We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healthy Items on the Menu – Locally Grown Ingredients” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Silver Diner

The Silver Diner
14375 Smoketown Road, Dale City, VA 22192-4709
703 491 7376
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #1 of 11 restaurants in Dale City
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Vegan, Vegetarian
Good for: Families with children, Doing business
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Healthy Items on the Menu – Locally Grown Ingredients”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I hadn't been to Silver Diner in years, primarily because I only used to go late night and didn't much enjoy their food. However, my husband convinced me to go for brunch recently since I was only craving crepes (which they do not serve) but I was surprised to find out they have completely changed their menu. They have added many healthy items, as well as locally grown ingredients. I had an egg-white goat cheese omelet and it was simply delicious. I've been there several times after.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Diner, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Pateshko, I'm so glad you had a chance to try our new Fresh & Local menu! Thanks for the review, and thanks for coming back! We can't wait to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    26
    16
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not my cupt of Tea”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Some folks like the Silver Diner; it is just not my preferred place to eat. It was cold and the food was not that good.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Diner, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Lena, thank you for the honest review! Is there anything we could improve upon?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“so considerate- & food good too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

they always have good food, & service is great.
they always show care.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Diner, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Gale, Thanks for the review! Its so greeat to hear that you are always taken care of! We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

How refreshing this place is! We sat down to a cute 50's style table complete with playable mini juke box. Our girls received a paper classic car to play with while waiting for food. They really take pride in their food there featuring local food from our area and organic choices. They really take pride in customer service too with manager checking on our experience several times. We will go back!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Diner, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Khnluv, thank you for your review! I am glad that you and your family had a great time, and that you appreciated the local ingredients and great service. We hope we will be able to serve you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Jader51”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Efficient service and good food with a wider variety of options on the menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Diner, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Jader51, thank you for your review! We hope we get a chance to serve you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Silver Diner also viewed

Woodbridge, Prince William County
Woodbridge, Prince William County
 
Woodbridge, Prince William County
Dale City, Prince William County
 

Been to The Silver Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Silver Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.