We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of FATZ

FATZ
4586 Alexander Farm Rd, Dublin, VA 24084-3658
540-674-8046
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 22 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Description: At FATZ, we serve your favorite American fare with a delicious twist. From steaks to seafood, treat your taste buds to the flavors of FATZ. FATZ is committed to the highest standards of fresh quality food preparation with the finest of ingredients.
Huntigntown
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“Always Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We try to stop at Fatz Café when we travel in the South. The food is good and the service is good. They menu is complete and has a nice variety. I like the various soups and salads. The prices are reasonable and the surroundings are quite nice.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    43
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christiansburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“What has Changed?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I have loved Fatz restaurant since I was first introduced to them in 1996 when they were only in Spartanburg, SC. They have expanded and are now in several neighboring states which makes me happy since one is only about 20 miles from where I live. They have always had great food such as calabash chicken, shrimp and grits, salmon, steaks and various salads to name a few. Several years ago they came out with a patty melt which was fabulous. I had it again a few nights ago and it wasn't very good. The hamburger patty has changed and it was gross. What has changed? I will definitely stay with the few items which have been consistently good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeEnterprises, Manager at FATZ, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
We are sorry to hear of your disappointment with your recent meal at FATZ. We sincerely appreciate your feedback as we can only get better by learning from our guest when we fall short of their, as well as our, expectations of providing exceptional service and food. Please accept our apologies and thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Tracy Nester
540-674-8105
fatzdublin@fatz.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome dinner very reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Fatz is a really nice restaurant where the service is outstanding as is the food. Located neat I-81 it draws from that but also becoming a great place for us locals.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Travel Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Never wanted to go to Fatz due to its name. Found after one visit that therecare some very healthy things on the menu.
You will usually find consistency in menu and service at Fatz. This location was a little hard to get to in the dark but worth it!
Extra friendly service. Excellent fresh salmon and the green beans were fresh as reported.
We were served with care and attention by Shannon, a lovely woman about to get her PHD! Know she will do well.
If you have to get off at this exit, don't waste your time looking for another place to eat. Go directly to Fatz.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Bay, New Brunswick
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“No Lunch menu on weekends”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was my first time at a Fatz restaurant. I wanted lunch but not a huge meal. Saw lots of things that appealed to me on the lunch menu but then noticed it was valid Monday to Friday only. Unfortunately for me it was Saturday. Do southerners not lunch on weekends? Disappointed, I decided to have soup and salad. They only had cream based soups which are not an option for me due to a dairy allergy. It wasn't what I wanted but settled on chili and salad. The chili was okay but no better than the chili I had in a fast food restaurant for half the price a day earlier. The salad was a good size but not particularly healthy as it came with a lot of cheese and bacon on it. I will say that the service was prompt and the server friendly. On my way back through I will not be stopping there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FATZ also viewed

 

Been to FATZ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FATZ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.