We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best stay and B&B owners ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coolgreen B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Damascus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coolgreen B&B
Save
You added Coolgreen B&B to your Saves list
20291 Coolgreen Rd, Damascus, VA 24236-413   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Damascus B&B and Inns
Houston, TX
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The best stay and B&B owners ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed at Coolgreen B&B just before our hiking trip through the AT. They were really nice to open their house for us late in the evening without any bad looks towards us. The room was clean, cozy and inviting. It had a nice and big balcony where I could have sat to read for hours. Next morning Phyllis was busy preparing us breakfast with enthusiasm, telling us about the history of the house and the town, showing us the house, old pictures, and sharing with us her love for the place and surroundings. We took a little longer to pack our backpacks but they never rushed us out of the house. When we were saying our goodbyes, we asked where we could find a store to get the last few things we needed for our trip, but as it turns out the next store was many miles away, they asked what we needed and were extremely kind to provide us with what we needed right out of their pantry, I couldn't believe my eyes and felt blessed to have come across such nice couple. We said goodbye and parted on our little adventure. We left our rental car in a quiet dirt road where there was a parking area and when we came back to it, the first thing we noticed was that the driver's window was covered with a sheet of plastic, there was also a note inside from Phyllis and Ron saying that they drove by and saw we had left the window down, they took the time to tape plastic around it in order to keep the rain out... needless to say, our stuff had already been stolen by the time Phyllis and Ron got to the car, but their gesture made our mistake a little less bad than it could have been. I had always heard that every backpacker meets angels along their path, there is no doubt that Ron and Phyllis were among the angels we met on that trip. We will be forever grateful to them. Thank you so very much!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
33
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

I have to say that this establishment met and exceeded my expectations. The house was beautifully restored and spotless with an amazing view of the mountains. Breakfast was my favorite part of each day, with the food being fresh and five star restaurant quality. I was looking for an escape from busy northern VA and I found it. Plans are it the works to go back in the fall. There is no cell service in this area so be prepared (I personally think that this is a bonus.)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

what a great spot!!!hidden in beautiful valley, great views .great accomodations and food..friendly owners,make you feel at home...will go back!!
donna boyd asheville nc

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

My goodness, the owners of Coolgreen B&B could not have been friendlier and Phyllis is a remarkable baker and cook! Our room was large and the walk-in shower was huge. Freshly baked desserts welcomed us each day and the breakfasts were delicious. By the time we left after 3 days, we felt like 'one of the family.' The B&B is a bit far away from Damascus, but the rolling hills made for a peaceful, beautiful setting. The price is also more than reasonable!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

What a beautiful and relaxing place to stay. The owners were very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was very delicious "Gourmet". Loved the views of the mountains from our room. The owners were very knowledgeable of the area for things to see and do. I can't wait to plan another trip to the Coolgreen B&B soon.

Room Tip: Second floor (Porch- from your room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

My husband I stayed here one night and it was great! We were the only ones there so we got our pick of any of the rooms. All the rooms looked lovely but we took one of the ones with porch access. The view was gorgeous. Everything was so clean as well. The breakfast was delicious and there was so so much!!
This place is a bit isolated and takes 15-20 minutes to get to any restaurants but we honestly did not mind that.
The owners went out of their way in giving us rides to the Appalachian trail, something they totally did not have to do, but did it because they were just so nice!!
Highly recommneded!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coolgreen B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolgreen B&B

Address: 20291 Coolgreen Rd, Damascus, VA 24236-413
Location: United States > Virginia > Damascus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Damascus
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coolgreen B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.