We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No hot water” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Washington Dulles Airport Marriott to your Saves list
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Comfortable Day Rooms
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Dulles
GA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“No hot water”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2007

Nice hotel, clean rooms. But now on 2 occasions in October I have not had hot water in my room. The water is tepid, at best. The oddest bit about this is during my last stay when I went downstairs at 4:45 a.m. to checkout and complain, there was no one around the front desk. The airport driver came in and picked me up, but no one at the front desk.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    144
    88
    38
    20
See reviews for
62
72
31
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2007

OK hotel. Only stayed here for one night and got an oder room. It wasn't bad, and had a nice view of the pond in front of the hotel. Service at the lobby bar was horrible to the point that I almost walked off without paying my tab. You pretty much have to throw your glass at them to get their attention. LOL. Front desk was nice & helpful though. There is a restaurant (didn't eat there) and a starbucks off the lobby.

The hotel is so close to Dulles that you could probably walk there if you had to. Obviously a good choice for travelers.

  • Liked — Great airport location.
  • Disliked — Poor service in lobby lounge.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2007

I got a walk-in rate of $99 plus tax for a Saturday night - I was surprised, I expected it to be a lot more.

The bar, bar food, serving staff and front desk staff - excellent.

Our room was through a miriad of corridors, I kept getting lost. We were overnighting between flights and had three heavy suitcases, so it was a bit of a pain to take them to and from the room - it literally was a 5 minute walk. At least it was quiet!!

Overall, I'd stay again no problem. But I'd ask for a room closer to reception.

  • Liked — So close to the airport
  • Disliked — Corridors are so long!!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2007

Hear ye! If you are the type of traveler which does not mind paying an atrocious amount of money for a second rate hotel and extremely poor customer service then HERE'S YOUR SIGN!

To begin, the hotel is badly in need of rennovation, the room no bigger than my closet and by all means if you do stay here do not ask the staff to go above and beyond, it is beyond their understanding and capability.

If given the option to stay at this particular hotel again, I would choose homelessness. In fact, my experience was so bad I plan on ruling out choosing a Marriott at any location again.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2007

We arrived in the early morning after a redeye. And like another reviewer was given a non smoking room on the ground floor that reeked of smoke. We were then given room 3410 which was fine until we took a nap between 11:30 - 4 pm to recover from the jet lag,etc. There was an intermittent screeching sound like a heater trying to start every 30 minutes. My husband was able to sleep and tune it out but since I was closer to the sound, I rested but could not exactly sleep. At shower time, I realized the noise came from beyond the bathroom walls, perhaps from the water starting. The bathroom was clean, but trying to figure out how to turn on the water and the right temperature for the shower was a feat in itself. I went to get the robe in the closet- soft, clean, but strange no belt! I was glad to find the snack shop downstairs. i'm glad I didn't order any food at the restaurant after reading the reviews after we arrived home. We typically love the Marriott but this experience would be categorized as a bit strange.

  • Liked — comfortable beds
  • Disliked — noisy room
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2006

We had a very early flight from IAD, and decided to stay at this hotel to maximize our sleep the night before. The park and fly option was about $120 including tax. For that price, you get the room and up to 2 weeks parking. The money you save on parking can just about pay for the hotel (or maybe more than pay for the hotel....). The hotel is on the airport property. They run a shuttle every 15 minutes. We found the shuttle to be very prompt. It takes about 2 minutes to get from the hotel to the airport. The hotel was clean, the room was nice, and the check in was easy and friendly. There was plenty of parking available. I would definitely do this again and use the same hotel. (NOTE: There is another Mariott hotel in Herndon, but not on the airport property - we met some people who booked the wrong one by mistake -- if you are doing the park n fly and want to be at the hotel located on Dulles Airport, make sure you get the right one).

Stayed November 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Mn
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2006

This hotel is literally at the airport - was very convenient for a late night arrival and picking up a rental car the next morning. The hotel was clean and very well-appointed. The beds were dreamy! The only two small disadvantages were difficulty understanding the international staff over the phone when asking for direction and in person at the desk AND the shuttle from the airport was difficult to catch- did not pass by every 15 minutes as promised - but may have been an isolated incident. We got a great price on this hotel through priceline and were very satisfied with our stay- a lovely hotel and good value.

  • Liked — Clean comfortable rooms in a convenient location
  • Disliked — Not a destination hotel, but great stop over.
  • Tips/Secrets — Call ahead about meeting the hotel shuttle.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Dulles Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Address: 45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Dulles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Dulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located among Dulles Airport hotels in Northern Virginia, the Washington Dulles Airport Marriott provides easy access to the Dulles Technology Corridor and offers complimentary shuttle service to all Dulles International Airport terminals. With 368 well-appointed rooms and picturesque grounds, this Dulles hotel is perfect for business, weekend getaways and leisure travel. Guests will enjoy a wide variety of first-class hotel services and lodging amenities, including a fitness center, indoor/outdoor pool and Aviate Bar and Grill, our on-site Dulles restaurant. Local area attractions include the National Air and Space Museum, Wolf Trap Center for Performing Arts, Reston Town Center Mall and Civil War battlefields. The 13,500 square feet of deluxe meeting and event space featured at this Dulles, VA hotel is perfect for weddings, social events and meetings. Depart from the ordinary and discover a Dulles Airport hotel destination providing unprecedented service for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Washington Dulles Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott Hotel Dulles
Dulles Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.