We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Trained, Hospitable Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Save Saved
You added Washington Dulles Airport Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Comfortable Day Rooms
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Dulles
Atlanta
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Well Trained, Hospitable Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

It's apparent from the time you step inside the hotel that the entire staff has a sense of pride in serving its clientele. Speedy professional check in. Rooms are arranged in a large square with only 3 floors.Rooms are small be Marriott Hotel standards. My double bed room did not have an easy chair (it wouldn't fit if there was one), but the furniture is above average and the work desk area is adequate. Clock radio has a mp3 hook up. Heating/cooling easy and accurately controlled. Bathroom is small with toilet, sink, tub in the same room. Went to take a shower and discovered the conditioner bottle was previously opened and was nearly empty. Room service missed that one. Bed was very comfortable and led to a good sleep. Good shower head, average shower amenities. Work out room was large with 4 of the 5 treadmills working, 3 ellipticals, 2 bikes. Full rack of dumbbells, adjustable bench and two leg machines. Fruit is stocked. Easy logon and reliable wireless connection. The bar/restaurant has a good selection of entrees and beer styles. Check out the potato chip appetizer. Blue cheese and full strips of bacon pilled high. G'head- indulge! Deduction for very chilly hallways.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    124
    76
    31
    13
See reviews for
50
61
26
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Had to stay here after I missed my connection from Dulles to Jacksonville; it's not a bad hotel, functional is the best word for it.

My room had TWO connecting rooms too it and the soundproofing was poor; I heard their TVs and other noises during the night. Not the best Marriott I've stayed in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a night in November for a business trip. With an early morning flight out of Dulles, this is the place to be. You really cannot pick a more convenient location to the airport.

The quality of the hotel is a different story. The lobby area is great; no complaints. My room was strange. I had a king room with ceilings so low that I could touch them (I am 5'8"). The carpet, linens and curtains were new but the furniture was from either the late 70's or more likely the early 80's (this fake, light wood). The bathroom was very, very tight. My 3rd floor hallway smelled like mildew. The shampoo in my bathroom was half gone. The bathroom tile was a 1980's beige but the countertop was updated. I wasn't sure if the whole hotel had this sort of "half upgrade" so I didn't feel the need to report anything to the front desk.

It was a fine experience since the hotel staff was very friendly and the location was ideal. However, just know what you are getting; it's not a brand new or recently overhauled Marriott.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Dulles Marriott is a very good hotel and is located closer to the terminal than any other hotel. It could probably get by on that alone but thankfully the property is up to Marriott standards and the service is excellent. I've stayed there several times a year for several years now and there have been no surprises, it's a good experience every time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My family and I stayed in the Dulles Airport Marriott during a layover after a long flight from overseas and before continuing on to the West Coast. Overall, the Marriott was what you would expect from an Airport hotel. The check in process was very fast; even though there were a lot of people checking in, we were on our way to our room very quickly. Beyond that, there was very little service provided. No assistance was provided (or offered) in getting our four bags to the room and except for a very nice security guard near the elevators, no one seemed interested in providing assistance to the guests.

One bright spot was the bed; the mattress was one of the most comfortable that I have ever slept in!

Also, the chicken teriyaki from room service was fantastic!

This hotel is located on the airport grounds so if you are looking for a place to stay during a layover and you don't mind the high cost, then this may be your place. If you are looking for a hotel to stay in while touring Washington DC, I would recommend staying closer to the City.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This hotel looks somewhat dated from the outside. But, the inside is contemporary and newly remodeled. The hotel shuttle was dependable and easy to locate at the airport. Full service restaurant and bar on site. The indoor pool and workout facility are conveniently located on the first floor near the lobby.

Through Marriott Rewards, I usually request a higher floor with a king bed but was given a first floor king. I didn't realize it was on the first floor until I entered the room as the room number started with 11. When I called to request a higher floor, the "At Your Service" rep said she had a second floor double but it was "far away." I wasn't sure what that meant so I just went to the front desk and they took care of it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed at the Washington Dulles Airport Marriott the night before an early flight to London. Very nice room and comfortable bed. We had dinner in the bar area and were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the meal. The service was also excellent. We parked our car for a week at the hotel for a reasonable fee, which is less than long-term parking at Dulles. The shuttle bus to/from the airport runs every 15 minutes. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Washington Dulles Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott Hotel
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott Hotel Dulles
Marriott Dulles
Dulles Marriott
Address: 45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Dulles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Dulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Airport Marriott 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Washington Dulles Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.