We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nostalgic....nothing fancy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Daleville / Salem

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn Daleville / Salem to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn Daleville / Salem
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   437 Roanoke Road, I-81 Exit #150 B, Daleville, VA 24083   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Daleville
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nostalgic....nothing fancy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed here last night with my husband, 3 children, dog and cat. While this hotel is absolutely nothing fancy, it was a nice stay. The rooms are extremely old and in reality, it's a motel as all the rooms open directly to the outside. The beds were very comfortable, the rooms were very clean and I never saw a single insect....something I ALWAYS look for. There is a great swimming pool in the "courtyard" that my kids thoroughly enjoyed. It felt like I was a kid again, traveling with my parents in the 70's. The "free breakfast" left a lot to be desired. There was no coffee and the dining room had a very musty smell. Considering that most hotels charge a pet deposit, this hotel exceeded my expectations.

Room Tip: If you plan to use the pool, be sure to ask for one of the many rooms that overlook the pool courtya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssunny s, Owner at Howard Johnson Inn Daleville / Salem, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Guest, Thanks for sharing detailed feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad you had wonderful stay and you enjoyed our hospitality, services and amenities. We wish you comeback and stay with Howard Johnson Daleville on your next trip. Thanks for Staying with Howard Johnson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    77
    90
    65
    51
See reviews for
120
94
54
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, N.C.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed at the Howard Johnson in Daleville on the evening of July 23rd. My room was very nice, all worked well. The bathroom was clean, and I did not observe any thing which would have made me want to leave. I used a travel coupon so my nights stay cost a little over $45.00. Pretty good if you ask me. It's kind of old, but the property is in decent shape. The only thing I noticed was that the air conditioner probably needed a little freon, as it kept the room cool, but did not freeze me out as it probably should have. Once again I would say, in this category (see my profile) you're not getting the Taj Mahal, but neither are you paying for the Taj Mahal. In it's category, this motel represents a fairy good stay at a very reasonable price. The staff checking me in was also very pleasant and very efficient. As a side note, she said she occasionally spends the night in the inn to get away from home. When she told me that, I figured i was probably going to be OK. Enjoy your travels!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssunny s, Owner at Howard Johnson Inn Daleville / Salem, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Guest, Thanks for providing insightful feedback. As you and other reviewer have mentioned, this hotel is old but kept in very good shape. We always take guest feedback very seriously and try to resolve the issues raised by guests on immediate basis. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and wish you will stay again with Howard Johnson Daleville on your next trip. Thanks for Staying with Howard Johnson Daleville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City Md
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The rooms are average with free WIFI, a mini-fridge, and microwave. They are a little old but clean and the beds are comfortable. The free breakfast included scrambled eggs, waffles, sweet rolls, bagels, and cereal. I was very pleased with the staff, the room, and the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssunny s, Owner at Howard Johnson Inn Daleville / Salem, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest, Thanks for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are glad to know that you liked staff, room, and the price. We also request you to let us know if you think anything should be improved. Thanks for Staying with Howard Johnson Daleville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Daleville / Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Daleville / Salem

Address: 437 Roanoke Road, I-81 Exit #150 B, Daleville, VA 24083
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Daleville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Daleville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Daleville / Salem 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free full breakfast. In-room microfridges, hair dryers, irons, coffee makers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Daleville / Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Daleville / Salem Hotel Daleville
Howard Johnson Daleville
Howard Johnson Hotel Daleville
Daleville Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Daleville / Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.