We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accomodating, clean and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Dahlgren

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Dahlgren to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Dahlgren
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4755 James Madison Pkwy, Dahlgren, VA 22485   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dahlgren
Winthrop, Maine
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Accomodating, clean and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We frequent this location because we have a relative in the area. I had requested a handicap room and found it to be the best lay out of any lodging place we have been, they really understand what I need in the bathroom!. The staff is wonderful. A gal named Carley is on the front desk. She is very friendly and speak to everyone by NAME, which is an extremely rare event. She is very welcoming. We felt right at home there. They have a wonderful breakfast buffet with real meats and a good variety. I look forward to coming back next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    12
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
11
4
7
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Just finished a 30 stay at this hotel. This is truly a home away from home. The staff is outstanding. From the front desk ( Catherine, Carly and Marla) to the housekeeping. They are constantly making sure that you are not missing anything from your comfort. Room maintenance and cleanliness is superb. They managed to clean my room daily, to perfection, even around the mess that I created in my room. Kodus to this hotel management and staff.

Daily breakfast was plentiful ( I do not know how they keep up with those bananas...), enough to carry you though for long hours.

All in all, excellent .

Room Tip: try to upgrade to a king suite room if you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

On our arrival, front desk person had hard time smiling. Didnt inform us about breakfast time. We arrived 5 mins before breakfast gets over and everything was empty. No body to attend.

The room didnt look very clean. Even if it was clean, it was not tidy. It looked like they have just thrown the stuff there instead of nicely arranging...

Furniture was old and rusty.

I found better price and quality right beside at Comfort Inn and moved there for remaining 2 nights.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenFOM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dahlgren, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Kristyzzz;

Thank you for your review, and description of your experience with our hotel.
We constantly strive to exceed our guests expectations, and it seems we fell short during your visit.
We have had some difficulty in idetifying your stay with us, so please do not hesitate to give me a call at the hotel so we can learn more from your experience with us, and correct our shortfall.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dahlgren hotels

Chesapeake, Virginia
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
390 helpful votes 390 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I spent a night here while visiting family station at the Dahlgren Naval Base. The staff was friendly, and the room was cozy and clean. The hotel was very quit, considering it is off a busy route. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: There is a Walmart across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel is located across the street from a shopping complex (Wal-Mart, 5 Guys, etc). The hotel lobby is clean, but that tile can be a bit slippery when it is raining (They do put up caution signs). Check in was smooth and easy.

Rooms are pretty standard. Small desk, microwave-fridge combo. One annoying aspect was that the microwave and the fridge couldn't be plugged in at the same time. I had to unplug the fridge, use the microwave and hopefully remember to plug the microwave back in.

The bed was decent. Air conditioner was effective.

Breakfast is pretty good and was different on the three mornings I was there.

All in all a very good value for the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timberville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

stayed at this place over the weekend.. room was moldy.. had cobwebs in two corners .. shower curtain was falling down .. the rod was bent and the curtain touched the floor and wouldnt stay in place.. could tell the rod had been moved atleast once..mold in the back corner of the ceiling above the tub..carpet was stained white in front of the window.. the breakfest selection was poor and only half full.. but the service staff was great and freindly.. so our stay was good but the room was below standared..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dahlgren, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear michael s,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience you have experienced and for the cleanliness of the room that did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This seems like a fairly new hotel. It is clean, the room was a good size, the breakfast tasty and plentiful, the staff members friendly and gracious. Our room's alarm clockradio was broken, but the young man at the front desk replaced it for us immediately with a smile. The only reason I didn't rate it higher is the lighting in the room. No lamp on the desk, and generally a dim atmosphere. My wife and I are both readers and the lack of good lighting in a room is a major drawback to a higher rating.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKingGeorge, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dahlgren, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
I thank you very much for your stay as well as your feedback. I am glad you liked our complimentary full hot breakfast and our seasoned staff responded to your needs right away. Our property seems like new because we went through major renovations last year. We did change the lighting in our rooms but unfortunately it did not work well for you. We as a management will keep this in mind for further improvement. We thank you again for your nice review and look forward seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Dahlgren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Dahlgren

Address: 4755 James Madison Pkwy, Dahlgren, VA 22485
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Dahlgren
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dahlgren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Dahlgren 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Dahlgren, VA. Our hotel is located in the heart of King George County near King George, Va. We are just one short mile from the Dahlgren Naval Base, Naval Surface Warfare Center, NSWC, home to the Naval Space Command, the AEGIS Training Center and the Naval Space Surveillance System. Fort AP Hill, known for its training, is where our military sharpens its edge, just 30 minutes away. If you are traveling on business we are within walking distance from the Dahlgren Technology Center, home of: Lockheed Martin, Northrop Grumman, SAIC and BAE Systems. If you are traveling on Pleasure we are conveniently just minutes from the world-renowned Maryland International Raceway in Budds Creek, Md. just over the Potomac Bridge. If it is history you are looking for visit George Washington s birthplace, Westmoreland County or tour Stratford Hall, home of Robert E. Lee. Water and beach lover's can relax in Colonial Beach or visit the quaint restaurants and shops, don t forgot about visiting the sites along on the Potomac River, and the Riverboat off-track betting parlor and restaurant, just minutes from the hotel. Relax and enjoy our free high-speed Internet, free deluxe hot breakfast and seasonal outdoor pool. Remember, Stay Smart at Holiday Inn Express! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Dahlgren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dahlgren Hotel King George
Holiday Inn King George
King George Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Dahlgren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.