and a smile.
Recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BLondon77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
178 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We routinely use this hotel when flying from Dulles in the early AM. The cost is little more than the parking fee for a week at the Airport lots. This hotel has been refurbished and the lobby contains a large open bar & light dinning area. They have a great indoor/outdoor pool with indoor jacuzzi and a good exercise facility. The staff is quite helpful and the airport shuttle runs every 15 minutes from 0430h to late at night. They finally got rid of the silly revolving entrance door, which makes bringing in luggage much simpler. For those who must, two close outdoor smoking areas with chairs, one with tablews.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Verne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed here in may 2013 ,w an early am flight to Jamaica,they let you park there all week for free while you travel from Dulles. For us the cost of an overnight here is no in cost than satellite parking would cost and it takes some of the stress out of traveling.The restaurant and lobby are very nice and the food and drink were great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike58318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dulles
1.1 mi away
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Hyatt Regency Dulles
#10 of 20 in Herndon
4.0 of 5 stars 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Dulles Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Address: 45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Dulles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located among Dulles Airport hotels in Northern Virginia, the Washington Dulles Airport Marriott provides easy access to the Dulles Technology Corridor and offers complimentary shuttle service to all Dulles International Airport terminals. With 368 well-appointed rooms and picturesque grounds, this Dulles hotel is perfect for business, weekend getaways and leisure travel. Guests will enjoy a wide variety of first-class hotel services and lodging amenities, including a fitness center, indoor/outdoor pool and Aviate Bar and Grill, our on-site Dulles restaurant. Local area attractions include the National Air and Space Museum, Wolf Trap Center for Performing Arts, Reston Town Center Mall and Civil War battlefields. The 13,500 square feet of deluxe meeting and event space featured at this Dulles, VA hotel is perfect for weddings, social events and meetings. Depart from the ordinary and discover a Dulles Airport hotel destination providing unprecedented service for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Washington Dulles Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott Hotel Dulles
Dulles Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing