We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BBQ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Checkered Pig

Checkered Pig
155 Crown Dr, Danville, VA 24540-5933
434-793-7447
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 105 Restaurants in Danville
Cuisines: Barbecue
Description: This is one of two restaurants owned by the same people. The other location is in Martinsville, VA. Owners have been featured on Food Network.
Restaurant details
Description: This is one of two restaurants owned by the same people. The other location is in Martinsville, VA. Owners have been featured on Food Network.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We just happened across this place and glad we did. Very clean restaurant, friend staff and quick service. We ordered a lot of food as we had a party of about 10, it was all out in within 10 min. Everything was excellent except for the pork which was dry. I will prob go back next time I'm in town.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roxboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Food-- Great Price !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We travel about 30 miles just to enjoy this restaurant. The food is really fantastic, Wonderful Bar-B-Q. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The menu has everything you would want at a very reasonable price, for a individual, couple or family

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC BBQ!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The brisket was fantastic! The place is nothing special but they put out some great BBQ. Nice burgers and pulled pork was moist and flavorful. If you are in the area I would recommend putting this place on your list.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

This is some of the best BBQ in Danville. I go there frequently.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Awesome brisket, great pulled pork. Nothing fancy, but lip smacking good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Checkered Pig also viewed

 

Been to Checkered Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Checkered Pig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.