We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hazel River Inn Restaurant

Hazel River Inn Restaurant
195 East Davis Street, Culpeper, VA 22701
540-825-7148
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 80 Restaurants in Culpeper
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Exposed beams and brick walls very attractive. Food was excellent and restaurant was easy to walk to from our B & B

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    11
    12
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Absolutely worth a trip to Culpeper!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My partner and I had sampled this restaurant before, and remembered it fondly, and went out of our way today to visit it again. Our meals were expertly prepared, served by friendly and attentive staff, and we were given "tastes" of a number of wines before we made our selections. The food is incomparably fine, with a decided central European accent, and certainly very reasonably priced for lunch! Can't wait to have an excuse to go back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sperryville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious and Local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We have eaten at Hazel River twice now and will be coming back for more. All of the food was delicious (especially the rabbit and the apricot and almond torte). Using fresh, local ingredients makes a difference! During this last visit, my parents (who are from Germany) joined us. At the end of the meal we chatted with the chef and my parents both stated that it was the best German food they have had outside of Germany.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really good find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My fiancée and I have lived in Culpeper for almost two years now and never even thought to come here. Hadn't heard much about it so it never came to mind. My best friend recommended we try it out saying it was a great date spot. We decided to give it a try and went for Saturday night dinner. You can't see much of the dining room from the outside so I wasn't sure what to expect. When we entered, we were pleasantly surprised. You take a step up to the dining room which is very warm and inviting. It wasn't too busy so it made for a nice and cozy atmosphere. Our waitress told us that the building is historic and was used as a Civil War jail for both sides. That part excited my finance as did the ghost stories for me. Apparently they've had a lot of activity there and have had professional paranormal investigations there.

Our food was very well presented and made me feel like I was in a high class restaurant. We split the signature rabbit and crab cakes which were by far the best I've had anywhere. It was a plus they have a full bar. Our waitress recommended we try the beignets for dessert which was the perfect choice as was dinning there. Hopefully he takes me back soon!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrightwood, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Very comfortable atmosphere and more than accommodating for a large group with small children. Dishes were very tasty, well presented and creative. Would definitely recommend this place for everyday meals and special occasions.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hazel River Inn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hazel River Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hazel River Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.