We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very spicy / just OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Ranchero

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Ranchero
222 Cleburne Blvd., Dublin, VA
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 22 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
San Anselmo, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Not very spicy / just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We are probably spoiled because we live in an area with lots of good Mexican restaurants. El Ranchero is trying, & it's OK, but needs to pick up the seasonings. Our original server didn't speak English well enough for us to understand that they could only do margaritas by the glass, not the pitcher. It was awkward because we didn't want to be rude to him. Not good customer relations for the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bremen, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Closely authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Quick and excellent service. Better quality beef needed for fajitas. Large portions. Otherwise, an enjoyable meal.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nothing to write home about”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

This restaurant has consistent bad evalautions from the health department. They are nasty, the food is loaded down with grease, no real fresh, innovative dishes. Initial service is quick, but it takes forever for someone to come back to take your order. Once your order is taken, service is fast. The staff is friendly enough, but there are much better Mexican restaurants around. Dublin is so starved for good restaurants that people have been fooled into thinking this is a good place to eat. May be better than fast food, but not great.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Suprised by how good it was”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

After eating all week in fair to poor restaurants in Dublin I finally gave in to this place. I had tried another mexican spot in Pulaski earlier in the week and was not impressed. This place is tucked away in a strip mall my Wal-mart and I had in my mind that it was a smalller take out type thing. Boy was I wrong. Full service restaturant with great staff. The appetizers, the meal and dessert were all really good. True Mexican food and if someone doesnt want that they have standard food as well. If I had to go back I think I would eat here most of the week trying everything they had.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just so-so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Maybe we are spoilt with the choice of Mexican foods in Toronto, but El Ranchero was not up to our standards in terms of food quality. Mexican food is supposed to be spicy (not necessarily hot). The fajitas dish came with only two tortillas and we had to order more. The burritos lacked flavour and were tepid. Not impressed. Hey but the margarita was excellent!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Ranchero also viewed

 

Been to El Ranchero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Ranchero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.