We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient airport hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Dulles Airport Marriott to your Saves list
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Dulles
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Convenient airport hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Efficiently run property, friendly at check-in, minutes to the terminal via shuttle bus running every 15 minutes. Lobby and small rooms are clean and renovated but still somehow have a dated feel (but then, so does much of Dulles Airport). It's a very busy hotel, and my room seemed to be exposed to a fair amount of hallway noise early in the morning. Would stay here primarily for convenience to the airport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    153
    94
    39
    20
See reviews for
65
75
33
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed after buying on Priceline. Older property (vintage Marriott design). Lobby a long walk from room. Bed was excellent. Only three pillows for King. TV average and channels good. Quiet location with good sound proof. No airport noise. Not the type of place to say I would stay again when I came back. Over $75 you paid too much. Wifi is $12.95 a day. Really???? Get in at 11 pm and leave at 7:30 for $12.95. Not!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I have reviewed this property before and was very satisfied. After a recent trip, I remain satisfied! I travel about twice per year from Western Europe to Washington and find that my trips get off on the right foot if I stay at the airport and then drive to my ultimate destinations rather than trying to connect to a regional flight. I have done this now for about 10 years. This Marriott is a definitely a dated property, but I like the fact that it is spread out. This means that it is always quiet, and I don't mind the walk. My request for a quiet room has always been honored and I always sleep well here. The staff, though different at each stay, has delivered exactly what I have requested over the years. This strikes me as noteworthy. The central bar/restaurant has recently been upgraded and is a pleasant space. Being tired after a transatlantic journey, I typically order room service, which has never disappointed. As a Marriott member, free wireless is included. All said, I have recommended and will continue to recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Simply ask for a quiet room. This has always worked for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia,pa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was here for two nights while in town for a business trip. I was very satified with this hotel. The room was clean and modern. The dresser and tables were a little worn but the new bathroom and comfortable bed made up for it. I loved the toiletries, they were not generic items but from Bath and Body Works. The staff was very attentive and pleasant to converse with. The bathroom ceiling was low but didn't make much difference .

The only complaint I could have is that the food was very pricey. Unless you want to drive a few minutes and pay a few dollars in tolls, I guess its worth it to stay in an eat. There are so many options outside of the hotel you won't be unhappy running out.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Perfect for Early Morning flights. Clean Rooms. Attentive, pleasant staff. Nice new updated lobby and bar area. If you want to start your vacation on a stress free note; then check in the night before early flight. Enjoy dinner, drinks, & relax. Room service dinner if you prefer. Slip off to the cozy bed & clean room. Perhaps a hot bubble bath?
Get a good night's sleep; refreshed & ready for the early, quick shuttle to IAD. So much better than the 3AM drive to IAD morning of. "Do we have passports? Unexpected traffic delay on the Greenway? Will we make the flight?" Blah, blah. Stress, stress. Traveling with a family group; for me it's a no-brainer.
Leave your car for up to two weeks..."Park & Fly" package is Such A Deal!

Room Tip: If you don't want to walk a long way, then ask for a room close to the lobby. Problem solved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was a bit of a bizarre Marriott, in my many, many, many stays at various Marriott properties in my life. What makes it bizarre is that it is only three stories but sprawled OUT. I mean, you have to do some walking. Not a problem at all but definitely unexpected, as was the rush to make sure everyone in the downstairs restaurant/lounge knew closing time was coming up in 10 minutes (midnight). That was tacky. Funny thing is, 12 came and went and they were still serving so I don't know how they're running things but the staff could be a bit "softer".

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We arrived at midnight after a 13 hour flight from Chile. The shuttle runs every 15 minutes and it takes 5 minutes to get to the hotel. My partner had just has emergency hip surgery and the shuttle driver could not have been more helpful in managing all of our bags and then offering to get a wheelchair as soon as we got to the hotel. He then helped us manage all of it to our room. We had the same experience the next day. The hotel has been recently remodeled and looks great. Rooms are quiet - you were not know the airport was so close. Great location and staff!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Dulles Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Address: 45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Dulles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Dulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located among Dulles Airport hotels in Northern Virginia, the Washington Dulles Airport Marriott provides easy access to the Dulles Technology Corridor and offers complimentary shuttle service to all Dulles International Airport terminals. With 368 well-appointed rooms and picturesque grounds, this Dulles hotel is perfect for business, weekend getaways and leisure travel. Guests will enjoy a wide variety of first-class hotel services and lodging amenities, including a fitness center, indoor/outdoor pool and Aviate Bar and Grill, our on-site Dulles restaurant. Local area attractions include the National Air and Space Museum, Wolf Trap Center for Performing Arts, Reston Town Center Mall and Civil War battlefields. The 13,500 square feet of deluxe meeting and event space featured at this Dulles, VA hotel is perfect for weddings, social events and meetings. Depart from the ordinary and discover a Dulles Airport hotel destination providing unprecedented service for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Washington Dulles Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott Hotel Dulles
Dulles Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.