We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Local State Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Claytor Lake State Park

Claytor Lake State Park
6620 Ben H. Bolen Dr, Dublin, VA 24084
(540) 643-2500
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Dublin
Type: State Parks, Bodies of Water
Attraction Details
Christiansburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A Nice Local State Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Claytor Lake is a nice local state park. They have a nice beach, camping, shelters to rent, cabins to rent, trails. and other amenities. A good family place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    13
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Campground”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Claytor Lake State Park is a beautiful state park campground. We stayed in a 32ft fifth wheel in "D" section. Sites were very spacious and easy to park our camper. "D" section is about 1/4 mile from the lake.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniels
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great campground”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Beautiful lake surrounded by mountains with nice sandy beach. Campgrounds have had some improvement since I was last there. Bathhouses were clean and showers were hot. To me, the only thing that would make it perfect would be having sewer available at the campsites and MORE campsites with all amenities. Books up quickly!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Family Reunion at Claytor Lake Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Five of us families met in the lodge (with six bedrooms) at Claytor Lake State Park the first weekend of November. The kitchen was fully equipped and we had a fire pit and picnic table in the yard. It was very spacious, clean and had nice outdoorsy furnishings. Beds were dorm style - not plush, but not uncomfortable. Our only complaint was we asked to get in before check-in time if possible since three of us families were there by 1, and no promise was made. We know the lodge was vacant but they held out and made us wait till check-in time, in spite of our request. We had to $10 more/day to have a dog there. We had trouble with the gas log fireplace on Saturday, but they sent somebody to fix it. We would be happy to rent it again. Hiking is plentiful and the lake is peaceful to be around, even that time of year.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Family Reunion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We held our annual family reunion at Claytor Lake State Park for the 3rd year in a row. It is a fantastic location with nice 2 bedroom cabins, great lake, swimming beach, hiking trails and overall just a very nice park. We rented 4 cabins all located on a circular drive. There is a large grassy area behind the cabins on a gently slope down to the lake. We rented a pontoon boat for 3 days and it was great to be able to take all of the grandchildren out on the lake for tubing. I highly recommend this park for a great place to spend the day trip or a week long vacation.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Claytor Lake State Park also viewed

 

Been to Claytor Lake State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claytor Lake State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.