We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“repeat review, still satisfied!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Save Saved
You added Washington Dulles Airport Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Comfortable Day Rooms
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Dulles
Lund, Sweden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“repeat review, still satisfied!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I have reviewed this property before and was very satisfied. After a recent trip, I remain satisfied! I travel about twice per year from Western Europe to Washington and find that my trips get off on the right foot if I stay at the airport and then drive to my ultimate destinations rather than trying to connect to a regional flight. I have done this now for about 10 years. This Marriott is a definitely a dated property, but I like the fact that it is spread out. This means that it is always quiet, and I don't mind the walk. My request for a quiet room has always been honored and I always sleep well here. The staff, though different at each stay, has delivered exactly what I have requested over the years. This strikes me as noteworthy. The central bar/restaurant has recently been upgraded and is a pleasant space. Being tired after a transatlantic journey, I typically order room service, which has never disappointed. As a Marriott member, free wireless is included. All said, I have recommended and will continue to recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Simply ask for a quiet room. This has always worked for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    140
    82
    33
    16
See reviews for
58
65
29
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia,pa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was here for two nights while in town for a business trip. I was very satified with this hotel. The room was clean and modern. The dresser and tables were a little worn but the new bathroom and comfortable bed made up for it. I loved the toiletries, they were not generic items but from Bath and Body Works. The staff was very attentive and pleasant to converse with. The bathroom ceiling was low but didn't make much difference .

The only complaint I could have is that the food was very pricey. Unless you want to drive a few minutes and pay a few dollars in tolls, I guess its worth it to stay in an eat. There are so many options outside of the hotel you won't be unhappy running out.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Perfect for Early Morning flights. Clean Rooms. Attentive, pleasant staff. Nice new updated lobby and bar area. If you want to start your vacation on a stress free note; then check in the night before early flight. Enjoy dinner, drinks, & relax. Room service dinner if you prefer. Slip off to the cozy bed & clean room. Perhaps a hot bubble bath?
Get a good night's sleep; refreshed & ready for the early, quick shuttle to IAD. So much better than the 3AM drive to IAD morning of. "Do we have passports? Unexpected traffic delay on the Greenway? Will we make the flight?" Blah, blah. Stress, stress. Traveling with a family group; for me it's a no-brainer.
Leave your car for up to two weeks..."Park & Fly" package is Such A Deal!

Room Tip: If you don't want to walk a long way, then ask for a room close to the lobby. Problem solved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was a bit of a bizarre Marriott, in my many, many, many stays at various Marriott properties in my life. What makes it bizarre is that it is only three stories but sprawled OUT. I mean, you have to do some walking. Not a problem at all but definitely unexpected, as was the rush to make sure everyone in the downstairs restaurant/lounge knew closing time was coming up in 10 minutes (midnight). That was tacky. Funny thing is, 12 came and went and they were still serving so I don't know how they're running things but the staff could be a bit "softer".

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We arrived at midnight after a 13 hour flight from Chile. The shuttle runs every 15 minutes and it takes 5 minutes to get to the hotel. My partner had just has emergency hip surgery and the shuttle driver could not have been more helpful in managing all of our bags and then offering to get a wheelchair as soon as we got to the hotel. He then helped us manage all of it to our room. We had the same experience the next day. The hotel has been recently remodeled and looks great. Rooms are quiet - you were not know the airport was so close. Great location and staff!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is an average hotel at best. Very friendly front desk staff. Room is circa 1998. Smells musty. Awkward layout, took 10 minutes to walk to concierge lounge on same floor as my room.

Very close to airport though.

Bottom line stay here if you need to be across the street from the airport, if not, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights on business. Location is great, only few minutes from Dulles Airport. The staff is very nice, attentive and very customer oriented. As a Platinum member, they email you and welcome you before you even arrive. I asked for an early check in and they accomodated my request, which was very helpful for my schedule. The property itself is in very good shape (although it's not a typical big Marriott type) but I wouldn't consider it "top notch 5 stars" because it's a smaller hotel than the big "marquee"types you'd see in downtown areas. This one looks/has more of a Courtyard look (about 3 stories high) but better. Still, I had a very nice stay in a quiet room. I'd definitely would stay there again when I'm in the area in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Washington Dulles Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Address: 45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Dulles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Dulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Airport Marriott 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Washington Dulles Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott Hotel Dulles
Dulles Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.