We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Checkered Pig

Checkered Pig
155 Crown Dr, Danville, VA 24540-5933
434-793-7447
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 105 Restaurants in Danville
Cuisines: Barbecue
Description: This is one of two restaurants owned by the same people. The other location is in Martinsville, VA. Owners have been featured on Food Network.
Restaurant details
Description: This is one of two restaurants owned by the same people. The other location is in Martinsville, VA. Owners have been featured on Food Network.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Would return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The service was fast and the food good for the type of restaurant it is. There was a lot of food and it was served hot.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Sweet barbecue”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This is absolutely not NC style barbecue. Their recipe is a Memphis style and much to sweet for my taste. To each his own, but if you are expecting NC barbecue, you will be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, VA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“I expected MUCH more - less than average BBQ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I have heard about this restaurant from MANY people. This was the third time I stopped in. Probably the last. The food dry. The BBQ was dry, the Brisket was dry, the buns were dry and hard. The wings were flavorless and cold. The food is so good in Martinsville, what happened here? The lady at the register was less than friendly and less than helpful. Very disappointed!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I went there on a recamendation from a friend .The food was just great some of the best bar be que i have had . the restaurant was clean and very neat . the service was great and i will return on my next visit to town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, TN.
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“If you're expecting the Rendezvous, you're going to be.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

...disappointed. The ribs were a little bland, even with the sauce. In fact, the beans, macaroni salad, fries and hushpuppies (which were pretty doughy) were all just "ok". I got a side of 6 of the smoked wings just out of curiosity, as I love smoked wings, and they were the highlight, along with some pretty decent sweet tea (they serve Pepsi products if that matters to you). The portions were more than generous and very reasonably priced. I got the order to go, but the place was clean, and the service was quick and friendly. It wasn't the experience I had hoped for, but was more in line with the Sonny's / Buddy's type of chain bbq, although the only other location of the Checkered Pig is up the road in Martinsville.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Checkered Pig also viewed

 

Been to Checkered Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Checkered Pig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.