We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great campground” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Claytor Lake State Park

Claytor Lake State Park
6620 Ben H. Bolen Dr, Dublin, VA 24084
(540) 643-2500
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 attractions in Dublin
Type: State Parks, Bodies of Water
Attraction Details
Daniels
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great campground”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Beautiful lake surrounded by mountains with nice sandy beach. Campgrounds have had some improvement since I was last there. Bathhouses were clean and showers were hot. To me, the only thing that would make it perfect would be having sewer available at the campsites and MORE campsites with all amenities. Books up quickly!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    13
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Family Reunion at Claytor Lake Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Five of us families met in the lodge (with six bedrooms) at Claytor Lake State Park the first weekend of November. The kitchen was fully equipped and we had a fire pit and picnic table in the yard. It was very spacious, clean and had nice outdoorsy furnishings. Beds were dorm style - not plush, but not uncomfortable. Our only complaint was we asked to get in before check-in time if possible since three of us families were there by 1, and no promise was made. We know the lodge was vacant but they held out and made us wait till check-in time, in spite of our request. We had to $10 more/day to have a dog there. We had trouble with the gas log fireplace on Saturday, but they sent somebody to fix it. We would be happy to rent it again. Hiking is plentiful and the lake is peaceful to be around, even that time of year.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Family Reunion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We held our annual family reunion at Claytor Lake State Park for the 3rd year in a row. It is a fantastic location with nice 2 bedroom cabins, great lake, swimming beach, hiking trails and overall just a very nice park. We rented 4 cabins all located on a circular drive. There is a large grassy area behind the cabins on a gently slope down to the lake. We rented a pontoon boat for 3 days and it was great to be able to take all of the grandchildren out on the lake for tubing. I highly recommend this park for a great place to spend the day trip or a week long vacation.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Park!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Claytor Lake is unbelievably beautiful. The cabins are among the best I ever stayed at. The views to the river are amazing. Very comfortable, they have a lovely chimney for intimate fires, are very clean and secure and spacious.

Would stay there again anytime!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinton, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We live nearby but had never visited this pack until this past June and since that time we have been back several times. What a great place to take young children. wow. We visited the Beach and Park section and were very happy. The beach is very large with a large swimming area and for young children a very nice Playground directly beside the Sand and Water. Great for picnics, Sun Tan, or just family time if nothing else. We will be back this weekend in fact!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Claytor Lake State Park also viewed

 

Been to Claytor Lake State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claytor Lake State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.