We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't understand the bad ratings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Orchid Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Thai Orchid Restaurant
4317 Dale Blvd, Dale City, VA 22193
703-897-0888
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 11 Restaurants in Dale City
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Peruvian, Thai, South American
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“I don't understand the bad ratings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

For a small restaurant, it serves some of the best Thai dishes in the area. The few times I've gone here, I've tried to order something different on their menu. However, the Pad Thai and Drunken Noodles have always been my favorites.

I don't think the prices are that high, considering the quality of the food. And I have never had problems with the service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“don't bother”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Food is expensive, strange, and service is bad! I have lived in Asia more than half of my life, been to Thailand, had great food and even though this place charges like it should be first class, it isn't! The waiters are slow to greet, afraid to take your order, and I overheard one of the waiters reminding the other new waiter to charge $1.00 for a refill on a soft drink!
I have gone twice and gotten worse service each time I went.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Decent place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

We tried this place for the first time and it was ok. Food is average. Theire spring rolls was definitely good. we had asked for spicy food and it was way too spicy. So be ware when you order.

We will definitely go back mainly becuase of dearth of thai places in woodbridge area. Its worrth trying.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
91 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

Not nearly as good as some other Thai restaurants in the DC area. Service was fairly good (although server thought 2 people who ordered the same dish were going to share and only brought one out, so rest of party waited for 2nd order to arrive) but the food was not outstanding. Spring rolls while tasty were served only warm, pad thai was bland tasting, and my seafood dish that was supposed to be "1 pepper" spicy wasn't spicy at all and a portion of the plate was actually cold as though it had been unevenly microwaved. Our favorite Thai rest. is Shrilignton and worth the drive.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“This is by far the best Thai food that we've had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

Pros: We've tried just about all the dishes here and none of them disappoint.
Cons: None

My wife and I used to live in Woodbridge and we ate at Thai Orchid at least once a week. We fell in love with Basil Beef (Pad Ka Prao) and their Thai fried rice. Thai Orchid has become the benchmark for our other Thai restaurants that we visited and unfortunately we have not found anything like it in the Chicagoland area.

Thai Orchid is tucked away in a shopping center. What we like the best about this restaurant is that the food is always consistent. The food always taste good and never disappoints. It's more of a mom and pop type restaurant that has a friendly staff.

If you're ever in the area, I'd recommend checking out this hidden treasure.

Cheers!

FN

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Orchid Restaurant also viewed

Woodbridge, Prince William County
Dale City, Prince William County
 
Dale City, Prince William County
Dale City, Prince William County
 

Been to Thai Orchid Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Orchid Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.