We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you liked the 1980s, this hotel may be for you” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Save Saved
You added Washington Dulles Airport Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Comfortable Day Rooms
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Dulles
Boynton Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“If you liked the 1980s, this hotel may be for you”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This place doesn't look like a modern Marriott hotel. It looks more like a big version of a 1980s Marriott Courtyard -- lowrise, pool in the courtyard, limited meal service, etc. So if you are in the mood for a trip down memory lane, this could be the ticket.

POSITIVES

--Closest hotel to the terminal
--Free shuttle service
--Quiet setting
--Friendly, helpful staff
--Large room
--Food was okay

NEGATIVES

--Whole hotel has a tired look and feel
--Cranky wireless connection--expect to run "repair" everytime
--Restaurant inexpicably closed when it was supposed to be open
--Highest room service gouging for a bottle of wine I think I've seen: $40-50 for $9-10 bottles of wine

So, it was an okay hotel, but nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    124
    76
    32
    13
See reviews for
51
61
26
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I am a gold member of Marriott Rewards. For my first room, they gave me a parking lot right outside the window. I asked for a different room and got one with a courtyard view, which was better.
The bigger issues have to do with the overall construction and feel of this hotel. One of the corridors that I needed to walk down was pretty rough, with worn linoleum floors, exposed pipes wrapped in something, and it was dirty. All the corridors have very low ceiling. At 6'2", I worry about hitting my head.
The towels are pitifully thin and worn. The sheets were OK.
The room is cramped and the entry is very narrow.
My TV did not show a picture at first. Someone from maintenance came and fixed it, but it happened again the next morning.
All in all, this is not a Marriott quality hotel. The rack rates are quite high due to the proximity to Dulles, but it's not worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-parking lot view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with some friends while we were in town for business. This is a very nice hotel. Our room was huge and the beds here are always so, so comfortable. There are a lot of choices for food within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This Marriott is great for traveling in and out of Dulles Airport, as it sits on the airport grounds. I actually had meetings in Chantilly and decided to give this one a try. Nice rooms, clean lobby and bar area, friendly service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhannon, West Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Our flight plans were badly messed up by electrical storms, but staying at this Marriott was a calming and pleasant experience. The indoor pool was fun, and the restaurant was perhaps the best hotel restaurant I have ever experienced. The hotel staff was friendly and in fact I can't think of a single niggling issue to raise about this property.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Superb location and unfortunately that's the extent of my compliments for this property.

- When checking in the agent continued to enter and reenter my reservation. He truly was able to comprehend the frustration of waiting 8 minutes to check in a guest.
- When ordering room service the phone rang 22 times before someone picked up the line and then placed me on hold.
- I entered the Concierge Lounge at 8.45 PM and there wasn't a stitch of food to be found anywhere. This particular lounge closes at 10.00 PM and the staff was already cleaning up and was ready to call it an evening when I arrived.

If you're staying near Dulles I'd recommend another Marriott property and avoid the frustration of this particular location...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed the last night of our vacation here and were quite disappointed. We usually love Marriott properties, but this was quite poor. I chose this hotel for the beautiful pool we saw on the website. Instead, we found a murky indoor pool filled with bugs and leaves. The drains were clogged with multiple band-aids--yuck! They close the outdoor pool early. Why? The hallways are unbelievably long and signs to rooms are somewhat misleading. Except for the lobby, this hotel is beat and needs a major overhaul. The only thing it had going for it was a $79 rate. We won't be back any time soon.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Washington Dulles Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott Hotel
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott Hotel Dulles
Marriott Dulles
Dulles Marriott
Address: 45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Dulles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Dulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Airport Marriott 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Washington Dulles Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.