We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls' Weekend at Rockwood Manor!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rockwood Manor

Save Saved
You added Rockwood Manor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rockwood Manor
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5189 Rockwood Road, Dublin, VA 24084   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Dublin B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Blacksburg, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Girls' Weekend at Rockwood Manor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My ladies book club has been coming to Rockwood every winter over the last several years for a "spa weekend" to relax and have a grown up slumber party. What a delightfully fun way to spend a cold and snowy weekend in a beautiful setting with room enough for all of us to connect, relax and laugh! They even arrange for a massage therapist and nail technician to come and pamper us while we gab the days away! Sometimes we even talk about the book. I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: I've slept in at least four of the 10 bedrooms in the main mansion - and I do mean MANSION. ALL...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
18
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Land O Lakes FL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My husband and I came from Tampa, FL for a VT game. We absolutely loved Rockwood Manor. The house is incredible. There is beauty, history, and charm everywhere! Frank made us feel right at home. There is also an adorable dog named Chardonnay and she was a gracious host! We stayed in the Porterfield room and loved it! Every room in the house is unique with character. The property is so pretty with fields, barns, a small vineyard, and wildlife to see! Frank made us a delicious breakfast and we chatted with another couple staying here as well who also had a wonderful stay. I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone I know! It was a perfect weekend!

side note: the the couple who wrote a bad review, if you don't like southern hospitality from kind, wonderful and friendly people, don't stay in a B&B.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach VA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at Rockwood Manor B&B for a Virginia Tech football weekend. Our initial impression as we entered the property was that we would enjoy exploring the extensive property and its outbuildings. It's a scenic location with cow pastures, barns, silos and beautiful resting spots.

As we entered the manor building itself we were awed by the architectural details- crown moldings that defy description, niche arches, tall ceilings and rooms of beautiful proportions decorated tastefully and comfortably.

Our hosts Frank & Rochelle did a marvelous job of making each guest feel special and appreciated, deftly offering a great blend of hospitality and privacy. The butler's pantry adjacent to the kitchen is stocked with coffee and tea and served as a convivial afternoon meeting spot for arriving guests.

Breakfasts were plentiful, a great combination of sweet and savory, prepared by Frank and Rochelle and were served in the manor's gorgeous dining room. Guests enjoyed an opportunity to mix and mingle as plans for each day were finalized. Frank and Rochelle provided great tips for visiting travelers, appreciated by one and all.

The warmth of the hosting and the history of the home made for a memorable stay and we hope to make this our regular home away from home when we return to Virginia Tech. Nicely done!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Blakemore Room- it has a working gas fireplace, great seating area and a private ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We needed a place to stay near Dublin, VA and found this on our phone app while driving South on 81. By the time we arrived, it was almost dark, but as we drove up the long driveway, we realized that we had found a gem. The stately old home is very special, each room perfectly appointed in every way. Frank and Sarah have created a uniquely wonderful B&B and an extraordinary place for a wedding. The farm has been in the family for generations and the owners love for the place is obvious. Wonderful breakfast. Delightful stay. We certainly hope to go back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Found this lovely spot while searching for a hotel near Radford on a trip up I81. Stayed in the recently renovated barn which is a separate building (Chardonnay room) overlooking the new vineyard. We were the only guests, so we should have stayed in the main house, where the rooms were period rooms and just lovely. Sarah and Frank were welcoming and helpful, had breakfast with us in their beautiful dining room (this is a bed and breakfast). Clean and updated accommodations, great hospitality. Felt like a event, not a hotel stay, with new friends. Sarah had a career as a designer, and the Manor shows her talents. Appear to have many weddings there, it is a lovely setting and would make for a great location. WiFi available.

Room Tip: Some rooms with shared bath,private bath more expensive. Two rooms in separate building, others in m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Just got back from a weekend stay here. We stayed in the Bell Room. The room is huge! It has wonderful antique furniture including a very tall king size bed (a step stool is provided if you are short). The bathroom is huge with a big walk in shower with two shower heads, one is handheld. The shower is also designed to sit down in if need be. The entire property was spotless. Breakfast was fresh and hot, the coffee was good, and the owners show real attention to their guests. Make sure you check out the entire property, it is stunning!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

This B&B was phenomenal!! The host was friendly and fixed a terrific breakfast. The home was absolutely gorgeous and the proptery was beautiful. It was so peaceful. We will definitely be back and highly recommend it to other travelers!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rockwood Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockwood Manor

Address: 5189 Rockwood Road, Dublin, VA 24084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rockwood Manor 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Rockwood Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rockwood Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.