We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for quick place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Claytor Lake Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dublin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Claytor Lake Inn
Save
You added Claytor Lake Inn to your Saves list
5080 State Park Rd, Exit 101, Off I-81, Dublin, VA 24084   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Dublin B&B and Inns
Southampton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fine for quick place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We needed a place to stay while traveling through on nearby I-81. Found this in one of those coupon booklets on the interstate rest stops, with a rate of $34. At that price, and no horrible reviews on Tripadvisor, we called ahead. A very nice woman answered the phone, said they had rooms at that rate, just show up, no deposit required.

As was said in other reviews, this is a very basic hotel. But the room was clean -- king bed, non smoking. No bad smells. TV worked well, as did the WIFI. It's definitely an old place and shows it, but it's right off of the interstate and cheap. I gave it 4* because of the low rate and good value and good quality.

There's an Omlette Shop restaurant almost next door, that serves a pretty good breakfast, too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
4
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dover, DE
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This motel is an older type where you pull your car right up to your room door. I like that. It makes loading and unloading your car easier. It is well maintained, clean, and neat. There are no amenities. There is no exercise room, complementary breakfast, coffee in the lobby, etc....nothing but a basic room. Your room will consist of only the basic needs for a night's rest off the highway. Your room will have a microwave, refrigerator, and satellite TV. You have about 100 channels to choose from on the TV. That should keep you busy channel surfing to find one that interests you. There is also a table and chairs to sit at while doing some paperwork or eating. The choice of food is limited at this exit. A pizza place close by, a Taco Bell and Omlette Shoppe, and some quick marts/gas stations over the interstate bridge. Road noise in minimal. It should not disturb your sleep. Bed and bedding were fine. In the morning, if you need a cup of coffee they have a small one cup coffee maker in the room. I chose to get my morning coffee from one of the quick marts on my way to get onto the interstate. The room rate is excellent. Use a coupon from one those coupon books that you get at the interstate rest area. To sum it up, if you just need some where to lay your head for the night it's an excellent deal. Will I stay here again?.....yep!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Just the bare necessities, tv, ac, bath. Her the coupon out of the travel guide and get a room for $37.00, single or double and $10 for pets. Works out fine. Some rooms better than others, so change if you need to. Same operation as Sleep Inn next door. Also has good coupon

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrabassett Valley, Maine
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

When your expectations are not high and you just need a place to lay your head for a couple of nights at the lowest price, this motel will do. It does have everything one needs and plenty of space. Clean. Not much to do or around the immediate vacinity, but the area has plenty to offer if you are willing to drive. The owners also own the Sleep Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrisburg pa
Level Contributor
153 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

Motel was ok in a pinch. The Sleep Inn next door only had smoking rooms left so we went to this one. Room had all the amenities---microwave, fridge, coffeepot but was very dated with stained pullout sofa, stained sheets, burn hole in the bedspread. Not sure if the shower cap was left by the previous tenant or by the motel for our use. Bed was a comfortable King size, but pillows were flat and should have been replaced. No breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dublin
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Dublin
Hampton Inn Dublin
#1 of 5 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
7.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 13 in Christiansburg
3.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Radford
La Quinta Inn Radford
#1 of 3 in Radford
4.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
6.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Radford Inn
13.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Christiansburg Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claytor Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claytor Lake Inn

Address: 5080 State Park Rd, Exit 101, Off I-81, Dublin, VA 24084
Location: United States > Virginia > Dublin
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Claytor Lake Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claytor Lake Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.