We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Friendly, Thoughtful Staff Makes A Difference” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Danville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Danville to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Danville
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2121 Riverside Dr, Danville, VA 24540   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Danville
Chesapeake, VA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Friendly, Thoughtful Staff Makes A Difference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed two nights for an unplanned relatives funeral in the area. Walked in without reservations and was taken care of like family and given a preferred rate as well. Clean room, comfortable bed, nice breakfast, but most of all a friendly, caring staff. Good country folks, a credit to their community.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Danville, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear tripledipper,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We extend our condolences to you and your family and are glad we could help you during this difficult time. We are delighted that you enjoyed your guest room and our breakfast, as well as that our staff could accommodate your needs. Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you next time you are in Danville.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    30
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
13
1
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CHRISTIANSBURG
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Overall, we were extremely pleased with our stay at the Holiday Inn Express! The hotel lobby and rooms were very clean. The king-sized room was comfortable, clean, with nice amenities like a microwave and mini-fridge. We were able to check in a few hours early, and staff at the front desk were very friendly! Fresh-popped popcorn was available an hour after check-in, though we were not available to join. There were a couple of bikes available if you wanted to take advantage of the lovely river walk trail. Our ONLY complaint was that our otherwise comfortable slumber, was constantly interrupted by the A/C unit (and there was no way to turn it off). The A/C was loud and was on/off intermittently every 10 or so minutes throughout the stay. For a heavier sleeper, this may not have been an issue at all, as the beds were otherwise quite comfy! Would stay here again, for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a River View room, preferably on the 2nd or 3rd floor and NOT near the "Jefferson"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Danville, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Cara S,

Thank you for writing a review of our Holiday Inn Express. We love getting feedback from our guests and I'm happy to read that you had a good stay overall & enjoyed our in-room amenities. I do apologize for the sound of your room's air conditioning unit and will discuss your comments on to our General Manager to help resolve the problem. If you would like to discuss any further, please feel free to get in touch with me at the number below. Otherwise, we are grateful for your recommendation and look forward to your next stay!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
(434) 822-2161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our stay was A+ all the way.The staff was so nice and the place was so nice and clean.Because I stayed here with some of my reward points They even had my name on the board out front.Very cool.Thank you guys! Will stay there again next time I'm in town!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Danville, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Joe H,

We appreciate you reviewing your recent stay! I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay so much and that our staff help made you feel so welcome. We hope it won't be too long before your next visit; thanks again for the review!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed here for a work trip. I've never been a frequent Holiday Inn guest until recently as its one of the only hotel chains in the area that consistently offers the state rate.
This HI was very nice- fairly friendly staff (it's Danville- everyone's nice here!), very clean, comfortable bed, and good variety at the complimentary breakfast.
My only complaint is due to the clientele HI permitted one night while I was there. Apparently this HI is very close to several major racetracks (again, it's Danville!), and approximately 15-20 race vehicles found their way here from the racetrack. They continued to pour in, one by one, starting at 9:45 PM until 11:00 PM. I'm sure these vehicles are quite pricy; however, they were also quite loud. At 6:45 AM the following morning it was "Gentlemen, start your engines!" as the whole lot took off at the same time. I was already up getting ready for the day but if I had still been enjoying my comfortable bed, I would have been extremely perturbed at this.
The hotel itself was great and it's unfortunate they couldn't regulate who they permit to stay at their establishment, but really these vehicles were quite a disruption to other guests- I'm almost certain there had to have been other complaints as this activity, so late in the evening and so early in the morning, was disruptive.
I'd return if I'm ever in the area again, but will just hope there isn't a race in town when/if I return!

Room Tip: The side facing the river I would assume is quieter than the parking lot side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Danville, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear SwtVABrz7,

Thanks for taking the time to review us. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our amenities and furnishings so much and we're very thankful your recommendation. We also understand the importance of a quiet stay - we work hard to ensure all of our guests are respectful of others while still enjoying their stay and special event and appreciate your feedback, which we'll discuss for the future. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Danville!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HokieMKB
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here for two nights for a business trip. The front desk staff was very helpful with all of our requests for multiple receipts for reimbursement. The breakfast had a good variety so I had no problems finding something different to eat each morning. The room was clean and comfortable. I will be staying here again on our next business trip based on this trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Danville, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear HokieMKB,

Thank you for reviewing our Holiday Inn Express. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to friendly and helpful, as well as that you liked the variety of our complimentary breakfast. Thanks again and we look forward to your next stay with us.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My daughter, husband, and I stayed here for one night. Although the front lobby area had a slightly unpleasant odor (of the cleaning supply type) when we first arrived, it had gone an hour later when we came down to head off for our event - to be replaced by fresh popcorn. The folks who work this property are very pleasant and efficient, our king bed was comfortable, and the room was quiet/clean. Two cautions - we had requested a rollaway bed since our room was one king(all other room types were sold out for the event), but there just wasn't space for it in the room. We were okay because my daughter is small and she wanted to use the chair/ottoman as her bed (she would also have fit comfortably in the king bed.) But if you are traveling with an older child, you really need a double. Also, when the hotel is full, as it was during our stay, the parking becomes tight.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Danville, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Lynda B,

Thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall although I'm sorry we couldn't completely accommodate your needs due to being sold out - however we will work our hardest to do so your next visit! I'm also happy that you found our staff to be so friendly. Thank you again for the review and we hope to see you for another stay soon.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powhatan, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed here several times to attend the race in Martinsville Va. This hotel is very well kept and always very very clean!! Its above the rest in the area and we would recommend this location to anyone!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Danville, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear 255CarolB,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and we appreciate you staying with us each time you attend the race! I'm happy to hear you find us so clean and the best in the area. Thanks again and we look forward to your next stay!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Danville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Danville

Address: 2121 Riverside Dr, Danville, VA 24540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Danville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Danville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Danville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Danville is built on the scenic Dan River, which meanders through the the City. Danville, established in the 1700's, was famous for tobacco sales, briefly served as the last Capital of the Confederacy and as the home of Dan River Mills, one of the largest textile mills in the South. Historic Downtown Danville is filled with specialty shops. Stop at Bronx Bagel for a New York treat, the Coffee Emporium for lunch and In Good Taste for heavenly chocolate goodies. Then Lou's antiques Rippes Shoes and Dixie Bags (with the bright pink & white awnings) for a special souvenir. Stop by our two murals, the Wreck of Old 97 and Transportation, a visual history of Danville. Piedmont Mall is the place to shop and don't leave town without visiting the Gingerbread House. At the AFF Museum you will see the finest collection of tanks, artillery, weapons, insignia, medals & military memorabilia anywhere in the USA. Holiday Inn Express Danville features spacious, comfortable rooms with Simply Smart linens, lots of soft and firm pillows for your choice of comfort, 100% cotton, fluffy towels, in-room micro-fridge units for a cool drink and delicious snack during a movie. We are also currently working on updating our hotel with a completely new look. Inside and out. We hope to finish within the next couple of months and we can't wait to share it with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Danville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Danville Hotel Danville
Holiday Inn Danville
Danville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Danville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.