We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel staff was very pleasant during check in. Really...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Daleville / Salem

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Inn Daleville / Salem to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn Daleville / Salem
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Daleville / Salem
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   437 Roanoke Road, I-81 Exit #150 B, Daleville, VA 24083   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Daleville
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    69
    80
    62
    46
See reviews for
109
87
51
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marion
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The lobby and breakfast room is cluttered, disorganized and dingy -looking. Breakfast is rather hum-drum. The rooms were better-looking, seemed clean as well as the bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed 5 nights, reserved on line. Check in process was efficient, and clerk was polite although not knowledgable about Internet service which was unreliable and required sign in every hour. Room was larger than normal and had a comfortable king sized bed. TV was old; shower was difficult to regulate, and towels were very thin. While hotel was older, but room was clean and had unique. Convenient location to I-81, restaurants, and shopping. Situated on a hillside with beautiful mountain views with Appalachian Trail only 100 yards away). Noise was not a problem but is you were located close to the pool there might be noise. Felt safe. Pets allowed with a $10/night extra charge; great places to walk dog. If you are looking for a new, modern facility, you will be disappointed, but we believe the value was excellent for the price. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssunny s, Owner at Howard Johnson Inn Daleville / Salem, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest, Thanks for spending time in providing such an insightful feedback about our property. We are glad your stay was comfortable and you are pleased with the services and amenities at our hotel. We wish you come back and stay with us for even longer on your next trip to this area. Thanks for staying with Howard Johnson Daleville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here and after reading some reviews, I didn't have very high expectations, but I was pleasantly surprised. We were given a handicapped room because there were no other non-smoking rooms left, which was fine with me. The room was clean, just old and dated,but that doesn't bother me. The woman at the front desk was SO sweet and very accommodating. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssunny s, Owner at Howard Johnson Inn Daleville / Salem, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest, We appreciate your candid feedback. Very rightly said, the property is old but kept in very good condition. We are happy to hear that you liked overall hospitality, cleanliness and friendly staff. We wish you choose Howard Johnson Daleville on your next trip to this area. Thanks for staying with Howard Johnson. See you Soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Having the need to make a last minute trip to Daleville promoted the use of this hotel. The hotel was convenient to our destination, but even though it was advertised as "newly renovated", the rooms were clean, at least to the naked eye, the room was very much dated and had a musty odor. The tile in the bathroom was in very bad shape. The continental breakfast also left much to be desired. If planning on staying in the Daleville area, I suggest in depth investigation for another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Daleville hotels

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Daleville / Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Daleville / Salem

Address: 437 Roanoke Road, I-81 Exit #150 B, Daleville, VA 24083
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Daleville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Daleville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Daleville / Salem 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free full breakfast. In-room microfridges, hair dryers, irons, coffee makers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Daleville / Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Daleville / Salem Hotel Daleville
Howard Johnson Daleville
Howard Johnson Hotel Daleville
Daleville Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Daleville / Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;