We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Culpeper Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Culpeper Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Culpeper Inn
791 Madison Road, Culpeper, VA 22701 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Culpeper
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    83
    24
    9
    7
See reviews for
63
44
26
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Pros: recently renovated, GREAT breakfast at hotel restaurant, adjoined room option. We did see they had an elevator for the second floor after we had carried our luggage up the stairs.

negatives: cleanliness was no-good. In the bathrooms I saw a lot of hairs, smudges and things in the shower/tub area. We also originally asked for adjoined rooms and when we went to our rooms they were not only not adjoining rooms but one of the room doors on ground level had significant trouble opening. (When brought to the desks attention it was resolved promptly). The rooms open to the outside more like a motel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here for four nights. The room was very clean. The staff friendly. The motel has a restaurant attached. The dinner menu has decent prices and a variety of foods. The breakfast is included. It is a hot breakfast very typical but decent. They could have had more fruit and yogurt. I didn't have a car most of the time but found I could walk to the drug store and food store.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Best Western during a weekend trip to Culpeper. The hotel is not that far from the downtown- main street area of Culpeper, maybe a 5 minute drive at most. The majority of the hotels in that area are clustered together so if one of your booking considerations is location, all of the hotels are within the same area (practically the same parking lot.) The room we stayed in appeared to have been recently renovated and the renovations were nicely done. You can tell the hotel itself is from a different era by the outside appearance but the rooms are nice and up to date. I am tall so I always like to mention that I thought the shower was at a good height and was adjustable. There was a small fridge in the room which was perfect since we were only there for the weekend. It was big enough to fit a bottle of wine. The breakfast was a great perk; it was a buffet in the restaurant and offered a lot of options. There was fruit, scrambled eggs, home fries, french toast, pancakes, biscuits & gravy, bacon, juice, coffee, yogurt & a selection of cereals. For a free breakfast I thought it had a lot to offer and the food was good. One thing I will mention is the rooms were more of a motel design so to get to your room you were walking on the outside, this was fine, I felt safe but it could be somewhat noisy- in the morning someone was walking by wheeling a suitcase and you could definitely hear their bag rolling down the sidewalk. That being said my friend & I both agreed that we would stay here again if in the Culpeper area. Also it looked like it would be fun in the summer if you had a room facing the inner courtyard because there was a nice pool and patio. The staff was also helpful and gave suggestions where to park so you would have easiest access to your room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I don't know what the other reviewers were smoking when they raved about this place, but I want in on some of that stuff. The room was hardly "renovated". Furniture dinged and old. Matresses bearable. Room incredibly small & cramped. Door opens and you have to wedge your way around table and bed. Fridge the smallest I've ever seen. Lighting awful and unbelievably few outlets. In age w/so many tech tools, one needs many outlets for charging and working them. Toilet & tub squeezed into separate room from sink -so small you have to side step around toilet to get into room.

Shower head ancient. Clock radio as well. Coffee pot disgusting. Had to scour it myself and still unusable IMO. AC sounded like a jet plane revving up. Constant bathroom fan on all the time AND LOUD. Paltry few bath accessories (soap, shampoo, etc.)

Wedding at restaurant that night. Party goers loud conversations & partying near pool echoing up to all rooms.(One of few complaints not directly related to hotel quality. But noteworthy.)

Have to go outside and down through labyrinth to get to salad-bar-style breakfast which really had no more offerings than any other free-breakfast hotel. Less actually. No hot oatmeal. Pathetic breads selection. Go during week when bus tours & seniors are in residence and amounts offered are less (This money-saving technique employed by some free-breakfast hotels is: "The less offered...the less people will take."i.e. If 25 pieces of cut up fruit are offered, and a dozen people are hovering around buffet bar, no one will take more than a few pieces of fruit. No one wants to appear they're hogging all of that item.) On weekend, surprisingly amounts of each item offered were more. Have to ask waitress for styrofoam container if you want to eat on the run or in your room. Time consuming and they appear very put-off having to do this for you. (No tip involved that way.) Also have to ask for coffee/tea. Cups available, but coffee must be brought out each time you want any or more. Which also means no coffee offered at off-dining hours. Unlike other hotels (HIE i.e.) that has coffee brewing in lobby all the time.)

No ramp near elevator, which is accessed from outside, to load luggage. No carts on main floor. Concierge at check in seemed clueless as to where carts were. Had to hunt to find one, roll halfway across pkg. lot to wheel it over sidewalk ramp and then back down walkway again to elevator.

Housekeeping is the worst. First of three nights: No replacement cups, soaps. No one vacuumed either. I knew this because scraps of paper I'd dropped before we left room in a.m. were still on floor when we returned later that night. Second day, returned to room in p.m. to find NO ONE HAD EVEN COME INTO ROOM TO CLEAN, MAKE BEDS, TAKE WET TOWELS, ETC. Had to go down stairs (no elevator access near room) through aforementioned walkway labyrinth, past pool to front desk to get all new towels, soaps, cups, t.p., etc. They said "someone in room told hskpng. staff not to enter". We left room at 6:30 am that morning. NO ONE WAS IN ROOM. Considering the pathetic hskping. the day before, that excuse seemed lame. (Also tray of food and dirty dishes left outside room next door remained there for the duration of our 3-night stay.)

In retrospect, would have gladly paid little extra to stay at Holiday Inn right next door. If I stay in area again, will definitely book elsewhere.

Room Tip: Tip: Check out other nearby hotels first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakton virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Our family is part of the equestrian circuit that spends many weekends in CULPEPER. The staff goes out of their way to accommodate us. They love my grandchildren. Rooms are clean and breakfast is my favorite. Keep up the good work.
Ann

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We loved the staff there. They were friendly and helpful in suggesting things to do in the area. Friday night the lounge had a live band and they were good - southern rock, country. Everyone, mostly locals, had a great time. The hotel is clean and has everything you need, restaurant, lounge, work-out room, outdoor pool, free hot breakfast, (they even have room service), and free wi-fi in the room.
The only complaint we had is the bed hurt our backs. I have back problems anyway, so I'm used to waking up sore every morning. My husband isn't. He said he woke up during the night and had to get up and stretch and walk around. We have a great mattress because of my back, so we might be spoiled.
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Culpeper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Culpeper Inn

Address: 791 Madison Road, Culpeper, VA 22701 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Culpeper
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Culpeper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motor Inn situated at foot of Blue Ridge Mountains, 1-1/2 miles from downtown & 2 miles from train station. Visit Virginia's Blue Ridge Mountains and stay at the area's only full service hotel located on scenic Route 29 in Culpeper. Find the perfect balance between comfort and convenience when staying at the Best Western Culpeper Inn located in Culpeper, Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Culpeper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Culpeper Hotel Culpeper
Culpeper Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Culpeper Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.