We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Way to Start Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Dulles Airport Marriott to your Saves list
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Dulles
Washington, DC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Good Way to Start Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Have stayed here at least 7 times through the years, and now again in March 2013. Reviews for this property are all over the place. I guess your viewpoint depends upon several factors (price paid, room location, elite perks?). Up front, I'll tell you I've never had a bad experience here, and wouldn't stay anywhere else at Dulles.

Five stars because I always get a huge bang for my buck here. The front desk staff is beyond great. I dealt with a lady named Annam (I hope I have this spelled correctly), who set a wonderfully positive tone for the stay. Upon arrival, I got a second room so that my daughter and granddaughter could join us on the night before our flight out. Annam made sure I had connecting rooms at the best possible price, free parking for my whole upcoming trip, and a late checkout. Fantastic service.

Pool was clean, warm, and we had it all to ourselves. The hot tub was not functioning at the time, sadly. We had dinner in the bar/lounge area (restaurant seating area was not opened that evening but dinner menu still available in Bar). A really delicious meal, served expertly and graciously, at a reasonable price. Delightful from start to finish. Happily surprised again this year at high quality of food here (Breakfast not so much, but can't have everything).

With free parking for the trip, great dinner, a comfortable room, friendly staff, and convenient shuttle service to the airport, I don't know how you could do better...especially if you are a Marriott Silver, Gold, or Platinum member. Great Stay!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on lower floor. Try to get room near lobby because it's a sprawling hotel with long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    153
    94
    39
    20
See reviews for
65
75
33
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

They try. Staff is accessible and very friendly. Hotel rooms old and a bit dingy. They need new carpets and curtains. Rooms on the 1st floor need an upgrade the carpets are old and dingy. Bad choice of sheets and comforters. Breakfast is overpriced.

Room Tip: Stay away from the basement rooms on the 1st floor---they are bit ignored and dingy. Specifically ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We were only there one evening, but everything about our stay was perfect. From the Marriott greeting to checkout, the staff could not have been more professional, friendly and helpful. The grounds are lovely, it's a short shuttle ride to the airport and easy to get to.

Our room was large, clean and of course, the Marriott bed and linens are always perfect.

We had a quiet latte in the bar area in the morning--the woman who made them was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a desperate need of refurbishment. It's dull boring 2 star hotel in a location that is burried in the airport and near nothing. When I first got to the room I noticed there was only one set of towel (wash cloth, hand towel, bath towel). I called to get two more three times along with an extra pillow they never showed up. The next day I asked again and nothing. Finally I just found a maids cart and took them. The layout of the hotel is also a bit odd as is the construction with random inclines in the hallways and some of the rooms are really far from any enterence to the building. Previously for the same price I've stayed at the Mariott Suites (about 10-15 minutes away) which made this Mariott feel like a cheap motel. Additional minus is not only is the in room Internet a paid for pass but the lobby free wifi wasn't working. The only plus was the parking was free.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night after arriving on a late flight at Dulles. Location is unbeatable as it is the only hotel inside the airport. You can tell that it is quite an old building but Marriott has done a nice job of renovating it. Room was just what you would expect at a typical Marriott. Service was quite good as front desk were very helpful in helping me get to the rental car center. Only downside I would say is that it is a bit pricey for an airport hotel. You get overcharged for the fact that it is the only hotel inside the airport.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Efficiently run property, friendly at check-in, minutes to the terminal via shuttle bus running every 15 minutes. Lobby and small rooms are clean and renovated but still somehow have a dated feel (but then, so does much of Dulles Airport). It's a very busy hotel, and my room seemed to be exposed to a fair amount of hallway noise early in the morning. Would stay here primarily for convenience to the airport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed after buying on Priceline. Older property (vintage Marriott design). Lobby a long walk from room. Bed was excellent. Only three pillows for King. TV average and channels good. Quiet location with good sound proof. No airport noise. Not the type of place to say I would stay again when I came back. Over $75 you paid too much. Wifi is $12.95 a day. Really???? Get in at 11 pm and leave at 7:30 for $12.95. Not!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Dulles Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Address: 45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Dulles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Dulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located among Dulles Airport hotels in Northern Virginia, the Washington Dulles Airport Marriott provides easy access to the Dulles Technology Corridor and offers complimentary shuttle service to all Dulles International Airport terminals. With 368 well-appointed rooms and picturesque grounds, this Dulles hotel is perfect for business, weekend getaways and leisure travel. Guests will enjoy a wide variety of first-class hotel services and lodging amenities, including a fitness center, indoor/outdoor pool and Aviate Bar and Grill, our on-site Dulles restaurant. Local area attractions include the National Air and Space Museum, Wolf Trap Center for Performing Arts, Reston Town Center Mall and Civil War battlefields. The 13,500 square feet of deluxe meeting and event space featured at this Dulles, VA hotel is perfect for weddings, social events and meetings. Depart from the ordinary and discover a Dulles Airport hotel destination providing unprecedented service for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Washington Dulles Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott Hotel Dulles
Dulles Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.