We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of motion pictures FREE almost every weekend, year round!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Library of Congress National Audio Visual Conservation Center

Library of Congress National Audio Visual Conservation Center
19053 Mount Pony Road, Culpeper, VA
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 15 things to do in Culpeper
Attraction details
Culpeper
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best of motion pictures FREE almost every weekend, year round!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I can't think of another theater offering FREE classic films from every decade up on the BIG screen 150 times a year in a like new Art Deco cinema. Since Sept. 2008 when Maltese Falcon played Disney, Bogart, romantic comedies, mysteries, Sci-Fi titles, shorts cartoons, newsreels, Three Stooges & Bugs Bunny have provided entertainment. And special guests, documentaries, foreign films and slide show programs educate, enlighten and culturally enhance the lives of those who attend. And did I mention it's FUN as well as FREE? Check their schedule on the web, just Google Packard Campus Theater or Library Of Congress Mt. Pony Theatre and you'll see the current upcoming lineup. We became regulars on opening day and have attended hundreds of great films and made friends with many film buffs.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    2
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Culpeper, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love the Library!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Attending a movie at the Library is a great! It is very entertaining and educational. The staff does a wonderful job of making you feel welcome and creating a good experience. And it is FREE!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A True Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Hidden on the hillside is a wonderful "FREE" night out for couples, families, and children. Free movies for any age. The best place to find a date and time is on their website http://www.loc.gov/avconservation/theater/ .... The inside of the theater is fantastic. And, make sure you go to one of the nights when silent movies are shown as the pipe organ comes out of the floor and is played with the movies adding that extra special touch. EXCELLENT - A MUST GO!!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a great local resource!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We went to one of the free movie presentations on a Friday night in July. We had no trouble getting in - - it wasn't a well known movie but we enjoyed it. Before the movie a presenter gave a brief talk about the movie, which added to our enjoyment. They also showed a newsreel and a cartoon from the same year the movie was made.

I knew how to get to the facility from previous trips, but this was the first time my husband had been there. He noted that there weren't many signs indicating how to find your way into the place -- you can see it up on the hill but it isn't obvious how to get to it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“FREE classic films on the big screen!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

This facility is only open to the public for movie screenings, but they are FREE! Check out their web site for titles and dates.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Library of Congress National Audio Visual Conservation Center also viewed

 

Been to Library of Congress National Audio Visual Conservation Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Library of Congress National Audio Visual Conservation Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.