We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Dulles Airport Marriott to your Saves list
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Dulles
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here last year for business. The location is not the greatest but the cab ride to morton's was not that bad. The club lounge was alright snacks were picked over and hot food was cold. Would stay here again only if catching a earlier flight or coming in late.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    153
    94
    39
    20
See reviews for
65
75
33
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
MSP
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

The lobby area has been recently redone, making it very nice. The biggest drag in this hotel is that is is only a few stories tall, and therefore sprawls for what feels like acres! The hotel is shaped in a big square with a courtyard area in the middle, thus most of the rooms are really quite a long hike from the front desk. If you have difficulty getting around, or aren't up for a long hike after arriving at Dulles airport you might want to look elsewhere.

While not anything beyond the standard that you would expect for a Marriott, the rooms seem clean and adequate. Internet is quite expensive, but free wifi in the lobby/bar area. I spent a few hours here to do work each evening, and found plenty of sitting room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the front desk, or you may have a very long walk to your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Lake, Michigan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

The rooms are beautifully appointed with non traditional decor. Hotel is well located by an expressway. It is quiet despite the nearness to the airport. Relaxing visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

I was stranded at Dulles due to cancelled flights and was forced to find overnight accomodations on a moments notice. There is no advertisement for Marriott at the airport terminal. I hopped on the internet via my laptop and discovered this hotel. The folks in reservations were extremely accomodating by getting me a room at 11pm and granting me a corporate rate to boot! The room was very nice and being that I had to work out of the hotel room the next day, I received a late check out time. These folks are really great and are probably used to working the 11th hour crises. I received a bag of toiletries (my luggage was at the airport) and had a nice quiet nights sleep. They even solved a double booking dilemna by cancelling my destination hotel for the night and replacing it with their facility. There are free shuttles every 15 minutes - a great service! I would stay here again in a heartbeat! Thanks for taking care of us weary stranded business travelers!

Room Tip: If stranded for the night, tell them and they can be extremely helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

You stay at a hotel like the Marriott Dulles Airport purely for it's close location to the airport terminal. Rooms are standard basic Marriott although because of the design you can have long walking distances to get to your room. Quality of food in the only restaurant is okay, and lunch is served by the bar in the hotel lobby. The executive suite suite breakfast is good. Staff at the hotel are friendly, but expect a struggle to get a room if you arrive early morning off a long international flight, even if they have rooms!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chautauqua County, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We found the sheets stained and the room dirty. Also the bathroom looked as if it had been cleaned but not very well. The air conditioning was also not working and the room was stiffling hot. We complained and were changed to another room which was a little better and we were comped one night. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

The upside to this hotel is it's proximity to Dulles and the 5-minute shuttle ride to the airport. Also, if you do a park-and-fly, you get two weeks of free parking, which was utterly worth it. There is a special discount code that you need to find when booking, but it is there. The rooms themselves were fairly standard and the gym was serviceable but not much more. In that respect, many of the reviews of this hotel (i.e. just kind of bog standard and not special) are correct.

What did impress me, however, was the customer service from my stay. First, I realized (when I was on the plane) that I forgot some papers. They were able to rush and search the room (before the plane doors closed) and get me the information that I had left in the room. Second, I had left my expensive electric toothbrush in the bathtub. I wrote them an email while I was abroad, they found it and saved it for me (but I hadn't received an email back confirming they had found it). Third, the shuttle driver on the way back when I went to pick up my car called ahead to housekeeping about my toothbrush. This meant, when we got to the hotel, my toothbrush was waiting for me at the front desk. In my view (because both the papers and toothbrush problems were caused by my own errors), their service went above and beyond the call of duty.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Dulles Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Address: 45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Dulles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Dulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located among Dulles Airport hotels in Northern Virginia, the Washington Dulles Airport Marriott provides easy access to the Dulles Technology Corridor and offers complimentary shuttle service to all Dulles International Airport terminals. With 368 well-appointed rooms and picturesque grounds, this Dulles hotel is perfect for business, weekend getaways and leisure travel. Guests will enjoy a wide variety of first-class hotel services and lodging amenities, including a fitness center, indoor/outdoor pool and Aviate Bar and Grill, our on-site Dulles restaurant. Local area attractions include the National Air and Space Museum, Wolf Trap Center for Performing Arts, Reston Town Center Mall and Civil War battlefields. The 13,500 square feet of deluxe meeting and event space featured at this Dulles, VA hotel is perfect for weddings, social events and meetings. Depart from the ordinary and discover a Dulles Airport hotel destination providing unprecedented service for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Washington Dulles Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott Hotel Dulles
Dulles Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.