We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   787 Madison Road, Culpeper, VA 22701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Culpeper
West Seneca, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Absolute delightful hotel!! Rooms were spacious, extra pillows in Soft or Firm, bed very comfortable. Room and bathroom spotless. No bathtubs, walk in shower. No safe in room was my only complaint.
Complimentary breakfast was exceptional, fresh fruit always available at entrance door. Staff very friendly. Indoor pool wonderful. A delightful hotel stay in every way.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    20
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
31
21
5
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stopped at this hotel during a road trip. The staff was welcoming and helpful. We got a first floor room near the back door and were able to get our luggage in and out when we arrived at night with no trouble and with no fear of disturbing other guests. The location of the room was also a bonus upon leaving the next morning. The hotel was extremely clean and well-maintained. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Overall, I was very pleased with our stay and would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone! This hotel was well maintained and comfortable. What stood out the most to me were the "people" working her were professional yet extremely personable and helpful. You can tell that management has gone out of its way to think of the added "extra's" (welcome bag, snacks, nightly movie etc...) of to make your stay enjoyable! Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Hotel was clean, staff friendly and helpful....towels were nice and fluffy....breakfast seemed to alternate between two eggs choices (scrambled eggs or cheese omlette), fruit, biscuits, cinnamon buns, make-your-own pancakes, etc. On the days when we did not have much time for breakfast, the staff was very helpful in getting containers/bags so that we could get b'fast to go! Coffee and tea available all day. Assorted cookies (which were very good) in the afternoons; fruit, bottled water and granola bars throughout the day...There were treats in the evenings like nachos or popcorn. Movies shown at 8pm! Certainly made you feel at home!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear island-gal-in-NJ,

Thank you for sharing your comments online.

It is a real pleasure to read that you had a pleasant experience with us.The fact that you felt at home is exactly what we strive for. We want all our guests to feel at home, and I am very happy that we were able to achieve this goal.

Thank you for providing us with motivation to provide even better service to our wonderful guests such as yourself. I hope you had a wonderful vacation, and should you have any future accommodation needs, we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you home again.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This was my first time staying in Culpeper or a Holiday Inn Express and I was quite impressed. The woman who greeted us at the front desk was extremely friendly and happened to be putting out fresh coffee and cookies upon our arrival. The room was much larger than I thought it would be and it was very clean. Great breakfast for a buffet and good location for Culpeper.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I haven't stayed at other Holiday Inn Expresses very often but this didn't seem much different from the rest. Mediocre room, mediocre breakfast. It's at least kept clean but I can't say there's much special about it. The pool is indoors which is a bummer. Service was good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear avidgolfer2010,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations, and I apologize you were not satisfied with the hotel conditions. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, IN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My wife and I statyed at this property for one night while I was performing a wedding nearby. This well appointed hotel located in literally the middle of far, far away rightfully has earned the torchbearer award multiple times from IHG. The rooms were decent, clean, and what to expect from HIX. Breakfast was good, and restocked with great speed and urgency. We are Platinum members with PC, but received no upgrade on the room type.

As a Platinum member we are extended late check out options, but this time the housekeeping wanted us out. The front desk disabled our room keys, and the manager of the housekeeping department came to the room and asked when we were leaving. Typically late check out is 2pm, but that day the staff needed us out at 12:45 for an unknown reason. Through all this communication the staff was nice and pleasant, while letting us know how much of an inconvenience it was for us to stay late. I am loyal to specific brands to get benefits while staying at properties, when these benefits are restricted or changed my loyalties may change as well.

Room Tip: Don't expect your benefits as a PC member. The gas station next door has everything needed for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear tmichaelfischer,

Thank you for the review of our hotel. We just want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations on this particular day. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Thank you again for your feedback and continued loyalty as an IHG Rewards Platinum member.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Address: 787 Madison Road, Culpeper, VA 22701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Culpeper
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Culpeper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Culpeper hotel offers close access to the best of the Piedmont River Valley. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Culpeper, in the quaint horse country of Virginia, is an ideal destination for history buffs, wine connoisseurs and nature lovers.If you re traveling on business, our Culpeper, Virginia hotel offers a great location near many corporate offices. Merillat Industries and Schwan Food Industries are both within three miles of our Culpeper hotel, and the Culpeper Fairgrounds are also just a few minutes away.Our hotel in Culpeper, situated in the Piedmont River Valley, provides close proximity to several of Virginia's most historic sites and attractions. Many important Civil War battlefields are also nearby, including Brandy Station, Cedar Mountain and Kelly's Ford. Famous homes within 30 minutes of our Culpeper hotel include James Madison's Montpelier home and Thomas Jefferson's Monticello home. Additionally, our hotel is near the Gray Ghost, Prince Michel and Unicorn vineyards. Tours and tastings are offered at these Culpeper vineyards daily.When you stay at our hotel in Culpeper, take advantage of the indoor pool and fitness center. Before heading out for the day, you can stop by the hot breakfast bar featuring our signature cinnamon rolls. Reserve your Culpeper hotel reservations today and see the beautiful sites and historic attractions that Virginia has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Culpeper

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.