We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"fantankstic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tank Museum

Tank Museum
3401 US Hwy 29B, Danville, VA 24540
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 Attractions in Danville
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Journey thru Military History at the most extensive collection of International Tank and Cavalry artifacts found anywhere in the world. Prepare yourself for an awesome adventure for both young and old alike. 119 Tanks and Artillery, plus uniforms, headgear and much much more dating from 1509 to present.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"fantankstic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Great value, huge array of tanks, the Howitzer was my favorite. Must see for any history enthusiast, owner was pleasant, friendly, informative and helpful. No heat , dress appropriately. Many guns, ammunition engines and other military things to see,even a several displays that can be touched, photo opportunities.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    14
    2
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Military History Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Huge. Lots of great displays of tanks, weapons, uniforms and so on. One word of warning: we went in December, and it was COLD inside. It was about 60 degrees outside, but I'd estimate that the inside temp was closer to 50 degrees. The museum staff members were wearing gloves, ear muffs, etc. Wish I had known -- this information should be on their web site so that their visitors can be comfortable.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Danville Tank Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Been there several times. Had a great time on Father's Day one year when they had old flame throwers and grenade launcher demonstrations, as well as a tank crushing an old car. Lots of fun for a guys day out.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tanks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I've never been a big history buff, but I took my son and it was great! He went back to Austin and messaged friends to see it if ever in the area.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Danville armor museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This place is great! It is huge, so plan on four to five hours to see everything! Nice gift shop and movie theater, wish this museum was bettter known, could easily visit here once a month!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tank Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tank Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.