We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you liked the 1980s, this hotel may be for you” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Dulles Airport Marriott to your Saves list
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%!
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dulles
Mattoon, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“If you liked the 1980s, this hotel may be for you”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This place doesn't look like a modern Marriott hotel. It looks more like a big version of a 1980s Marriott Courtyard -- lowrise, pool in the courtyard, limited meal service, etc. So if you are in the mood for a trip down memory lane, this could be the ticket.

POSITIVES

--Closest hotel to the terminal
--Free shuttle service
--Quiet setting
--Friendly, helpful staff
--Large room
--Food was okay

NEGATIVES

--Whole hotel has a tired look and feel
--Cranky wireless connection--expect to run "repair" everytime
--Restaurant inexpicably closed when it was supposed to be open
--Highest room service gouging for a bottle of wine I think I've seen: $40-50 for $9-10 bottles of wine

So, it was an okay hotel, but nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Illinioisian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kauai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I am a gold member of Marriott Rewards. For my first room, they gave me a parking lot right outside the window. I asked for a different room and got one with a courtyard view, which was better.
The bigger issues have to do with the overall construction and feel of this hotel. One of the corridors that I needed to walk down was pretty rough, with worn linoleum floors, exposed pipes wrapped in something, and it was dirty. All the corridors have very low ceiling. At 6'2", I worry about hitting my head.
The towels are pitifully thin and worn. The sheets were OK.
The room is cramped and the entry is very narrow.
My TV did not show a picture at first. Someone from maintenance came and fixed it, but it happened again the next morning.
All in all, this is not a Marriott quality hotel. The rack rates are quite high due to the proximity to Dulles, but it's not worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-parking lot view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2KauaiGuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with some friends while we were in town for business. This is a very nice hotel. Our room was huge and the beds here are always so, so comfortable. There are a lot of choices for food within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This Marriott is great for traveling in and out of Dulles Airport, as it sits on the airport grounds. I actually had meetings in Chantilly and decided to give this one a try. Nice rooms, clean lobby and bar area, friendly service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhannon, West Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Our flight plans were badly messed up by electrical storms, but staying at this Marriott was a calming and pleasant experience. The indoor pool was fun, and the restaurant was perhaps the best hotel restaurant I have ever experienced. The hotel staff was friendly and in fact I can't think of a single niggling issue to raise about this property.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Superb location and unfortunately that's the extent of my compliments for this property.

- When checking in the agent continued to enter and reenter my reservation. He truly was able to comprehend the frustration of waiting 8 minutes to check in a guest.
- When ordering room service the phone rang 22 times before someone picked up the line and then placed me on hold.
- I entered the Concierge Lounge at 8.45 PM and there wasn't a stitch of food to be found anywhere. This particular lounge closes at 10.00 PM and the staff was already cleaning up and was ready to call it an evening when I arrived.

If you're staying near Dulles I'd recommend another Marriott property and avoid the frustration of this particular location...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed the last night of our vacation here and were quite disappointed. We usually love Marriott properties, but this was quite poor. I chose this hotel for the beautiful pool we saw on the website. Instead, we found a murky indoor pool filled with bugs and leaves. The drains were clogged with multiple band-aids--yuck! They close the outdoor pool early. Why? The hallways are unbelievably long and signs to rooms are somewhat misleading. Except for the lobby, this hotel is beat and needs a major overhaul. The only thing it had going for it was a $79 rate. We won't be back any time soon.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillyVacationMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dulles
1.1 mi away
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Hyatt Regency Dulles
#10 of 20 in Herndon
4.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Dulles Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Address: 45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Dulles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located among Dulles Airport hotels in Northern Virginia, the Washington Dulles Airport Marriott provides easy access to the Dulles Technology Corridor and offers complimentary shuttle service to all Dulles International Airport terminals. With 368 well-appointed rooms and picturesque grounds, this Dulles hotel is perfect for business, weekend getaways and leisure travel. Guests will enjoy a wide variety of first-class hotel services and lodging amenities, including a fitness center, indoor/outdoor pool and Aviate Bar and Grill, our on-site Dulles restaurant. Local area attractions include the National Air and Space Museum, Wolf Trap Center for Performing Arts, Reston Town Center Mall and Civil War battlefields. The 13,500 square feet of deluxe meeting and event space featured at this Dulles, VA hotel is perfect for weddings, social events and meetings. Depart from the ordinary and discover a Dulles Airport hotel destination providing unprecedented service for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Washington Dulles Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott Hotel Dulles
Dulles Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing