We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated Hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Save Saved
You added Washington Dulles Airport Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Comfortable Day Rooms
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Dulles
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Overrated Hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a desperate need of refurbishment. It's dull boring 2 star hotel in a location that is burried in the airport and near nothing. When I first got to the room I noticed there was only one set of towel (wash cloth, hand towel, bath towel). I called to get two more three times along with an extra pillow they never showed up. The next day I asked again and nothing. Finally I just found a maids cart and took them. The layout of the hotel is also a bit odd as is the construction with random inclines in the hallways and some of the rooms are really far from any enterence to the building. Previously for the same price I've stayed at the Mariott Suites (about 10-15 minutes away) which made this Mariott feel like a cheap motel. Additional minus is not only is the in room Internet a paid for pass but the lobby free wifi wasn't working. The only plus was the parking was free.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    124
    76
    32
    13
See reviews for
51
61
26
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night after arriving on a late flight at Dulles. Location is unbeatable as it is the only hotel inside the airport. You can tell that it is quite an old building but Marriott has done a nice job of renovating it. Room was just what you would expect at a typical Marriott. Service was quite good as front desk were very helpful in helping me get to the rental car center. Only downside I would say is that it is a bit pricey for an airport hotel. You get overcharged for the fact that it is the only hotel inside the airport.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Efficiently run property, friendly at check-in, minutes to the terminal via shuttle bus running every 15 minutes. Lobby and small rooms are clean and renovated but still somehow have a dated feel (but then, so does much of Dulles Airport). It's a very busy hotel, and my room seemed to be exposed to a fair amount of hallway noise early in the morning. Would stay here primarily for convenience to the airport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed after buying on Priceline. Older property (vintage Marriott design). Lobby a long walk from room. Bed was excellent. Only three pillows for King. TV average and channels good. Quiet location with good sound proof. No airport noise. Not the type of place to say I would stay again when I came back. Over $75 you paid too much. Wifi is $12.95 a day. Really???? Get in at 11 pm and leave at 7:30 for $12.95. Not!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I have reviewed this property before and was very satisfied. After a recent trip, I remain satisfied! I travel about twice per year from Western Europe to Washington and find that my trips get off on the right foot if I stay at the airport and then drive to my ultimate destinations rather than trying to connect to a regional flight. I have done this now for about 10 years. This Marriott is a definitely a dated property, but I like the fact that it is spread out. This means that it is always quiet, and I don't mind the walk. My request for a quiet room has always been honored and I always sleep well here. The staff, though different at each stay, has delivered exactly what I have requested over the years. This strikes me as noteworthy. The central bar/restaurant has recently been upgraded and is a pleasant space. Being tired after a transatlantic journey, I typically order room service, which has never disappointed. As a Marriott member, free wireless is included. All said, I have recommended and will continue to recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Simply ask for a quiet room. This has always worked for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia,pa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was here for two nights while in town for a business trip. I was very satified with this hotel. The room was clean and modern. The dresser and tables were a little worn but the new bathroom and comfortable bed made up for it. I loved the toiletries, they were not generic items but from Bath and Body Works. The staff was very attentive and pleasant to converse with. The bathroom ceiling was low but didn't make much difference .

The only complaint I could have is that the food was very pricey. Unless you want to drive a few minutes and pay a few dollars in tolls, I guess its worth it to stay in an eat. There are so many options outside of the hotel you won't be unhappy running out.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Perfect for Early Morning flights. Clean Rooms. Attentive, pleasant staff. Nice new updated lobby and bar area. If you want to start your vacation on a stress free note; then check in the night before early flight. Enjoy dinner, drinks, & relax. Room service dinner if you prefer. Slip off to the cozy bed & clean room. Perhaps a hot bubble bath?
Get a good night's sleep; refreshed & ready for the early, quick shuttle to IAD. So much better than the 3AM drive to IAD morning of. "Do we have passports? Unexpected traffic delay on the Greenway? Will we make the flight?" Blah, blah. Stress, stress. Traveling with a family group; for me it's a no-brainer.
Leave your car for up to two weeks..."Park & Fly" package is Such A Deal!

Room Tip: If you don't want to walk a long way, then ask for a room close to the lobby. Problem solved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Washington Dulles Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott Hotel
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott Hotel Dulles
Marriott Dulles
Dulles Marriott
Address: 45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Dulles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Dulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Airport Marriott 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Washington Dulles Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.