We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, excellent service and very good food!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Silver Diner

The Silver Diner
14375 Smoketown Road, Dale City, VA 22192-4709
703 491 7376
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 restaurants in Dale City
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Vegan, Vegetarian
Good for: Families with children, Doing business
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, excellent service and very good food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

I had never heard of this place but wanted some breakfast before going to the mall. I liked the diner look outside and loved the environment inside. Was greeted immediately in a very friendly manner. Victor is an excellent server and very attentive. Even signed us up for their eat well program - get incentives after you eat here so many times. I'm not a big breakfast person but I tried the banana stuffed French toast. It was very good!! My husband had the country fried steak and really enjoyed it. I definitely recommend this establishment!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    31
    18
    9
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Wow, try the Silver Diner again if you've been away for a while.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I had a bad experience with Silver Diner several years ago and just stopped considering it as a dining option. At that time it seemed on the way down - not busy, inattentive staff, etc. When I arrived and wasn't greeted by a hostess or any signs of life I even had to ask "Is anyone home?"

Well how things have changed! I recently had two meals there and both were excellent. First a senior breakfast omelet which was delicious and very reasonable. at better-than-McDonalds' prices. So the next night I took my husband back to try their food - much of it is organic and fresh from farm to table. We both enjoyed our dinners. His was pot roast and mine was fish tacos. Everything was well prepared, served at the right temperature by an attentive server, and very reasonably priced. We plan to return as regular patrons.

Good turnaround, Silver Diner....we are very impressed!.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkesburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Super fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

The ambience is super fun and we've always had a good experience with their service. Best chicken tenders, fries, shakes, breakfast and crab chowder. Yum. :)

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Outstanding breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We used to go to the Silver Diner in VB when we lived there before it closed. The food here was even better. I had an outstanding omelette, and the salmon my wife had was awesome. Will definitely be back.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I discovered the Silver Diner after stopped for fuel on the way to Florida. Very cool looking from the outside, it is very retro wrapped in silver with lots of neon. We hadn''t heard about Silver Diners, so didn't understand what they meant about the next generation. Once we went in, we were greeted and seated by a pleasant young man followed by a greeting from a even younger waiter. The food I saw being delivered to other patrons looked delicious, however my husband and I were looking for something lighter, and settled on burgers. The menus and signs throughout the diner emphasize the freshness of their ingrediants and the fact that they deal with local farmers. My husband ordered a regular burger with american cheese, lettuce and tomato, and I ordered a bacon, bleu burger which had fried onion slivers on. My husband prefers well done and was pleased to get it that way. My burger was delicious! They come with fries which taste fresh, not frozen and were perfectly fried. The only possible complaint I could have, was that the lettuce as it was called, it actually something called "Rocket greens" whic kind of looked like fresh spinach almost. It didn't really matter to me, but my husband is very fussy so he had to pick that off. The servings were large enough that even though we came in pretty hungry, when we were done eating that, we did not want dessert! On a side note, they have a lot of vegan and gluton free items on the menu so they seem to have something for everyone! I would definitely recommend Silver Diner to anyone!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Silver Diner also viewed

Woodbridge, Prince William County
Woodbridge, Prince William County
 
Dumfries, Prince William County
Dumfries, Prince William County
 

Been to The Silver Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Silver Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.