We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to King's Dominion” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Denny's

Denny's
16102 Theme Park Way, Doswell, VA 23047-1914
804-876-3001
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 9 Restaurants in Doswell
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Convenient to King's Dominion”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This place is right next to the King's Dominion entrance so it's a convenient place to drop the kids off for a day of fun at the park. I tried this with my daughter and her friend. At the end of the day, we met there and had a meal. Waitress and staff were friendly and helpful. I'm not big on fried foods so I always get breakfast at places like this. The French slam was prepared just fine and I heard no complaints from the other guests at my table.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    20
    27
    19
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Big Stone Gap, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good food, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The food was like any other Denny's, and the service was absolutely fantastic! This restaurant is located in the Best Western hotel, so it's also very convenient if you're staying in that hotel.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If this is #1 of 2, the other one must be absolutely unbearable.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We drove 2 hrs from Va Bch on Sunday, Oct 7, and arrived at the state fairgrounds down the road from Denny's at 11am. Since the gates didn't open til noon, we 2 senior women decided to get something to eat.

Denny's was full and there was a short wait for a table but nothing unusual. We were given menus, and were given plenty of time to mull things over before a waitress came to take our order. She let us know our order was in and we waited for our food. And waited. And waited. And waited. During that time, my friend had 2 cups of coffee, and spoke to the man busing tables and got a response that include his addressing her as "baby" and putting his hand on her shoulder. We asked another waitress to please find our waitress so we could inquire about our food, and we were addressed several times as "honey." When more than 40 minutes had passed since we placed our order, I was about to say to my friend, "Let's go," but just then our food arrived.

Nothing fantastic. Mine was okay, she wasn't all that crazy about her veggie skillet. When we were done eating, we looked around for our waitress but didn't see her. We stood up by the table for a minute or so as if to leave before asking someone to get us our check.

My friend was literally the only person at the register while I went to the restroom. She was still the only person at the register when I came out, because the cashier had disappeared.

I looked for comment forms but couldn't find any.

When we left, my friend said, "We could have eaten at the fair." I answered that we didn't do that because we would have had to wait until after 12 o'clock to eat, but since we weren't served until 12:10, that's what happened anyway.

Oh yeah, the automatic soap and towel dispensers in the restroom didn't work either.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurt
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worst experience ever!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This restaurant was one of the few (if not only) place to eat after leaving KD after 12am. Whe. We arrived the place was only about 40% full. We were taken to a table by the host who tossed the menus on the table (no silverware) and walked off before we were seated. We waited 25 minutes for a waitress to take our drink order. The only reason we got service then was a table across from us also noticed our long wait and flagged their waitress to help us. We were told "sorry you had to wait but this tables waitress went home. I will try to help you." Try? Gee thanks! She took our drink orders but then took 15 mins to bring them to us. We finally managed to get our order in...which took 40 minutes to get out to the table. Not only was the order wrong...it was also STONE COLD. Had to send it back and wait another 10 mins. The original table that helped us previously told us they also were having problems. They had a party of 8. Not only was their wait long as well..their orders were wrong THREE TIMES. Half the table had just gotten their food, two had already gotten and eaten theirs and the other two still had NO food. We saw the manager come by and give them 50% off. The table mentioned to her about our wait as well. She stated "okay" ... And that's the last I saw of her! Our meal took 1 hr and 45 mins ... Way too long! After we complained we were given 20% off...no apologies, no explanations..nothing. Very disappointing. The food was average..overpriced..not worth the wait. SKIP IT!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Slow in the evening”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Our evening service was very slow. The waitress was excellent but the food was terrible slow. The manager gave us a 20% discount. Breakfast was much faster coming and it was delicious!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denny's also viewed

 

Been to Denny's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Denny's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.