We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome weekend at the quaint town of Culpeper VA and the gracious hosts at Fountain Hall B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fountain Hall B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Culpeper
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fountain Hall B&B
Save
You added Fountain Hall B&B to your Saves list
609 S. East Street, Culpeper, VA 22701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Culpeper B&B and Inns
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome weekend at the quaint town of Culpeper VA and the gracious hosts at Fountain Hall B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Cannot say enough about the Fountain Hall B&B in Culpeper VA! Steve and Kathy were great hosts, cannot say enough about their service to their guests and you can walk to so many quaint shops and restaurants. In fact, never moved the car all weekend. If you grew up in the 60's, this town is a reminder of what "life use to be like". Everyone is friendly, full of information and directions, etc...I would like to go back and spend a week! Check it out for an unforgettable experience! http://www.fountainhall.com/

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
23
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
WESTMINSTER
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We have horses and Fountain Hill B&B is close to the Culpeper equestrian venue. The property is old and shows wear, but old is good and wear is comfortable. The lawn is pretty but the shrubs and landscaping show need. No matter. The house is large, the rooms are as advertised and the hosts are great. We were in the Chelf Room, which was on the second floor with a private porch overlooking the back yard. Very nice. The back yard of the house is right on the railroad tracks and trains come by often. Not an issue. There is a tree buffer there and the trains are quiet and respectful of the residential neighborhood.
Innkeepers Steve and Kathi are friendly and conversational. Breakfast is made up of continental stuff but very fresh, Hot and GOOD. They have dogs that are people persons and will interact if invited.
The property is within easy walking distance of Davis Street, which houses much of the hustle and bustle of the neighborhood. We will go back the next time our horse goes back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Va
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed at this very nice B&B on January 28. We live in Lynchburg, Va. and travelled to Washington to see a show (matinee) at the Kennedy Center. We decided not to drive all the way back and decided to stay in Culpeper, which turned out to be a great idea. Our B&B is run by an extremely nice couple (who also happened to be going to the same show in Washington as us!) who we so enjoyed talking with. We stayed in their smallest room, Thompson and Grinnan, which was cozy and very nice, with a King bed. Our bathroom was down the hall, but it was no problem at all. There are bathrobes in the closet and we never ran into any other guest coming or going to our hallway bath. The room has a sink in it, so we actually had 1 1/2 baths - worked out well getting ready in the morning. Breakfast was good - fresh fruit (yummy raspberries), fresh croissants - regular and some stuffed with cheese/jam (not store bought, but cooked that morning). The only criticism I would have, and it's very minor, is that the light bulbs (the new type of bulbs) in the lamps didn't put out enough light to read by very well. Very minor issue. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Fountain Hall B&B during a long weekend trip to Virginia and we were pleasantly surprised. The proprieter was very friendly and welcoming, giving us a tour of the place and making some great recommendations on where to get dinner. The B&B is within walking distance of downtown Culpeper, which is lined with wonderful little shops and restaurants. Our room was clean and comfortable, and we were treated to a hot breakfast the next morning, which was a pleasant surprise as many B&Bs we've visited served only continental style breakfasts. I would love a chance to come back and spend a little more time in Culpeper after this stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. VA
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

This bed and breakfast was perfect for our weekend in Culpeper. We wanted to be able to walk into town easily, to leave from the house for a bike ride, and to have privacy and space. We rented the Puliam's Retreat which had an extra sitting room we enjoyed while watching college football after an afternoon in Culpeper.
The accomodations are clean, comfortable and stay true to the website. Steve was a great host, helpful without being pushy or intrusive. There was plenty of food for breakfast (which I would classify as continental "plus").
We enjoyed having access to softdrinks at our convenience and even had a small frig in our room.
All in all, a very nice weekend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

My wife and I were given a certificate for a night at Fountain Hall. I'm not inclined to go to a place like that over a known entity like a motel/hotel. Wow, I was pleasantly surprised on all counts. We stayed in the Chelf Room (paid a little extra for it). It was all worth it. The common rooms are a wonderful collection of well kept, beautiful antique furniture. There's only a small touch of modernity and those are all modestly placed in all the right areas of the downstairs. The mini fridge and TV/DVDs are in the far corner of the house.
We were warmly greeted at the door and shown around the grounds before we ever went to our room. The backyard is spacious and simply landscaped. It goes for quite a ways before it ends at the double set of railroad tracks (the train comes through several times a day without too much fanfare).
The room was beautifully done with bright wallpaper. The ambience was warm---inviting and welcoming. The air conditioner had a thermostat for personal preference. The bathroom had both a cozy shower and a 2 person whirlpool tub. Additionally there was a small balcony with a table and 2 chairs overlooking the backyard. The bed was a 4-poster with lots of pillows. The sleeping is firm, but great!
Breakfast was not heavy or overdone. Quaint fits the bill. We had freshly-made croissants and turnovers, seasonal fruit, and banana bread. Oatmeal and cereal was available as well.
The owner is very well versed in the Culpeper area and history. There are abundant materials on site for you to fill your time as a tourist.
Bottom line: My wife and I really enjoyed Fountain Hall and highly recommend it for travelers in the Culpeper, VA area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Salmon, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

My husband and I spent one night at Fountain Hall B&B as we traveled for a few days in Virginia. Making the arrangements online was easy, we were welcomed by the host, Steve, who provided good suggestions for local restaurants which were all within walking distance in town. Lovely furnishings, a comfortable bed and a delicious breakfast which included freshly baked pastries -- what more could we ask!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fountain Hall B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain Hall B&B

Address: 609 S. East Street, Culpeper, VA 22701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Culpeper
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Culpeper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Fountain Hall B&B in historic downtown Culpeper, Virginia where a memorable bed and breakfast experience awaits you. The bed-and-breakfast features a variety of accommodations including six tastefully appointed guest rooms each with a private bath and numerous amenities. Make your stay even more memorable by adding one or more packages to your room. Fountain Hall is within walking distance to unique shops, casual and fine dining restaurants, Museum of Culpeper History, outdoor recreation, antiques, Visitors’ Center and Chamber of Commerce. Visit Civil War battlefields and historic sites of interest, taste some of the finest Virginia wines while touring many area vineyards, play golf, hike, bicycle, or go horseback riding in the countryside. Culpeper’s central location makes Fountain Hall an easy drive for a weekend getaway, overnight business travelers, and an ideal setting for mid-week visitors. If you're a business traveler, inquire about our business rates. Come experience the gracious accommodations and southern hospitality at Fountain Hall B&B in historic downtown Culpeper! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fountain Hall B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.