We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Disappointment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Damascus Old Mill Restaurant

Damascus Old Mill Restaurant
215 West Imboden Street, Damascus, VA 24236
(276) 475-3745
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 18 Restaurants in Damascus
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Restaurant overlooks waterfall in 100+ year old renovated grist mill. Three outdoor decks overlooking 203 foot wide waterfall, Mocks Mill Falls. Small pub with large draft beer selection, local country fruit wines, and traditional wines. Selection includes from several local craft breweries and local wineries. Mixed media art from Appalachian Trail thru hikers.
Seneca, South Carolina
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A Disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband and I chose to eat at the Old Mill Inn for supper while we were in Damascus. We chose this because of the reviews and advertised menu plus the B&B where we stayed gave us coupons for free dessert! We were very disappointed when we arrived to find that the full menu is only available on weekends. We were told our dessert coupon was only valid if we ordered an entree, but there were no entrees on the menu to order?!? Having traveled all day, we were tired and hungry and not interested in searching out another place to eat, so we stayed. Our "baskets" (which were served on plates?!?) were tasty and the veiw of the river was pretty, but the food nor the experience was what it was percieved to be. I would recommend a phone call before you go so you won't experience the same problems we did.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    21
    14
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Sunday Buffet”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

A group of friends had enjoyed the Sunday buffet about 2 weeks ago and were so impressed by the great selection; this was our first time for the buffet. Well, I told my family what a great meal we enjoyed that Sunday and I actually invited them; I had gone on and on about the great selection, the carving station with a wonderful turkey,ham, and beef roast; well, this past Sunday was like
a totally different reaction!!!!!!!!! There was no carving station, mostly starchy vegs, no fried chicken or chicken pot pie, poor choice of vegs.the pulled BBQ was dry so probably was from Sat.'s buffet, the beef roast had a different seasoning; I kept telling my group how disappointed I was and so sorry for the choices. We had traveled from Bristol.
I surely hope this was a rare meal and we might be brave enough to try the buffet again but will call first to see what they have prepared.
We certainly enjoyed the views and feeding the ducks before we left.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Sunday Buffet”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The setting is beautiful. The buffet was awful. Poor selection to start with. Imagine a Sunday Buffet with no potatoes. It looked like they just took all the leftovers from the last week and stuck them on a buffet. Everything was overdone. The service was slow. They had six items listed on their dessert menu. The Sunday buffet started at 11:30, at 12:30 they were out of all deserts but one.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Service and Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My wife and I had dinner at the Inn on a Friday evening (Fish Fry Night), which is served buffett style. We normally do not care for buffets, but after inspecting this layout we were impressed enough to try it. We were not disappointed, the selection was excellent, with fried fish, shrimp, and gumbo, veggies, and cobbler for dessert. You can also order from the menu. Our server was a young college student from nearby Emory and Henry and he was the best. We dined on the river overlooking the waterfall. We loved the view of the river and the rushing waterfall. We have dined here before and the place just seems to get better with age. There is nothing in Damascus to compare to it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful location, fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We heard about the Inn and went there over Memorial Day weekend. The food was excellent and the service was very good. The appetizers were so good that we almost skipped dinner. Our entrees were done just right, then we had the delicious home made desserts. There is a breakfast buffet that has something for everyone.
We rode the Creeper Trail on rented bikes and stopped several times along the way to see the beautiful waterfalls and scenery. The 17 mile trip was all downhill and easy for all of us seniors.
The room was upscale and the whirlpool tub was very relaxing at the end of a long day. The view from our balcony was amazing looking over the waterfall and scenic lake.
We would strongly suggest the Old Damascus Inn for anyone who wants to get away from it all.
It is nestled in the Western corner of Virginia very close to NC and Tennessee.
This would be a great location for a family reunion or a business conference.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Damascus Old Mill Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Damascus Old Mill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Damascus Old Mill Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.