We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to the Airport” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Dulles Airport Marriott to your Saves list
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Dulles
Rabun Gap, Georgia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Convenient to the Airport”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Convenient to the airport is worth something, but this Marriott is dark and dated, and there are lots of other hotels in the nearby vicinity where you might get a better value. Low ceilings, old carpets and a noisy heater were just enough to make me think that the price I paid for an upgraded room was just too much. On the plus side, the public/lounge area was a great place for a meeting, and the breakfast was good. All in all, not bad, but not what I hoped for.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    184
    111
    44
    26
See reviews for
77
92
38
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
washington, va
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The convenience of this hotel can't be beat, and the attentiveness of the staff is exemplary. For the rest, this is indeed a cut below the Marriotts we have become used to--and come to expect. It took quite a few interventions to receive the lounge access for which we had booked: there seem to be some (intended?) ambiguities between a room on the "Executive Floor" and with "Executive Lounge Access," between the website and the actual reservation, and even between different Elite memberships (especially if it is "only" Silver). In addition, for the so-called Executive Level, the room was utterly basic and barely standard, and the lounge food was minimal. These impressions were reinforced subsequently by a lack of response from the hotel management to our comments, and by a longer and more pleasant stay near Chicago, in a hotel of a competing chain. This competitor gave us far better value, and we may take a closer look at it for our further travels...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iran
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I was there because my flight was cancelled! It is absolutely not comparable with other marriott hotels. First of all, room was very small. walls were too thin that I could hear every thing!! Sheets were damaged and had stains.

Carpet was damaged, bath tub was stainy and very small. Shower was awful and didn't pour water smoothly.

I was woken up at 4 a.m because some crazy people at back of my door were speaking and making noise..

It was a terrible experience for me. Food was overpriced.

About the bed: There was a pad under the sheets that has a red color and look unpleasant. Sheets were torn!!! Also, I had only two small pillows and no regular-size pillow. Bed was uncomfortable.

It was like a inn rather than hotel!

Room Tip: Not choose rooms farthest to the lobby because you had to walk over two minutes in a low-ceiling hal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

With airport hotels I've come to expect slightly lower standards, this hotel is no different, that's not to say there's anything major wrong with it, it's just more Marriott courtyard than normal Marriott.

The hotel is situated in a surprisingly pleasant lake setting. The rooms are small but comfortable, the staff were helpful. The food was overpriced (again as expected) but adequate. Wifi is free if you're a rewards member (free to sign up) and worked great for 95% of the time.

The airport has a free airport shuttle running every 15 minutes from the hotel pick up curb. The hotel is around 5 minutes drive from the airport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Where do I start? First, the bad: It is freezing in my room. Can't get it above 65. Toilet leaks inside. flushes itself every 10 minutes. Shower has low pressure and even lower temperature. Concierge lounge: food is scarce and not great. I ask for early housekeeping and all week they come 4-5 pm Seems like a 10 minute walk from front door to my room and I had to park in the boonies, probably due to the park and fly folks.
Now the good: Location is great, and staff is friendly and professional. They are remodeling but quietly and not intrusive. Room is large, clean and fairly quiet. You can hear the planes but not loud at all. The TV is pretty far from the seating and bed, but is reasonably sized so that is not a problem, however the menus did not function so you can't get PPV or services.
The Ugly: I had an end of the hallway room. Wireless? forget about it. I can connect, sloooowly, and have to reconnect frequently.
Having said all that, I will probably be back. These kind of issues are usually taken care of quickly, and may not affect other areas of the hotel

Room Tip: Stay away from the "nicer" rooms at the end of the hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. We spent one night here because we flew in ahead of our group and got a great rate. The hotel property is well maintained and the service is great. Loved my room and had a good nights sleep - nice and quiet being that the hotel is located so close to the airport. Food and bar was very good!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin,ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I missed my connection and ended up staying at this hotel we were given vouchers for meals we ordered two burgers a toasted sandwich and i had chicken wings the food except for the chicken wings were fine the first one i ate was fine the second was tougher than jerky and i had to remove it and put it back on plate in the meantime my son ate one and said it was really spicy mine were not and after the second one that i could not even chew i told the waiter who just shrugged then asked for my bill .Now i expected the offending item from my bill to be removed but it was left on. I come from a place where good service gets a tip as i was not satisfied with the service and said so on bill and left no tip i was then approached by the manager who said they would have done my order again as it was late and i was going to bed i declined besides as i have worked in kitchens before i would never eat something out of a kitchen after a complaint thats just me I also told the restaurant manager that I would be eating elsewhere in the morning but what infuriated me was when i pointed this out to Marriott the manageress from Dulles claimed i was offered dessert and drinks which i refused that never happened i was also offered breakfast gratis but i had already told them i would not be eating there as i wanted hot food and i had more vouchers which were good in the airport and i did not like their response to my complaint the night before or the fact they seemed to be jeering me when i turned and went to my room i could hear them but not make out what they were saying .If a customer especially one who has just done a transatlantic flight with 3 children has a complaint it should be dealt with and offending items removed from bill no comments and no lies about what i was offered other than that nice place but on my return i missed my connection again i told them i did not want to stay in Marriott so they put me up in a Hilton which despite it being Xmas and understaffed were brilliant even took us to a shopping centre gratis to kill some time and gave me free use of their computer like i said Dulles nice place but the staff are woeful not all just enough to make it the worst stay in a hotel ever even the one in panama and i travel a lot through Europe and USA and i have never experienced such bad service i have no axe to grind as the airline paid for everything but bad service is bad service then staff telling lies to management makes it worse I have stayed in Marriott's before and often had Sunday lunch in the Greystones one never ever again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dulles
1.1 mi away
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Dulles at Dulles International Airport
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport
5.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Dulles Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Dulles Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Address: 45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Dulles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Dulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located among Dulles Airport hotels in Northern Virginia, the Washington Dulles Airport Marriott provides easy access to the Dulles Technology Corridor and offers complimentary shuttle service to all Dulles International Airport terminals. With 368 well-appointed rooms and picturesque grounds, this Dulles hotel is perfect for business, weekend getaways and leisure travel. Guests will enjoy a wide variety of first-class hotel services and lodging amenities, including a fitness center, indoor/outdoor pool and Aviate Bar and Grill, our on-site Dulles restaurant. Local area attractions include the National Air and Space Museum, Wolf Trap Center for Performing Arts, Reston Town Center Mall and Civil War battlefields. The 13,500 square feet of deluxe meeting and event space featured at this Dulles, VA hotel is perfect for weddings, social events and meetings. Depart from the ordinary and discover a Dulles Airport hotel destination providing unprecedented service for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Washington Dulles Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott Hotel Dulles
Dulles Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.