We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   787 Madison Road, Culpeper, VA 22701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Culpeper
philadelphia area
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were supposed to stay in Charlottesville, VA but every hotel was sold out and in desperation, I called this HIE in Culpeper. Thank goodness they still had a suite and were super nice!
We got here rather late but our room was clean and had two double beds with a pull-out couch so my family of six was easily accomodated.
We took the kids swimming and the hotel pool was empty (a rarity) and really warm which was great. I think the chlorine was a little high since I was itchy and my husband's eyes were all red after being under-water but I understand that public pools always notch it up. My kids didn't complain.
Breakfast was pretty typical but there was enough seating for the six of us which we always have a problem with. It seems hotels have 100 plus rooms and seating for 15.
This hotel is also close to the highway and plenty of restaurant choices which is a plus too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    17
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
30
21
5
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I was dropped off the hotel rather late, and I didn't have a car. The staff was very nice, and gave me brochures from local restaurants (not just the usual pizza delivery) that delivered. The room was spotless and the furnishings brand new. The room had a microwave and a refrigerator, which is convenient for long stays. Also, it had a good desk, and fast Wi Fi, which makes it a good place to work out of.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unionville, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My stay at this hotel was great . They had hot breakfast buffet, which was great ? Hotel was very nice in clean. The front desk staff was very nice .I spend several night there and all nights was great . They offer soup and cookies ,which was great also .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Spent last night here. Very clean and quiet. Bed and linens all looked and felt like new--smelled clean! Only spent one night and there were very few other people in the hotel, but it was very quiet and I am a light sleeper. Breakfast was good with a nice selection to choose from. I would stay here again the next time I pass through this area.
Dr. Cheryl Minton

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada, MO
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel was very clean, offered good bedding -- including a mountain of pillows -- and had an above average breakfast buffet with pancakes, fresh fruit, and the usual offerings. The dining room was also very clean and had ample space for guests. I had to work on this vacation and was happy with the desk and office chair in the room. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Ga.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had other options in Culpeper, but selecting the Holiday Inn Express was the right choice. Even though it was expensive given the area, we were glad we stayed here. The staff was very friendly. Cookies and coffee were available all afternoon in the lobby. French onion soup was served, too! Our room was very clean and comfortable. The hot breakfast was good and replenished often. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinboro, PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was our first stay at a Holiday Inn Express and we were impressed! It was a little on the expensive side but worth it. The included hot breakfast (which was quite good), was added value. The room was very nice and very clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culpeper
Free Parking, P...
Show More
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Culpeper Inn
Free internet...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 7 in Culpeper
3.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Culpeper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
14.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
22.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Warrenton
Hampton Inn Warrenton
#1 of 6 in Warrenton
4.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Free Parking, B...
Show More
16.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Address: 787 Madison Road, Culpeper, VA 22701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Culpeper
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Culpeper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Culpeper hotel offers close access to the best of the Piedmont River Valley. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Culpeper, in the quaint horse country of Virginia, is an ideal destination for history buffs, wine connoisseurs and nature lovers.If you re traveling on business, our Culpeper, Virginia hotel offers a great location near many corporate offices. Merillat Industries and Schwan Food Industries are both within three miles of our Culpeper hotel, and the Culpeper Fairgrounds are also just a few minutes away.Our hotel in Culpeper, situated in the Piedmont River Valley, provides close proximity to several of Virginia's most historic sites and attractions. Many important Civil War battlefields are also nearby, including Brandy Station, Cedar Mountain and Kelly's Ford. Famous homes within 30 minutes of our Culpeper hotel include James Madison's Montpelier home and Thomas Jefferson's Monticello home. Additionally, our hotel is near the Gray Ghost, Prince Michel and Unicorn vineyards. Tours and tastings are offered at these Culpeper vineyards daily.When you stay at our hotel in Culpeper, take advantage of the indoor pool and fitness center. Before heading out for the day, you can stop by the hot breakfast bar featuring our signature cinnamon rolls. Reserve your Culpeper hotel reservations today and see the beautiful sites and historic attractions that Virginia has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Culpeper

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.