We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotlight shining in room - front desk staff terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   23000 Indian Creek Drive, Dulles, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Dulles
cleveland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Spotlight shining in room - front desk staff terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

I stay at this hotel often on buisness travel. Trust me, if I had a choice I would not. The rooms are fairly clean but a bit dated. There are no food options anywhere near the hotel as stated in another review. The room I am staying in tonight has 2 huge spot lights outside aimed right at the window. With all the supplied draps closed the room is almost bright enough to read in. Shaffer, the front desk guy is rude, condesending, and not in the least bit helpful. Not only tonight but anytime I have had to deal with him. I would not recommend this hotel at all. Oh, I almost forgot to mention the constant airplane noise. Yeah.....great hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    62
    22
    8
    7
See reviews for
26
31
29
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in March. It is near the airport, which is great if you have a flight near Dulles. However, if you're like us and are using the hotel as a base for any reason (ours was a wedding) it is not a very good choice.

The best way to the hotel (and really the only way) involves a toll road! Also, it is not really near anything due to it's proximity to the airport. It was also understandably noisy due to plane fly overs.

The rooms were nice, beds comfortable, and the staff was great. Good breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

What a bad idea to go cheap and stay here. First of all, this is NOT a suite in any way. There is a small desk (like any hotel), a cheap coffer maker, and a 4.2cu ft fridge. That's it. No microwave, no kitchen, no separate sitting area, not even a sink except in the bathroom. I just don't know why they call this a suite on many travel sites.

This place is in the middle of nowhere. The only places you could eat within the 3 miles radius are hotel's breakfast room (the free hot breakfast is alright), and the Exxon convenient store's Subway across the street. Worst of all, this place seems to be on the flight path for most Dulles airplanes during take-off and landing. So, it's location is great if you want to be real close to Dulles (it's real *close*) and the airplanes.

The Wi-Fi speed is somewhat slow but VPN works fine. Room is clean and the bed is comfortable. The TV has all kind of snow / interferences on some Directv channels.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, England
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

We had a pretty disasterous start to our stay here, which to be fair was not in any way the hotel's fault. Curiously, there was no direct phone link to the hotel at the airport desk. We tried phoning from our cellphone, but it was permanently engaged. The driver on another Marriot bus, said we needed to phone the hotel to get them to collect us, lucikly the bus then showed up.

We were told at hotel check in that there was a total power cut in the area, and this meant the phone lines were down. They expected the power to be back on within a couple of hours, which was acceptable. Unfortunately, several hours later, the hotel was plunged into darkness, and the rooms were reaching 100 degrees without the A/C. I went to reception, where many unhappy guests were gathering. The front desk were disptached to a local store to buy torches, they said they thought it would be another couple of hours before power was restored. With this information, we decided to vacate to the nearby Springhill Inn and Suites, free transport and a special room rate was organised for us. This rate was however, more expensive than the one we had negoatiated at the Fairfield, some months previously.

When we returned to the Fairfield the following morning for the next 2 nights, power was restored and normal service was resumed. Our stay passed without any further drama. The hotel seemed very new, and was clean and immaculate throughout. The free breakfast was very good, and the staff were helpful.

However, on our return to the UK, I found that our credit card had been debited with 2 separate amounts of $86 and $40. As we were staying there on reward nights, and had receipts showing a zero balance, I was both disappointed and puzzled. I left 3 messages over several days with the Hotel General Manager. I had to threaten to put the matter into dispute with the credit card company, before I got an email from the General Manager stating that it was a "billing error - that he didn't fully understand".

What a shame that we now have to remember the hotel for all the wrong reasons.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

Just stayed here, and really enjoyed the workout room (small but very adequate), nice (clean) spacious rooms, with great beds. Free high speed internet a huge plus (the deciding factor over another hotel).

The staff was very helpful, and I had great interactions with them.

Only one problem: They don't have curtains that will block out the light! This means if your room is by a powerful streetlight (like mine is), you won't have a dark room - or if you want to take a nap when its light out, etc. Its the strangest thing!

Great hotel overall, will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2009

My family booked a room for an early flight. $79 for a night- WOW!
Here are the pros and cons:
Pros-
Upon arriving at 11pm, staff was very nice and accommodating.
Lobby was spacious for a two star hotel.
Room was HUGE!!
Although we stayed right across from elevator, room was quiet.
Bed and room were clean and comfortable.
Cons-
Pool was pretty basic, concrete with cold water.
Big continental breakfast, but muffins I tried were stale.

Bottom line: If you want to stay in the area longer I would recommend the Marriott. But if you are looking for a cheap, cozy, overnight stop over, I highly recommend this.

  • Liked — Big comfy rooms
  • Disliked — Cold pool
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2008

Stayed a night before an early flight home to the UK. Good sized room and comfortable. Quick transfer in the morning. Poor breakfast and lack of evening food were the only negatives.

  • Liked — Room size
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport

Address: 23000 Indian Creek Drive, Dulles, VA 20166
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Dulles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Dulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Dulles Airport has newly renovated guest rooms and suites include a free hot breakfast Park, Fly rates available as well as long term parking Complimentary Dulles airport shuttle from 4:30AM to 12 Midnight with ample hotel parking - 1.1 Miles from airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Dulles Airport
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport Hotel Dulles
Fairfield Inn Dulles
Fairfield Dulles
Dulles Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.